We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crowded on Spring Festival day!”
Review of Takayama Ouan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Takayama Ouan
Ranked #9 of 174 Hotels / Ryokan in Takayama
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Crowded on Spring Festival day!”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We visited Takayama on Spring festival period. The hotel seems to be popular as it's crowded during 2 days of our stay however the service is fast enough about checking in and out. Rooms are specious and look new. We are not familiar with walking around the hotel with bare feet. The shoes must be took off. It's Ryokan style! There is free Ramen at a night time. Breakfast is good. We brought a car and the parking fee is around ¥800.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Yong M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    336
    97
    37
    16
See reviews for
191
348
67
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Beautiful, well appointed hotel with very nice service. Food is well prepared but not not the best. Textbook hotel/ryokan food without a surprise.

A few places need improvements. A hard to close door in a public area. (And, the sign says, please close completely!) Bedding and gowns with a slight smell. Stuff left in corriodors. Perhaps, a manager with a better sense of the environment is needed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xyzzy314159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Great compromise if you do not want to stay in a western hotel, but do not want to fork out loads for a Ryokan. The room we stayed in was a good size with private bathroom and toilet, but did not use the shower once, as you can have a private rooftop onsen to yourself!! There are 3 private onsen rooms, which can handle 2-5 people (mixed sexes), and separate public onsens (separate gender). The private onsens have an excellent set of toiletries and beauty products.

The buffet dinner consists of a small kayaseki, and grilled Hida beef, and great selection at the buffet - more tempura and sashimi you can throw a stick at.

It is also a short walk from the train station, and very easy to find - turn right out of the station, and it is the tall building.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicAndJono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

It was really hard to know what to make of this hotel. I have stayed in Ryokan before and the idea of a hotel with some features of a ryokan appealed.

First the positives. The bedroom area was generous by Japanese standards, with a large, king size futon placed on a low base, which was more comfortable than a regular futon. The room was reasonably well equipped with a tv, small couch, fridge and tea making facilities. Our city side room had lovely views of the snowy mountains. The most outstanding feature, which made the stay worthwhile was the rooftop onsen. There are three private ones, as well as separate male and female ones. They were open on one side and looked out to the city. Fantastic! The location was pretty handy to the train and about a 10 min walk to the main restaurant streets.

The negatives... Overall the place had an institutional air about it, with lots of rules. We were told when we arrived at 5pm that we could not have dinner in the restaurant that night and if we wanted to dine the following night we had to book by 4pm. Also breakfast was only between 7 - 9am. Most other hotels are until at least 9.30 or 10am. We weren't too worried in the end, as when we went out later and looked in the restaurant, there were people sitting there dining in their hotel issued Samue (Japanese pajamas). It is common to wear robes in a Ryokan, but you are confined to your own private space. It just felt weird in a hotel and added to the institutional feel.

Drawing on the traditional Japanese style, tatami mats are used widely throughout the hotel. This I think is a major downside. As a result, you are required to leave your shoes in lockers near the reception and the wheels of your suitcase have to get cleaned. It was very inconvenient. Our locker was on the ground in one corner and hard to access. Also, our shoes were wet from the snow and when we came down the next morning they were still sodden. The next day we carried them up to the room with us so we could dry them out. I think the hotel would be far more successful if just the rooms had tatami and each room had an entrance foyer to store your shoes, as is the way in a Japanese home.

Other negatives - the bathroom tiny and not the cleanest, with remnant shaving hairs stuck to the wall. I have never struck a bathroom so small other than in Egypt. You went into the toilet and the shower is literally a cupboard off the side. This means when you step out of the shower to dry yourself you can't help but brush against the toilet.

Our room rate included a Japanese buffet breakfast. We didn't try this. As I noted above we were totally put off by the thought of sitting there surrounded by guests in matching robes. Just plain weird!

Lastly, we got charged twice. We had paid online, but when we checked in we were asked to pay, so we assumed we hadn't been charged online. The hotel realised their mistake and reversed the charge but weren't at all apologetic. A few gomen nasai (sorrys) wouldn't have gone astray!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank RaqueDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Great position only a few blocks walk from the railway station and the other areas for sightseeing. Lovely Japanese entrance and foyer and Japanese style rooms with tatami mats western amenities. Very comfortable and great rooftop onsen. Staff very helpful. Takayama is a lovely, small city.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JASandRJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This hotel is near the train station and does look like a western hotel from the outside, but do not let this fool you. After staying in traditional Japanese accommodations prior to Takayama, we were very surprised as to the setup in this hotel. On entering the hotel, the foyer area is tiled, but to get to your rooms you have to remove your shoes and place then in lockers by the check in desk. Every thing past the foyer is covered in Tatami mats, even the stair cases. The room was very clean and had, what I would call, twin beds in the room on the floor, and a double sofa. The bath room was clean, but only had a shower. You are provided with Samue to wear around the hotel, even for dinner and breakfast
The highlight of this particular Ryokan are the baths. The baths are on the top floor. There is a public bath for both sexes, and the hot pool is actually outside and you get a great view of the city, especially at night. For these who are more modest there are 3 private baths. Each is a different style, and some do not have the bath outside.
Breakfast is a buffet, so you can chose between Japanese and Western dishes.
On entering the hotel you will notice across the driveway a small structure and maybe some people sitting down. There is a pool here where you can soak your weary feet.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmbuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This ryokan style hotel is very close to the station along a busy road. You have to take off your shoes when you enter the hotel and leave them in a locker. The floors are made of tatami and you can wear the funny socks provided in your room.

The room was bigger then we’re used to have in Japan. There is a shower but you can better go upstairs: The rooftop onsen is great.
You sleep on a matress on the floor, Japanese style.

Breakfast is Japanse buffet style too. You can get some cereals, bread and fruits if you don’t want to eat rice, fish and seaweed. If you want to catch an early train be aware that it can be busy and you might have to wait 10 to 15 minutes before being seated for your breakfast.

Staff is very friendly and very helpfull. Some speak English but not all.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelloMister4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Takayama hotels
Best Western Hotel Takayama
#14 of 174 in Takayama
525 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Hotel Associa Takayama Resort
Takayama Station
Spa Hotel Alpina Hidatakayama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Takayama Station
Hida Hotel Plaza
Hida Hotel Plaza
#13 of 174 in Takayama
449 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Oyado Koto no Yume
Oyado Koto no Yume
#2 of 174 in Takayama
497 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Takayama Green Hotel
Takayama Green Hotel
#12 of 174 in Takayama
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Takayama Ouan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Takayama Ouan

Property: Takayama Ouan
Address: 4-126 Hanasatomachi, Takayama 506-0026, Gifu Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama > Takayama Station , Hidatakayama Onsen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 174 Hotels / Ryokan in Takayama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Takayama Ouan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Rakuten, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Takayama Ouan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Takayama Ouan Hotel Takayama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing