We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Hospitality”
Review of Sosuke

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sosuke
Ranked #7 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Takayama
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Warm Hospitality”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Sosuke for a night to have a taste if ryokan experience. It is within easy access from the Takayama Train Station (10mins walk with bulky luggage). Turn right at the station and walk to the end of a T junction, turn right and cross a short bridge. Continue walking till you walk past the 2nd Traffic Junction, you will see Takayama Green Hotel in your left. Minsuku Sosuke is on your right (directly opposite Takayama Green hotel).

Pros: warm, friendly host; reasonably-priced sumptuous dinner (9-course with Hida beef); choose either a lovely Western breakfast that comes with thick toast, salad and coffee or Japanese breakfast ; clean room; clean onsen facilities; clean shared shower and toilet facilities.
Cons: no elevator for bulky luggage; thin walls and floor vibrates as other people walk outside your room.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetLimLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    40
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
33
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

This was our first Minshuku on our trip so the small rooms and limited facilities did not rate as highly as the Ryokans we had stayed in. Sleep quality was not great as there is noise from other guests moving around and the road outside. The rooms were clean and comfortable and all the facilities shared - there are two private shower cubicles if you don't want to use the onsen. The dinners were fantastic but breakfast not up to much.
It's easy to find - right out of the train station and right over the railway bridge, and it's opposite the huge Takayama Green Hotel. It's about a 10 minute stroll into town.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuttonHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sdyney
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed at Sosuke in January during a very cold winter. We had intended to stay only one night, but felt so comfortable we decided to stay another night. The hostess was so polite that she didn't let on until later that as they hadn't any other bookings for the second night, they'd intended to have a much-needed day off. Needless to say, we felt a bit guilty being the only guests. This was the first time we'd stayed in a Japanese inn with shared facilities, but it was absolutely fine. In particular I would recommend the meals, which were as good as some very expensive ryokans we'd stayed in. For such an inexpensive hotel, this has enormous charm and the warmth of the staff makes for a very enjoyable stay. I loved Takayama (although bitterly cold in January) and wouldn't hesitate to return to the Sosuke. Arigato!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrienne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We stayed with our two kids, it's a beautiful place. Not a long walk from the JR station inside are all the comforts you'd expect from a traditional Japanese style inn. Our rooms were very clean and the staff so helpful in showing us where everything was. The onsen is small but very welcoming especially when it's cold. The meals were great, we were so full by the end, and the fireplace room next to the eating area is a great place to chill out and have a beer or sake. Having kids was no problem at all either, although the floors and walls are thin so you can hear them running around or talking loud so we had to do our best to keep them quiet for the other guests. Can totally recommend it to anyone, if we can ever go back when it's snowing we'll stay here for sure again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zuu2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012 via mobile

Irori Sosuke

This was a good value place ....quite traditional I thought. The draws both Japanese and western travelers. The age profile is older. Curfew time is 11 pm, which is perfectly ok as there is not much to do after the sun sets in this sleepy town, which is en route to shirakawa and the Japanese alps.

Dinner at Sosuke - good value for 2100 Y. Better eat here if you are staying here than at one of the over priced hida beef eateries. 

Getting there from Takayama Station - if you arrive by 6 pm, the information counter just outside the station will show you the directions on the map. In case you arrive after the information counter is closed, then the directions are as follows. Exit the station and take a right ( don't cross the road). Walk for 5 minutes till you come to a turn on the right. At this turn is a small foot massage place outside a hotel. As you turn right, you will cross a small bridge. Walk further down and cross a traffic light. Sosuke is just 50 m ahead on the right side. You will pass a Kmart to your right. 

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajiv_Gopinath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

This was the first Minshuku we stayed in but having stayed in a Royokan a few days before we knew what to expect. This is a lovely old building tastefully rennovated. If you feel the need to sit on chairs there are some near a traditional fire place. The dining room is arranged so you can sit on the edge of a small recess under the tables, so it's like sitting on a chair, which is much more comfortable for western visitors. Food is very good. The Owners and Staff are polite, helpful and speak a reasonable amount of English.
A 5 minute walk from the station and easy to find. On our return to the station it was raining and without being asked the owner of the hotel offered to take us free of charge back to the station.
If you are staying in Takayama and want a taste of traditional Japanese accomodation I recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

After reading positive reviews from TA and travel guides, i was looking forward to my very first Minshuku experience. However, the Japanese hospitality i so adored was marred by my very short 1 night stay at Sosuke. First off, clear walking directions were not given and it didn't help that the information centre outside the train station had a sulky face manning the counter.

Upon arrival at Sosuke, the warm reception that we were expecting didn't happen. Communications were kept to the bare minimum and we were left on our own, even while dining in their hall that evening. While the 9-course dinner was not bad at all, the owners seemed to have retreated into their private space, once the dishes were laid on the table. No complaints about the facilities, like the common bathroom and traditional bath, as they were very clean.

When we checked out the next morning, hoping to leave our luggage at the reception for a few hours, we were told that it was a holiday and that they were going to close at 10am. This piece of new information needed us to debate a little and to change our plans quickly. And so, we declined the owner's initial offer of sending us to the train station to leave our luggage at the lockers and instead, to bring forward our departure time, since it was a rainy day anyway. When we updated her that we will instead visit the morning market and return to collect our luggage before 10am, she appeared to be confused and if i may speculate, a little unhappy. This was inferred by her mutterings in Japanese (and i happen to understand a smattering). So off we went to the market, wondering why she reacted in that manner. We arrived back just before 10am and to our surprise, the lights and counter were shut and our bags were left right at the doorstep. I have never felt so unwelcome to the point of being shooed off before. That last incident took the cake and needless to say, i won't be back.

Takayama is a lovely town, a pity about its people.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pancakesSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Takayama hotels
Takayama Station
Takayama Ouan
Takayama Ouan
#8 of 174 in Takayama
749 reviews
Takayama Station
Spa Hotel Alpina Hidatakayama
Hidatakayama Onsen
Hotel Associa Takayama Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chogoro
#56 of 96 in Takayama
6 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Oyado Koto no Yume
Oyado Koto no Yume
#3 of 174 in Takayama
480 reviews
Sumiyoshi Ryokan
#1 of 174 in Takayama
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sosuke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sosuke

Property: Sosuke
Address: 1-64 Okamotocho, Takayama 506-0054, Gifu Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Takayama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sosuke 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, JAPANiCAN, HostelWorld, Rakuten and HRS so you can book your Sosuke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sosuke Hotel Takayama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing