We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
383 results
Traveller rating
172
158
45
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
172
158
45
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews post office snow boots hida takayama half day tour well equipped kitchen old town clean rooms nice stay jr train station morning market shirakawa floor futon luggage
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
220 - 225 of 383 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Pros: Wifi, great kitchen facilities and friendly staff. The woman at the desk spoke great English and was very helpful. It's a short walk from the train station and a short walk to the key alleys.
Cons: You need to climb some stairs but you can leave luggage that is unimportant on the first floor.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cdn_nomad83
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Staff were great when booking us a big traditional room as a double without ensuite on the second floor. it was a big room., toilets down the other end of the hall. Staff knowledgeable on the area. Within quick walking distance to the station. Wifi on every floor. The showers are on the ground floor which could be inconvenient if you have to walk all that way but we decided to enjoy the neighbourhood sento and area onsen so we didn't have a need to have a shower. The convenient store at the station is the closest one and we went there a lot to get water, breakfast etc. Although there are supermarkets not far from there. This is the 3rd j-hoppers I have stayed at, they are fairly much the same.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 33-1-3-rpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Traditional room was clean and comfortable. The woman at the front desk was extremely helpful with travel arrangements and spoke very good English. Takayama was a lovely town. Only minor complaint is that the front desk is not staffed all day and the luggage storage room is unlocked.

Date of stay: August 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Traveler3719
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Takayama is a small town so you better stay in the strategic location so I'd say to choose J-Hoppers.
Rooms are basic & clean. We stayed at the traditional room and it's so big!
overall I love my stay at Hida-Takayama. People there are very polite & friendly.

Date of stay: October 2011
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank sarahanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Jhoppers Takayama is a 5 minute walk from the station. Rooms are basic and neat. Toilets are available in each floor with hair dryer and sink. However, shower area is located at the ground floor which I find it inconvenient. There is no lift so if you are carrying a rolling luggage and your room is on the 4th floor like us, this will be a challenge.

The reception area is closed at a certain time of the day so when we arrived around noon time, no one was available to answer queries. We had to leave our luggage and come back late in the afternoon to check in. I find that the only plus points of this guesthouse are the location, the free wifi and the price. I would probably look for a better hostel next time.

Room tip: No lift available. Pick 2nd floor rooms if you have wheeled luggage.
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews