We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Takayama Kanko Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Ryokan 
US$475
US$296
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Takayama Ouan(Takayama)
US$217
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Ryokan 
US$455
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Takayama Green Hotel(Takayama)
US$399
US$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$287
US$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Oyado Koto no Yume(Takayama)
US$293
US$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hida Hotel Plaza(Takayama)
US$218
US$163
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$277
US$222
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Hotel Takayama(Takayama)(Great Value!)
US$143
US$125
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
US$284
US$264
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
51
51
20
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
51
20
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree massage chairstable tennisshuttle busprivate bathannex buildingrestaurant staffjapanese stylehida beeftraditional hoteleach morningattached bathroomprivate hot springwonderful hotelcold weatherhotel is situatedpublic areasjapanese experience
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We booked a two night stay in this traditional ryokan. The staff is awesome, very helpful and good english is spoken. The room was VERY large and well equipped. The only drawback is the location of the hotel which is far from the city center but offers a spectacular view!). If you arrive by train, there is free shuttle service to the hotel. To call for the shuttle, you can use the payphone in the train station. They will come pick you up within 10-15 minutes. The hotel also serves free coffee, water and tea. There are some massage chairs, mangas, plenty of vending machines, a gift shop with some snacks. The provided personal care products are of very high quality. Free wi-fi and a computer are available in the lobby. There are three onsens. We used both the public and the private onsens (there is a 3000¥ fee for the use and reservation of the private onsen) . I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank mastervan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

This hotel took a bit of searching out on the web and although might have been a gamble it turned out even better than expected. Top marks for great location on small hill with great views, good Japanese tatami style, staff helpfulness and ... not one but 3 Onsen baths to choose from for late evening open air views of the city or morning re-invigoration before the most stylish and delicious Japanese breakfasts we have ever enjoyed, in a Kimono! Takayama is a joy to explore by foot or on rental cycle and the nearby Folk Village has wonderful wooden houses in a lovely setting to help you imagine the old Japan, with shoji, stoves and beautifully framed views of the trees. We definitely hope to return and see more of the Japanese 'Alps' and enjoy another stay at Hagi Takayami on the hill.

Room Tip: Either side is good - both have good views of town and mountains. Top floor probably best. We stayed in the old wing and did not see what the new annex is like.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonTumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Our stay was from Feb 15 2013. Thanks to Japanese Guest Houses, our reservations at Hagi Takayama were all taken care of. They arranged our shuttle pick up at 3.05pm (pick up is just outside the Washington Hotel, across the road on the right side, from the Takayama Station). Its about a 15min ride.

The ryokan has lovely views of the landscape because its located higher up on a hill. We were treated to beautiful snowy scenes from the large windows around the ryokan, as well as from our 16tatami mat room balcony on the 3rd floor. The whole place is very clean and cozy.

We would like to say a special thank you to Mr. Hiroshi Kawabe for his attentive & helpful service throughout our 5 night stay.

MEALS
Good kaiseki dinners with portions that were just nice for both of us. Tender slices of Hida beef.
Our meals were in the restaurant where great and friendly staff attended to the guests. When we were there during the winter, the latest dinner time was at 7pm. The cuisine was a good selection with very fresh ingredients and they changed the dishes every night for us, which was great.

Breakfast is between 7am-8.30am (that means it ends at 8.30am altho one can sit around for a while till about 8.45am). We are not used to having breakfast so early, but on hindsight it was good to have a much longer day ahead of us if we ate at 7.50am.. Again, very thoughtful of them to change the main dishes during our stay eg it was nice to have 2fried eggs with ham on our 3rd morning.

Breakfast is semi buffet – each of us had our own personal tray of special items and we could also help ourselves to the free flow of beverages, croquettes, salad, porridge etc at the side table.

ONSEN
1. They have a public INDOOR onsen with lovely views on the 4th floor (6am – 9.30am is for men, 3pm – midnight is for ladies). Interesting wall designs in the wash area.

On the same 4th floor is a private onsen bath where reservation and charge is needed. Morning 6am-9.45am are for the men and afternoon 4pm – 11.45pm are for the ladies. We didn’t try it so no comments.

There are another 2 public indoor & attached outdoor onsens near the annex – a short walkway from the ground floor (or a quick dash in the freezing cold). Each bath is interchanged between men and ladies daily. Morning times are 6am-9.30am & 3pm-midnight. We really enjoyed the outdoor rock pool esp with the snowy view.

The dressing rooms in the onsens have a very good selection of toiletries.

SIGHTS
As it was snowing and pretty cold most of the days (around -5 degrees C to 10 degrees C) we were more than contented to stay in, relax, catch up on all our reading, soak in the onsen early, just enjoying the accommodation. The views from the large window panes were lovely.

We did visit the Night illumination of the Hida Folk Museum – blessed with nice clear sky that night – it was an enjoyable outing. The ryokan has its own shuttle that took us there at 7.30pm and fetched us back at 8.20pm.

Pros: High on a hill with lovely views from their large windows. Everything was great for us and we will definitely return again.

Lovely snowy landscapes in winter but a little too cold for strolling. So it depends what you are looking for. This season is great for us because we just want to rest and relax and get away from the noise and hustle bustle back home.

Cons: Its too far to walk down to the little streets. So you will have to depend on the morning shuttle to get down to the little city for your strolls (last shuttle 10am). The afternoon shuttle starts at 3.05pm. In between, you will need to take a taxi.

TIPS: If you are planning on taking a train to Takayama – take note if travelling on a weekend. We came directly from the International airport in Nagoya to Nagoya station on a Friday morning (Feb 15).

Our SIA flight from Singapore landed at 8.30am. We cleared customs and immigration quickly and caught the Sky Express train at 9:07am to Nagoya station.

We reached the Nagoya Train Reservation Ticketing counter at 10.05am and managed to catch the 10:47am Limited Express Wide Hida View to Takayama.

If we had not caught the 10:47am train, we would have had a very very long wait for the 4th train, arriving at Takayama very very late. That’s because the next 3 trains after ours were fully booked.

We arrived Takayama at 1:10pm. The scenery (later half) from the train windows during the journey are pretty scenic. We had lunch at a quaint soba/ramen shop opp the street (get a map from the Tourist Information office just outside the Takayama station).

On our return journey from Nagoya station to the airport – Our flights was 10.30am and we caught the 7:20am Sky Express.

Its really worth paying a little more for the Sky Express train. We noticed that the other trains and platforms were pretty packed by 7.15am.

Room Tip: We had a room with the city view - very open wide views to the mts afar.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank traveljet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

This is Ryokan, huge, clean with all the beauties of Ryokans. GREAT ONSEN. Super clean. Breakfast included. Great price and amazing attention. Amazing views. A little far from the town if it's snowing and you want to walk down. The English manager Yuki was so sweet! If I ever go to Takayama, will go there again for sure! Loved it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paolilla77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Booked as a package with ANA flights, so it was quite cheap. The hotel is located on the mountain but there is a shuttle bus from hotel to Takayama JR station which you can get off at the morning market if you want. You also could use taxi if you arrive after 9 pm, the price was 880 yen for me (from JR station). There were outdoor onsens in another building that were very great, and one onsen at the top floor with nice view. They also have private onsen for couples or families with additional fee.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toeinoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews