We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Morning market in Takayama”

Hida-Takayama Miyagawa Morning Market
Book In Advance
More Info
US$70.00*
and up
Private Cherry Blossom Event: Shopping, Cooking Lesson and Eating
Ranked #9 of 149 things to do in Takayama
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Morning market in Takayama”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Clear blue skies and a crisp morning - wonderful setting for the early morning markets in Takayama. All the in-season vegetables and some fish (possibly gar) which are just delicious when BBQd. But of more interest to me, was the ready supply of local crafts - sashiko square, beautiful handbags, wonderful wood statues, and those beautiful little animals - made out of a fabric very similar to seer sucker of old. The sellers are all cheerful and helpful and really enjoy the tourists who flock to the area to see how the village people do their weekend shopping. I love the atmosphere, the people and of course, their wares.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank carjilari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    217
    136
    22
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Worth the early morning stroll.”
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

It is interesting to see the different produce of the locals, from veggies to their saki. It was just a short stretch but it was a way of experiencing a day in the life of the locals in Takayama.

I find The products were a bit pricey though.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank levyrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
237 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Go early”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

You need to go before they close at noon. We caught the last of the stalls closing and managed to buy the sweetest and juiciest Hakuho peaches we have ever eaten. We also tried some sake flavour ice cream (300Yen) while enjoying the view from the bridge of the crystal clear waters below and the ducks swimming.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank WBin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Interesting but small”
Reviewed 27 April 2013

If this is your first market in Japan, then it will be an interesting experience. I found it small and without too much variety. On the other side it is authentic and not made for tourists but for the daily need of the people in town.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“Miyagawa Market”
Reviewed 15 January 2013

This is a great place to visit if you are open early and it gives you the opportunity to get in some souvenir shopping before the crowds arrive. www.eatdrinktravelrepeat.com/takayama2

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hida-Takayama Miyagawa Morning Market also viewed

 
Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
 

Been to Hida-Takayama Miyagawa Morning Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing