We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Close to the Railway station”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Takayama
Ranked #14 of 174 Hotels / Ryokan in Takayama
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very Close to the Railway station”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Just back from a trip to Japan and stayed at the Best Western Takayama for a few nights.
This is a perfect location for anyone wishing to travel by train or bus as the bus and train station are just a 5/10 minute walk from the stations. Straight across the street, walk one or two blocks in, turn left and its there on your right.
Staff are very nice and speak reasonably good English. Rooms are very clean, room service every day with fresh towels.
Its not a "Traditional Japanese " style - mostly frequented by business people and family travellers.
Breakfast is buffet style suitable for any tastes and the food is delicious and plentiful, in fact I would describe it as too much and Best Western could cut it in half and still be plentiful.
The variety of food is also amazing.
If the hotel keeps putting up so much food for breakfast it will ensure people go away with extra lbs of flab that's for sure.
It can't be healthy to have so much food for breakfast unless you're not going to eat again for the rest of the day.
There's not a lot of activity in terms of entertainment, so don't expect singing and dancing.
Bar prices are not too bad as hotel prices go.
Its within walking distance of the Old Town area which is a "must" to see, but I'm afraid it's not the most exciting place around.
The air-conditioning system was a bit noisy at night so bring a few ear-plugs or sleeping tablets.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oconjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    250
    103
    39
    5
See reviews for
115
260
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Almere, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The Best Western is only 2 blocks from the JR station and the busstation and easy to reach. It is also within 10 minutes walking from the old center, so it's has a good location.

Check in went smooth. We had a triple room which was relatively small because the three beds were quite large. This left not much room for our luggage. The decoration of the rooms was relatively modern en well maintained.

Breakfast which was included in the rate was ok, but not really special.

For dinner we can recommend Heianraku which is only a few minutes walking. We were a little bit disappointed by Takayama itself. While we were there, there were only a few people walking though the streets at night which made the place feel a bit soulless.

If we would return to Takayama, we would consider the Best Western again because of its excellent location close to the station.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripleDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

One of several small hotels clustered a few minutes away from Takayama station and just 10 mins walk to scenic Old Town.
We stayed for one night in a standard twin non-smoking room on the 7th floor.The room was small and the twin beds were side by side and wall to wall so the only access was from the foot of the bed.
Basic toilet amenities with wall mounted dispensers for body wash , rinse and shampoo.
Breakfast is served in the small lobby Bijoux cafe/restaurant/bar which was surprisingly busy with a wedding reception taking place on the day of our arrival and a music concert the next morning after breakfast. Breakfast was Japanese and Western buffet but the latter was limited.
Hotel staff were very helpful. Check-in time 3.00pm but you can leave your bags and wander over to Old Town.
Overall quite happy with our stay here given its convenient location and because it was quiet ( got a good night's sleep) although I thought it was a bit overpriced (but then Takayama is a touristy town).

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sengch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Takayama is a fairly small town - very walkable. The Best Western is a short walk away from the train and bus station, and from the sights in town.

Our room was comfortable, but very musty smelling. I suspect that some of the linens/towels were not dried properly so that was somewhat unpleasant.

The included breakfast was excellent. We had a great feast of the Japanese breakfast dishes. There were also some Western-style breakfast options too.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
238 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 585 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

After spending 3 nights in Kanazawa, we cross the zebra crossing directly in front of the small and cute, Takayama train station. While in the midst of crossing the road, look on your left and you would see the top of the Best Western Hotel, otherwise, not noticeable from the train station.

Upon arrival at 2.10pm, the Receptionist was at first hesitant to let us check in, saying that 3pm is their official check in time. However, a big Western tour group behind us was already checking in. We asked again, and they sort of relented and let us check in right away. We were then given a Twin room on the highest floor (702) - our second smallest Twin room on this trip but the Hotel was the most expensive of our 8 nights, 4 Hotels trip.

If you are like us, used to budget or business hotels while in Japan, then all I can say is, this Best Western Takayama is NOT your normal budget or business hotel as they provide Room service here, has two Restaurants on site and its TV even has CNN in English ... something rarely seen in other Japanese hotels that we have been to. The Wifi here was free and also very fast.

The Hotel is located on a quiet side street and we slept blissfully here. Windows can also be opened, important for nose allergy sufferers like us. Location wise, you are about 10 minutes walk to the most charming and well preserved Old Town - nice! Though a little touristy, Takayama is great for culture lovers as well as beef lovers (Hida beef sellers everywhere!)

The free and included breakfasts was also a cut above the rest. On the first day, we only had the Japanese food at the inner Restaurant. But the next day, only did we realise we were actually allowed to choose Western food as well from its front Restaurant - yummy and you are really spoilt for choice here during breakfasts!

Though we have visited Shiragawa-Go before arriving here, we thought our visit to the nearby Hida no Sato cultural village is really quite interesting, too. Go to the opposite bus station at the train station, and purchase combined Hida no Sato and return bus tickets at 930 yen each person, good value and very convenient.

The funny thins is - there is no safe in the rooms here and they do not even provide free Mineral Waters for this price range ... Luckily, its pillows were very comfy indeed, also something quite rare in Japanese hotels. We spent a total of two nights in Takayama, which is about right. This is a laid back old town, so do not expect night life or huge Departmental stores here ...

Had our last breakfasts from 7-7.30am, then check out at 7.40am, and stroll a mere 1 minute to the train station for our 8am ride to Nagoya - bliss & super convenient!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor, Twin room at the back. But the Hotel is located on a very small quiet street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JChua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veghel, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2014

In June we stayed for one night at this hotel. It was a nice stay at the hotel. We were upgraded to a twin-room on the top floor. The room was good, however a bit old but very clean. It was also spaceous.
In the hotel there was also a Spa with some modern onsen baths (gender separated) It was nice to relax there.
Breakfast was OK with a lot of choices.
People at the front desk were friendly and spoke good English.
The location is very good. Jus a few minutes walk to JR station and about 5 to 10 minutes to the old center.
The only drawback was that we just stayed in Takayama for 2 days/ 1 night. The city is very nice to visit, but we needed more time to enjoy the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Achim_van_der_Made
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Arriving by train, you can easily walk to the Best Western. It is a small ,quiet town , worth only a night but definitely worth that.
We had low expectations, expecting something basic but clean. However, it actually had a quirkiness which we found endearing and nothing beats looking out the window at surrounding green mountains.
For the price, this is hard to beat.
We got there early and rather than the usual Japanese mantra about 3 PM check in, they went out of their way to get us in.

Room Tip: Go higher up and look beyond the town to the mountains outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Takayama hotels
Takayama Station
Takayama Ouan
Takayama Ouan
#8 of 174 in Takayama
753 reviews
Takayama Station
Spa Hotel Alpina Hidatakayama
Hidatakayama Onsen
Hotel Associa Takayama Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Takayama Station
Hida Hotel Plaza
Hida Hotel Plaza
#12 of 174 in Takayama
440 reviews
Country Hotel Takayama
#18 of 174 in Takayama
333 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Oyado Koto no Yume
Oyado Koto no Yume
#3 of 174 in Takayama
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Takayama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Takayama

Property: Best Western Hotel Takayama
Address: 6-6 Hanasatocho, Takayama 506-0026, Gifu Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Takayama
#16 Best Value Hotel in Takayama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Takayama 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Rakuten, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel Takayama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Takayama
Takayama Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing