We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosey”
Review of K's House Takayama

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
K's House Takayama
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed here for one night on 15th April. The last day of the cherry blossom festival. It was very busy. Probably a bit too busy. I stayed in the cheapest room and it was quite cramped. Close to Takayama Station. Staff spoke English well. Enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nakooma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
There are newer reviews for K's House Takayama
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 150 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

K's house is, hands down, the cleanest hostel I've ever stayed in. Great staff, great environment, and in the heart of the beautiful Takayama. One small problem I had was opening the window to be met with the stink of cigarette smoke below (the room was right above the 'smoker's area'. Other than that, this was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skibbawackle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

super close to train station, staff very nice and the hotel was cozy and big. It was across the street from JR train station and maybe 10 minutes walk away from old town and all the shops.

bunk bed a bit small. If you are taller than 5'5, might think twice about getting the bunk bed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaisyZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Good heater, not stuffy. Large window.

Near bus terminal & JR station. Reception is good in providing information on where to eat. Don't forget to try roadside hida-beef, homemade apple jam in morning market and local strawberry (cheap & delicious) if you're in season.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nghis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

This hostel is fantastic! The ladies at the front desk went above and beyond anything I've experienced in the last 2 mths of travel. Close to the train station and a short bike ride/walk from the 'action' of takayama, this hostel is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tweeters28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I felt very well in this modern and cosy guesthouse. The common areas are really nice and lovely decorated. The kitchen is convenient and even the dishes are very lovely (that's a detail but
enjoyable all the same). I also appreciated having a washing machine and a dryer at my disposal (for 300 yens).
A very warm welcome, the girls at reception are friendly and speak a good English.
The location is very good.
I stayed in a 4-bed dorm with private bathroom. The room was a bit small, but very clean and the bed very comfortable. The bathroom was good as well, with a bath and free soap, shampoo and conditioner.
Unfortunately, in this perfect environment, I had a terrible night! Dormitory is kind of a lottery and I wasn't too lucky (only one other person in the dorm but taking shower at 1am, snoring and going in and out of the room in the middle of the night...)
Best guesthouse so far in my 6-month trip around Asia, but worst night in this kind of accommodation.
Anyway, I highly recommend K's House all the same!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amelie184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My 3rd experience with a K's House property was this hostel in charming Takayama. I had a small (of course!) single room with tiny en-suite bathroom. On the first morning, I noticed the bath tub had leaked; told the young woman at the desk and was profusely apologized to, and my room was quickly changed to a slightly larger one. This hostel had a large, fully outfitted, kitchen with coffee and tea available (free) at all times, laundry room for use, nice eating area and comfy common area. Decent free wifi available throughout. What set it aside as outstanding was the staff! Good English skills, kind manners, great recommendations - even to the point of making reservations, checking transportation schedules, and providing great directions. I left my travel pillow there and they called my next hotel to inform me, and had it awaiting my trip back through the area! It is a very close walk from the train and bus stations and truly a town where you can easily spend the time walking from place to place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeaneRuston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Takayama hotels
Best Western Hotel Takayama
#14 of 175 in Takayama
534 reviews
Takayama Station
Takayama Ouan
Takayama Ouan
#9 of 175 in Takayama
786 reviews
Takayama Station
Spa Hotel Alpina Hidatakayama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Country Hotel Takayama
#19 of 175 in Takayama
366 reviews
Takayama Station
Hida Hotel Plaza
Hida Hotel Plaza
#13 of 175 in Takayama
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K's House Takayama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K's House Takayama

Address: 4-45-1 Temmammachi, Takayama 506-0025, Gifu Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Speciality lodging in Takayama
Price Range: £21 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — K's House Takayama 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your K's House Takayama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing