We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hirayu Onsen Hirayu no Mori
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Ryokan 
Yuka Sanzoan(Takayama)
View Hotel
Ryokan 
Tsuyukusa(Takayama)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Suzuran Ryokan(Takayama)
View Hotel
Ryokan 
Aihokan(Takayama)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Abokan(Takayama)
View Hotel
Ryokan 
Ryokan Alps(Takayama)
View Hotel
Hiratakan(Takayama)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Mozumo(Takayama)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Ryokan 
Yamatokan(Takayama)
View Hotel
Ryokan 
Nakamurakan(Takayama)
View Hotel
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveller rating
81
88
27
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
88
27
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot springsmountain lodgethe bushida beefprivate bathhirayu onsenfirst come first serve basiscold weatherhotel is locatedtown centremen and womenpoolscabintowelssnowmatsumotofemale
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 202 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We choose the japanese style room with dinner only. It was a great experience. The food was excellent and varied for us, as one of us is a vegetarian. Very welcoming for foreign people and the onsens were great. One of the highlights of our time in Japan. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Takayama and Matsumoto are both nice Japanese small stops to explore.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed here for 1 night in a Japanese room (New Building) in Jan 2014.

Location:
The onsen hotel is very near the Hirayu Bus Station (3 mins walk) but you may want to ask for direction as there were no obvious signage. It was snowing heavily when I reached and can't really tell which way to go. From the hotel it's about 5 mins walk to the small onsen town. You can pay a small fee to use the different onsens.

To reach here, take the Hirayu/Shin-Hotaka Line from Nohi Bus Terminal and the journey takes about 50 mins. The bus has announcement in English at the various stops.

Room:
The room is Japanese Style meaning you have to set the bed yourself at night. There is a heater, water boiler, TV, Safe (which we did not use), basin area & toilet. Do note there is no shower facility in the room as they expect you to use the onsen bath.

New building is at the far end of the onsen but is okay as it is near the onsen entrance and dinning area.

Hotel Facilities:
Wifi can only be found at the lobby area. Do note if you rented a wifi modem, you are unlikely to get any signal at Hirayu.

There are many vending machines and the souvenir shops opens till 9pm. Also note that the reception will also close at 9pm.

Onsen:
For hotel guests, you can use the public and private onsen. The public onsens are mainly outdoor, which there are at least 5 outdoor pools but just 1 indoor pool. The indoor pool is pretty small. For the private onsen, it is for hotel guests used on a first-come-first-serve basis without any time limit. Inside the private onsen, there pool is indoor with a door which can be opened to to go out. If you are shy and worried, it is very safe and no one will see you. :)

Do note the opening hours of the different onsens within the onsen hotel. The outdoors pools are only open late in the afternoon but stay open till the next morning.

For the bathing section, you need to bring the bath towel from your room beside the small onsen towel. You might also want to bring your own tolietries and comb as the bath area provide very minimum bathing stuff.

Food:
My reservation includes Dinner & Breakfast. The meals were sumptuous and definitely sufficient. We had Hida Beef and Fish for dinner. Salmon for breakfast. Otherwise, you can choose to dine at the hotel's restaurant or snack house.

Room Tip: Suggest to take a room at the Main Building which is a shorter walk to everywhere.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Fabby88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The hotel is very convenient only being a couple of minutes walk from the bus station. You will pass the entrance to the Hotel on the left on the bus down the hill just before it turns into the station. The welcoming reception staff were excellent and spoke a reasonably good degree of English.Take you shoes off after entering lobby and walk everywhere in your socks. The place has carpet or rice mat everywhere so feet wont get cold or dirty. We had a room in the new wing, Japanese style no smoking with private toilet which you pay extra for. The room was OK a bit bare by Western standards. No chairs to sit on which is a pain, literally to get down and up from the floor. There was a TV but once again useless unless you spoke Japanese. Electric kettle provided which is great to make a cup of tea, or coffee if you bought it. The doors into the rooms are noisy and you will hear the banging of doors. I dont know how some people dont know how to close a door quietly especially in a hotel environment where some guests could be sleeping of feeling unwell. The big plus of the hotel is the outdoor onsen baths / rock pools. All different temperatures which was a good option. There were about 6 of them in the mens. We were hoping for it to be snowing at the time but it was not however the ground was covered in it which made the ambience. There are also 2 private bath onsens for the hotel guests to share, ie. with you friend. The outside baths are open to day trippers so you might have to share with a crowd. It was OK when we went. There are allotted times for guests only though.
The biggest disappointment is that you have to go to the lobby for the WI FI and believe me, its a LONG walk.
We loved the experience here, but you only really need 1 night here as there is nothing to do in the small village. We would recommend a stay here but would choose a Western room next time.

Room Tip: Choose a Western room if want a bit more comfort
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buick54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We are a french couple in our sixties, travelling one month in Japan in November. We stay one night in this japaneese hotel. Our stay was very nice, with à complète and efficient service including very good japaneese breakfast and japaneese dîner. But more than that, the bath are fantastic, it was our first expérience of a "rotenburo". We appreciate a lot the external bath. Hirayu no Mori is very large and confortable. Just a remarque: WiFi is only available in the lobby.

Room Tip: We were in the room 106 where there is a light and permanent noise of à motor our equivalent.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Our home for 2 nights, Hirayu No Mori, is conveniently located just across the bus terminal. This hot spring resort boasts of beautiful grounds with 3 bath facilities (2 segregated and 1 mixed gender) and a total of 16 pools altogether. The segregated bath had pools around a gorgeous Japanese garden. Our room, albeit a little small for 3 people, was surprisingly comfortable, although we had to put our luggage at the enclosed balcony to fit all 3 of us comfortably. Our room didn’t come with a bathroom but had a washbasin at the entrance. The shared toilet and bath just down the hall was clean. We had most of our meals there, and I was happy with what I had during our stay– Hida beef teppanyaki, a curry dish and a zaru soba. Breakfast was typical Japanese, which included Hoba Miso – a Hida specialty that I had come to love.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews