We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room for a pretty expensive price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Super Hotel Hida-Takayama
Ranked #44 of 177 Hotels / Ryokan in Takayama
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The hotel is nice and clean, no doubt. Staff are helpful, speak English, and the hotel is well located 3 mins away from Takayama station. It's a bit far from the main area at night though (15 minutes).

However, I was unable to unpack because of the size of the room. I was a solo traveler traveling with a bagpack and a medium sized suitcase. The space between the bed and the desk is really tiny.

The price for a room was high too (8000 yen for a Saturday night). Considering this is not a big city like Tokyo or Kyoto, I found the price a bit steep for the services provided by the hotel.

Only Japanese breakfast is served in the morning, and it does not look appetizing at all.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rpbar4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Firstly, I would like to compliment all the staff who served us during our one night stay in May. They are very friendly and are willing to go all out to make ur stay a happy and comfortable one. If you are paying by cash, you have to make payment through this machine which will give you a receipt and "room key". Also, you will see a wall of pillows just at the lift. You are free to pick any pillow of your choice though pillows are already provided in the rooms. Rooms are clean. My only complain is the size of the room. It is small, and the toilet looks just like what you will see in the airplanes. Small. Nevertheless, we had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank michellejanelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

No misleading information abt the size of the room. The bathroom is tiny and with suitcase luggage, its a challenge for space. Location in Takayama is excellent, less than 5 minutes walk from the train station. Breakfast is tasty and healthy choices. The dining/common room size is small so when the hotel is full, its best to eat early or late. The only negative point abt the coin dryer is that it is stacked above the washer so you will have to use the step ladder. Free onsen in the premises is a plus.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovebug163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights in a double bed room (loft style). The room is small but it is clean and fully functional. It is near the Takayama Train Station which only 3 mins. walk. You won't miss the place as it is in one of the main roads. Breakfast was fine (mostly in Japanese style). Only thing that I missed was real coffee. They provide coffee from the vending machine free of charge during breakfast time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WW9266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Like other economy hotels in Japan, the rooms here are pretty small, but they seem to make the most of the space available. I also like their keyless system: instead, you just enter a randomly generated 6-digit number to enter your room. This location is a 5-minute walk from the Takayama JR station and Nouhibus station. Free breakfast and drinks dispensed into paper cups from one of the vending machines are included in the room rate. There's also a bath on the first floor with different times for men and women. You can borrow pajamas and pillows for free, and they give you a complimentary bath-related gift in the lobby. If you stay at any Super Hotel location for three nights and collect stamps for your stays, you can get a 1,000 yen rebate. It's not as cheap as Toyoko Inn, so if you're traveling on a budget but have graduated from sharing a room with right other strangers, you might want to check them out.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank cluelessblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

I love the compact nature of Super Hotels. For a lone traveller, the double bed is good size, and the room big enough. The bathroom is very tiny though. Cons: no wifi in the room though you can rent a router, not so near the major sights; Pros: fairly good breakfast spread that is included in the room price, choice of pillow, choice of 5 toiletries items, short walk from train station.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asianms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

I stayed in a 2 beds room. They have a double bed and a bunker size single above the double bed. So you gotta climb up and prepare bed sheet by yourself. This is the smallest hotel I ever stayed because I can't open my luggage. I gotta take things out, close it and put it in a standing position for 2 luggages. Location is not far from Train station. No wifi in the room. It has only on the ground floor. They provide a spa or you may call public bath but they separate between men and women by using time. Breakfast is healthy and provide only 6.xx am until 8.45 am. It is a budget one so I'm ok to stay not long.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank MeiMeiMee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Takayama hotels
Takayama Station
Spa Hotel Alpina Hidatakayama
Country Hotel Takayama
#19 of 177 in Takayama
383 reviews
Washington Hotel Plaza
#132 of 177 in Takayama
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ayun Takayama Central Hotel
#73 of 177 in Takayama
45 reviews
Hotel Hana
#69 of 177 in Takayama
75 reviews
Takayama Station
Takayama Ouan
Takayama Ouan
#10 of 177 in Takayama
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super Hotel Hida-Takayama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super Hotel Hida-Takayama

Address: 4-76 Tenman-machi, Takayama 506-0025, Gifu Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama > Takayama Station , Hidatakayama Onsen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 177 Hotels / Ryokan in Takayama
Price Range: £57 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super Hotel Hida-Takayama 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Ctrip TA and Booking.com so you can book your Super Hotel Hida-Takayama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing