We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't get better than this”
Review of Oyado Yamakyu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oyado Yamakyu
Ranked #1 of 175 Hotels / Ryokan in Takayama
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I have stayed here numerous times and its a 10 out of 10 experience. If you want to enjoy Takayama as this gorgeous town should be enjoyed, then ensure it by staying at Yamakyu. The rooms, staff, food and position can't be beaten, and thats why Im booked to stay again in October!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gazle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013

The hotel was amazing. The staff came to pick us up at the station and after exploring Takayama we had a wonderful Japanese dinner. It was a wonderful experience. Very helpful staff. After our wonderful dinner we used the onsen; the room was nice and spacious. Next morning we had a great breakfast. They offered coffee too! They took our photo and also dropped us back to the station and took our photo! Definitely stay there again! Takayama is cute and work a visit!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nadia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stayed here for two nights here on April. Amazing food,excellent customer service. We wish we could stay longer!! The meals were soo good. I don't usually eat much but while my stay I can eat three bowl of rices!! Our deal included dinner and breakfast!! Would highly recommend and will return if we visited this lovely small town again!!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Kerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Our stay in Takayama at Oyado Yamakyu was excellent. The ryokan was easy to find - there were signs in English directing you once you got close. The location was excellent - within walking distance to the station (12 mins), right near tons of temples and close to the shopping streets.

The owner was extremely nice and helpful and everyone else who worked there rocked! One huge highlight was the food that was "cooked by local mothers" - extremely plentiful, delicious and wonderful! We were so full after breakfast that we would just snack until dinner (make sure you try the local Japanese 'marshmallows!').

The room was quiet spacious and the baths were lovely. When we were down bathing they replaced our table (with tea and sweets!) with our comfy futons. The ryokan had some delightful local knick-knacks displayed everywhere, which I loved. Wifi was also fantastic.

We loved the town and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wishybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed here in Takayama in January 2013. Let me start by saying that this was postcard perfect at every turn and its almost like time stood still here - a must see destination.
We're a family of five with 3 older children. We stayed in Oyado Yamakyu and were not disappointed, it was homely, welcoming, very traditional.
We had a double ryokan room which was ample for the five of us. They have male / female bathing facilities which is fine. These facilites swap over daily so you experience the outdoor natural spring hottub.
Our room had its own toilet and small wash basin, no bench or anywhere to put things on other than the floor! Very basic and probably could do with an overhaul, not very efficient for a family trying to get organised, a little frustrating actually. This was the only drawback. The owners have a vast collection of vintage glassware which they display proudly which was interesting to look over. The food is made by local 'mothers' and is overwhelmingly abundant. We couldn't eat it all - we had at one stage 65 individual serving dishes on the table for our family's dinner - glad we didn't have to face the washing up!
Lovely Ryokan, clean and old fashioned, very comforting - happily recommend this to anyone - young and old.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheVonJohnstons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Stayed here for 1 night in April with a friend we had originally booked two nights at another inn, but because of the high reating on trio advisor we decided to have a night here. Located too far from the train station to lug our bag. They do have a free pick up service from the station, but there was no luggage section in the vehicle which created abit of hositlity amongst the clientel trying to fit their cases in. Immediatley upon arrival I felt like we were in a hostel. The staff were semi helpful (due to the language barrier) when they could be found. Overwhelmed by the cigarette smoke near the reception area. Something I can say I am very greatful we don't have to deal with in Australia. Beds were great, very comfortable, Food ok. I would not go back, even if it was free due to the cigarette smoke!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyoffourBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

If as a westerner you accept you don't stay at a ryokan for western style comfort (sitting on the floor, hard futons, shared bathroom/onsen downstairs) then this is a great place to stay.

The rooms are of a reasonable size for a ryokan, there is an ensuite toilet and washbasin. The staff are extremely helpful and there are plenty of them around. The ryokan itself felt like a step back in time (not that it felt dated!) and you could imagine a ryokan felt like this 100 years ago. Well except for the elevator available to the onsen, but you can ignore that and use the stairs if trying for the old time feel ;)

Breakfast good, traditional Japanese only, in a lovely room.

Location is excellent with many quiet temples and shrines extremely close by (you appreciate quiet temples after Kyoto), and the old streets a pleasant 5-10 minute walk away. Train station was walkable in under 20 mins but the Ryokan gave us a ride when we needed to move luggage there.

The only real negative was the road between ryokan and temple can get semi busy late afternoon, but no traffic after dinner that we noticed and did not affect our sleep at all, though we were up fairly early so can't comment on morning traffic. If you are a light sleeper you could ask for a room away from the road, but then you'd miss the view.

Room Tip: Second floor view of temple was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soobz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Takayama hotels
Takayama Station
Takayama Ouan
Takayama Ouan
#9 of 175 in Takayama
810 reviews
Best Western Hotel Takayama
#14 of 175 in Takayama
548 reviews
Takayama Station
Hida Hotel Plaza
Hida Hotel Plaza
#13 of 175 in Takayama
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hidatakayama Onsen
Hotel Associa Takayama Resort
Hidatakayama Onsen
Oyado Koto no Yume
Oyado Koto no Yume
#3 of 175 in Takayama
523 reviews
Sumiyoshi Ryokan
#2 of 175 in Takayama
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oyado Yamakyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyado Yamakyu

Address: 58 Tenshojimachi, Takayama 506-0832, Gifu Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Takayama
#5 Best Value Hotel in Takayama
Price Range: £91 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oyado Yamakyu 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5mins from Takayama old Private houses,10mins from the morning market on foot. You can enjoy the best location for sightseeing in all seasons. We hope to offer you our heartful hospitality in historical Hida Takayama. You can use the parking lot before check-in and after check-out for free. It takes 5 minutes by car or 20 minutes on foot from Takayama station. We can also pick you up at Takayama station. If you need this service, please let us know what your arrival time is the day before. We have English and Chinese speaking staff members. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Rakuten, Ebookers and Ctrip TA so you can book your Oyado Yamakyu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyado Yamakyu Hotel Takayama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing