We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic ryokan” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oyado Yamakyu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oyado Yamakyu
Ranked #2 of 173 Hotels / Ryokan in Takayama
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic ryokan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

I felt we'd made the perfect choice with this ryokan in Takayama. It's situated slightly further away, (but still just 15 minutes or so from the station) on the side of a mountain, nestled in amongst a really beautiful group of temples. The walk through the temples was one of my favourite experiences on this Japan trip.

Our room had corner windows, looking out over temples and Japanese gardens. The food was incredible, the 'local mothers' are very very good cooks. The baths were also wonderful, both the stone and wooden baths. Service was friendly and totally accommodating. Stay here! You'll love it! Couldn't be a better deal.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beverly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    68
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
87
131
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, UK
Level Contributor
244 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Great ryokan, very friendly, offer collection and drop off at station. Nice rooms with ensuite toilet/sink and separate shared baths are nice. We booked the DBB package and dinner was very good, large selection and well prepared. Breakfast was Japanese with a hint of western (croissant and yoghurt) which helps for those who arent used to Japanese breakfasts. Coffee available throughout the morning in the hallway. Many antique and collectors items throughout. Laundry available for small fee ($3). Close to temple district which is nice to walk around, and about 10 mins walk down to town, or 15-20 mins to station.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo_Aberdeen_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We really enjoyed our 2-nights stay in Yamakyu. The staff there are very friendly and helpful. When we arrived to Takayama, one of the staff members was waiting for us in the bus station, to give us a ride to the ryokan - it was great!
The rooms are nice, clean and definitely give you the Japanese experience you want... Although there is a communal bath, there is also a private bathroom in the ryokan, which is a good solution to shy guests... The Japanese food experience is also very nice.
Highly recommended ryokan!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Galileo_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Goodish location about 500metres from the old town. Decent room with Tv and safe, japanese style so bed made up in the evening sometimes a little later than would be my choice. Communal bath which I thought was great,slippers only inside and oddly a lift given it only goes 2 floors, staff super nice and helpful with some English. Incredible value in that food is included in the price, food here consists of a lazy 10+ dishes for breakfast and dinner largely japanese with a token nod to european such as a croissant for breakfast, amongst the best meals I have had simply wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jgsdcws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful experience, from the free shuttle pick up at the bus station (thanks to the information desk lady for telling us how to use the pay phone to request this), to the lovely check in and welcome.
The evening meal was beautifully presented in traditional setting and seating, and what a spread! I ate enough to feed two and still didn't manage it all.
The public baths were also a wonderful experience and the instructions for how to use these were most helpful (in the room in the English information pack).
Duvet was lovely, and a pillow was a nice bonus as we are not used to traditional Japanese style futons on tatami mats.
Again can't thank the staff enough for their hospitality.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank familyGNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed for 1 night last March 19th. Although the room was a bit small for a family of 4 (the futons were laid out side by side with no space in between), it was clean and well heated. The owner and the staff were friendly. ALthough most did not speak nor understand English, they all tried very hard to make us feel welcome. The inn provided pick up and drop off service to Takayama station. Although there was a scheduled 9:10AM drop off daily, the owner was kind enough to drop us off earlier so we can catch an earlier bus to Shirakawa for an overnight trip. He also offered to keep most of our luggage and drop them off at the train station again the next day. This gesture was a life saver since it snowed heavily in Shirakawa during our visit and it would have been impossible to carry our luggage across the Shirakawa bridge on a snowy day. The owner also offered to lend us an umbrella to take with us to Shirakawa as it had been raining the whole day when we left Takayama. The umbrella proved quite useful for us as we walked through the rain and snow in Shirakawa.

Oyado Yamakyu was our first Ryokan experience during this trip and the inn did not disappoint. It gave us a good starting point of what was to be an excellent 14-day vacation. The dinner and breakfast served were tasty and provided a good sampling of local specialties like Hida beef and Hoba miso. The breakfast, though simple were equally tasty. They even served Yakult for breakfast. They were able to accommodate my brother and daughter's allergy and food preferences and provided alternatives to seafood and fish.

Although there was no ensuite bath, there is a private shower that can be reserved. SInce the onsen is one of the must-dos in Japan, it is not even necessary to reserve the private shower. Even if there were several other guests in the inn, I had the onsen all to myself when I used it early in the morning.

We had such a great experience in Oyado Yamakyu that we even tried to cancel our reservation at the Marriott Nagoya so we can stay another night in Yamakyu. Unfortunately, Marriott's cancellation policy did not allow us to do this.

Although the inn was about a 15-minute leisurely walk to the old houses street (and a bit uphill on the way back), it was still worth it. We will just have to plan to stay longer in Takayama next time and book for at least 2 nights in Oyado Yamakyu.

One other thing, Koichi, the young staff who cared for our check in, took our picture at the lobby when we arrived. This was then presented to us as a surprise souvenir when we checked out. ANother nice touch from Oyado Yamakyu that we did not get to experience from the other ryokans we stayed in.

Room Tip: For groups of more than 2, it may be more prudent to request for more than 1 room. The rooms are com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarqSterneTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

In a nutshell this is the perfect place to stay in Takayama. Position position position, food food food and a fabulous family and staff who make sure everyone's stay is memorable. Cant recommend more highly. See you all again soon:)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gazle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Takayama hotels
Takayama Station
Takayama Ouan
Takayama Ouan
#9 of 173 in Takayama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Takayama Station
Spa Hotel Alpina Hidatakayama
Takayama Station
Hida Hotel Plaza
Hida Hotel Plaza
#13 of 173 in Takayama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hidatakayama Onsen
Hotel Associa Takayama Resort
Sumiyoshi Ryokan
#1 of 173 in Takayama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Oyado Koto no yume
Oyado Koto no yume
#3 of 173 in Takayama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oyado Yamakyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyado Yamakyu

Property: Oyado Yamakyu
Address: 58 Tenshojimachi, Takayama 506-0832, Gifu Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Takayama
#9 Best Value Hotel in Takayama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oyado Yamakyu 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5mins from Takayama old Private houses,10mins from the morning market on foot. You can enjoy the best location for sightseeing in all seasons. We hope to offer you our heartful hospitality in historical Hida Takayama. You can use the parking lot before check-in and after check-out for free. It takes 5 minutes by car or 20 minutes on foot from Takayama station. We can also pick you up at Takayama station. If you need this service, please let us know what your arrival time is the day before. We have English and Chinese speaking staff members. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Oyado Yamakyu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyado Yamakyu Hotel Takayama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing