We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
Jaw-dropping in its scale

This museum is jaw-dropping in its scale. I can't imagine what it cost to erect, and I failed in... read more

Reviewed 2 June 2018
venividivice
,
Ko Samui, Thailand
Interesting gallery

We enjoyed our gallery experience, they had an exhibition on display that had the Hokusai print of... read more

Reviewed 11 May 2018
Kerrie H
,
Wollongong, Australia
via mobile
Read all 70 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Takayama
from US$54.40
More Info
from US$45.30
More Info
from US$122.40
More Info
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
16
7
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
7
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews on display hokusai prints art religious exhibits
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2018

This museum is jaw-dropping in its scale. I can't imagine what it cost to erect, and I failed in trying to discover who paid for it all, although there does seem to be a link to a new Japanese "religion" known as Mahikari. Whatever...it is immense, and rather attractive, with clear allusions to ancient Egypt in it's design. I found it very impressive externally and internally.

As for content, it is a bit mixed. There was a splendid exhibition of Hokusai prints when we were there, but we found much of the other exhibits we had time to look at rather random -- some good, some leaving you scratching your head.

But, in my view, well worth visiting just for the building itself

2  Thank venividivice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed our gallery experience, they had an exhibition on display that had the Hokusai print of the great wave off Kanagawa. Very excited to see this, very helpful, friendly staff.

1  Thank Kerrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

Worth a visit for its strangeness alone. Designed for vast numbers of visitors the museum was almost empty on a Saturday apart from us. Small but interesting collection of western artwork and special Hokusai exhibition were worth seeing. Archaeology rooms etc were extremely dated looking. The museum was so curious a kind of 1980/90s feel with Frank Lloyd Wright and Mayan influences we tried to research the architect on our return without success but discovered the museum was founded (and presumably still kept afloat) by a strange religious group...

1  Thank emmawatt74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

Who would expect a Mayan pyramid, mainly buried under a hillside, in the Takayama suburbs? Packed with ancient and other artefacts, as well as anthropological and archeological exhibits, this vast complex is informative and has plenty to occupy children, who can dress up as Pharoah, reassemble broken pots and handle fossils. You will need a taxi from the centre of Takayama but the small cost will be worth it.

3  Thank Buckster21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017

Although a little out of the way,it is a must see for art lovers,who appreciate art for the 1800 up to modern days. It depicts Japanese artists from those eras,and all the work is framed and laid out in a HUGE gallery. There is a coffee shop connected at the end.

2  Thank GCCM78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017

DO NOT MISS this place, if you are an art lover (any art) !!!
The best art museum, I have seen in Japan.
A wide selection of arts : European, Japanese, abstract and so on.
The building complex is HUGE and so beautiful.
Not too many people gets there, and they should.
It belong to a religious group in Japan, one that worship the sun, but if you ignore the affiliation to the religion and just enjoy the art there, you will NOT be disappointed.
It is absolutely rewarding !!
I would love to go again.
Not much in English, that they have to improve, but you can enjoy the countless objects, with your eyes.
A MUST when in Takayama !!

Thank Shlomi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Lots of archaeology exhibits, ancient civilization of Japan, there is also a video screening of the founder of Sukyo Mahikari. Informative, interesting, spirituality, a must visit in Takayama. Also various exhibitions are held.

Thank Greenhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016

The architecture of the building is a mixture of Azetic and Mayan. The history of civilisation in human is very interesting and informative. Day visit may not enough to see everything. The staffs are very polite and willing to dispense information. The artifacts are impressive and interesting .

Thank Geoffrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2016

The Hikaru Museum was a real discovery for us. It was not listed in our (some dated ?) guidebook, neither was it mentionned by our group guide. We saw a poster of an occasional exhibit of a Japanes clay/earh master and so we went : what a surprising jewel. Well located on a hilly side a bit at the outskirts. Majestic entrance, the building giving an architectural inspiration of an Inca tempel. The inside entrance corridor masterfully decoreted by the master artist, the central covered coutyard spacious and full of variety of light. The collection are intersting, from a few western impressionist, over japanese impresionist artist to contemporary art and also old prints, scrolls, tapistry, etc.
A must when visiting Takayama.

Thank henricus v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2016 via mobile

One of the strangest places I have been to. After the 1st and 2nd floor it thought this place was weird... and then the 3rd floor made me understand. This is some sort of cult who have spent and absolute bomb on a strange self prophesisng building whilst claiming to be for people and giving back. It would be a good set for a horror film. Give it a miss.

9  Thank rookstar81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews