We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, Location and service”
Review of Takayama Ouan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Takayama Ouan
Ranked #11 of 187 Hotels / Ryokan in Takayama
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Hida Hanasatonoyu Takayama,
Lovely traditional style hotel situated about 5 minutes walk from the Train/Bus station. Just walk out of the station, turn right , down the street about 100 yards or so. It's the tallest building on the right hand side. It's also within walking distance of the old town.
It has a lovely entrance with a hot tub bath outside the hotel to bathe your feet after a long days travel, or you can have a hot-tub bath on the 13th floor and look out the window over the city.
The staff are very nice, dressed in traditional Japanese costumes. They speak reasonably good English at reception.
Breakfast has a huge variety of food ( too much in fact and like I said re Best Western - could be halved and still plenty ). It gets very busy from 07.00 and if you wait until 09.00 you might need to sit outside until seats become available.
Rooms are good size, very clean, room service is excellent.
I would highly recommend this hotel for value, service, location and comfort. The only negative I can think of is the air-conditioning system is a bit noisy at night, but this seems to be a general problem in most Japanese hotels I think.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank oconjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (863)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

269 - 275 of 863 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

cozy. Small but reasonable rooms. nice hot bat on 13th floor. walking only bearfooted ...nice. parking lot. vending machines. smooking areas. pleasent staff. nearby restaurants. area is beautiful, worth getting here from Nagoya by car.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Z2081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed for 2 nights. Easy to locate. As you step from the train station, simply turn right and walk towards the tall brown building at the end of the block and you have found it.

Shoes are removed before you go past the check inn desk but they couldn't find a pair of size 13 slippers so I had to settle for bare feet. We had booked on the internet and at the time the only room option we were given was a smoking room. Upon arrival we requested a non smoking room and staff were happy to oblige with that change. There was, however, a very slight odor of cigarette smoke in some areas of the hotel.The room was clean, tidy and comfortable.

There are communal onsen, separate for men and women but also 3 private onsen for family/couples use on the 13th floor. From these you have a view over the city towards the snow covered hills as you relax in the hot water and let the troubles of the day soak away. Management request that you limit the use of these to not more than 30 minutes. Obviously some guests could not read a clock nor could they turn the occupied sign to vacant when they left.

If you want the buffet dinner then you must pre book. We turned up at 5.45 pm and were turned away, being told the dining area was full and no more meals were available.

However, due to the central location we easily found a number of dining options within walking distance.

Breakfast was a mixed western/Japanese buffet and was good value but again get there early and ensure you have pre booked.

Staff were helpful, spoke English and were happy to store our cases when we checked out while we went off on a day trip.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidMMc56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Sensational breakfast each day. Rooftop onset was great to unwind, either in the public or private rooms. The whole hotel had a nice east meets west vibe; ryokan fused with a hotel. It was more than just a hotel, it was an experience. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are only fractionally larger than the regular rooms. Space could be a challenge if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Generally this was a lovely hotel. There are mats on all the floors including the rooms which mean shoes aren't allowed which is fine except they meant the hotel had a very strange smell. We had to sleep with the window open as I found it quite sickening. Alternate floors are smoking and the smell carries slightly which I also found to add to the overall smelliness
The beds were a futon which was quite uncomfortable and I usually like a hard mattress. The rest of the room was functional and a good size. Everything was clean, but the bathrooms are tins and the sink is outside and fairly badly lit so no chance to do makeup !
There are only 2 sittings for dinner. Which didn't bother us as we didn't intend to eat her anyway, there are amazing food options in town and buffet style meals don't appeal to me. Breakfast was very disappointing, thankfully there is a morning street market with great food/snack options.
The hotel is close to the station so you can walk in 5 mins. And the old town is maybe 10 mins walk.
This is a popular hotel for coach trips and a bus load of Germans arrived on our second day.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank An_Expat_Wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I stayed in this hotel back in 2011 and still think it's a great choice for Takayama. It's located 5 min walk from the train station and ten minutes walk to the old town. The hotel has very comfortable rooms. Breakfast in the morning should not be missed. It's buffet style and the food is excellent.

There is an onset on the rooftop and the outdoor pool has a good view of the city area and mountains.

I would most certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kel_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We booked a Deluxe room of 21 m with half board for 2 nights. The bathroom and the toilet were dainty and the wash basin was outside the toilet. The bed was huge and occupied 1/2 of the room, so you can imagine the weird layout of the room.

You have to take off your shoes when you go into the hotel. The shoe locker was in the lobby floor and the shoe locker key went with the room key. So you have to be two together otherwise you either go without your shoes or go to unlock the shoe locker and then go back to your room.

The worst part was the dinner arrangement. We went to the restaurant around 7:00pm and found it empty. Went to the reception and was told dinner time was either 5:30pm or 8pm. The restuarant on the first day was absolutely packed and with active kids. I did not even have a table but only a bench with two seats. For the price I was charged, 31000 yen a night, I could have much better choice in Takayama.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SDNWONG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Takayama hotels
Best Western Hotel Takayama
#14 of 187 in Takayama
571 reviews
Takayama Station
Hida Hotel Plaza
Hida Hotel Plaza
#12 of 187 in Takayama
502 reviews
Takayama Station
Spa Hotel Alpina Hidatakayama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hidatakayama Onsen
Hotel Associa Takayama Resort
Hidatakayama Onsen
Oyado Koto no Yume
Oyado Koto no Yume
#1 of 187 in Takayama
551 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Hoshokaku
Hoshokaku
#19 of 187 in Takayama
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Takayama Ouan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Takayama Ouan

Address: 4-126 Hanasatomachi, Takayama 506-0026, Gifu Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama > Takayama Station , Hidatakayama Onsen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Takayama
Price Range: £85 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Takayama Ouan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Expedia, Booking.com, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Takayama Ouan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Takayama Ouan Hotel Takayama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing