We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family-friendly, not just for backpackers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of K's House Takayama

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
K's House Takayama
Certificate of Excellence
KL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Family-friendly, not just for backpackers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Excellent! Totally changed the way we look at hostel stays. Exceptionally clean & comfortable with very friendly staff who went out of their way to provide advice on our travel plans (even helped us save a bit of money). We honestly did not expect a hostel stay to be so cosy. My very skeptical mother would definitely approve of this - yup, I would even recommend this place to families young and old.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MayY15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    95
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
31
108
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We are a family of for 4. Kids 8 and 5. The 4 bed room worked well for us. well located close to the station and attractions. They have good recommendations for dinner (including a discount of a free drink). If in Takayama with kids go and do the craft near the hida village museum.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank FlashSean99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waiwera
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Busy hostel with efficient, helpful staff and very nice facilities. 5 mins from JR station and 10mins walk to 'old part' of town. Quite a touristy town with many cameras visible.
Tiny double room with no room down one side of bed and miniature space for bags. V compact bathroom but very clean & tidy and good value

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kutchan-cho, Japan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I stayed by myself in a single room for a week here. I chose it because it was a 5min walk to the train station. The room was small, but so clean! I actually felt really cosy. The staff were sooooo friendly! They would always converse with me when I got back after my daily adventures and during dinnertime as well.

The common areas of the hostel are immaculately clean and very inviting. The "waiting room" has a hearth and computers to use. The dining area has normal tables and chairs as well as a tatami area. The kitchen is big and spacious, really easy to share with other travellers.

I met many wonderful people at this hostel! I highly recommend K's House Takayama. The staff definitely make you feel welcomed! It is a lovely and warm place to come back to and just relax =)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Previous experience with K's house in Kyoto was supreme, so I was hoping not to be disappointed by the on in Takayama. Ok, let us be realistic: Kyoto is a far more popular place for common tourists and therefore the Hostel is larger than it's little brother here in Takayama. But that doesn't take away the service K's house and the social environment a hostel has in general. People visiting K's house are really interesting and fun to talk to. So every day/night was enjoyable.

Let us get serious: The dormitory room I booked was for four 4 people. A little cramped if every person has a huge suit case. Luckily mine was small but the room is really too small for 4 people in my opinion. Additionally, unlike it's bigger brother in Kyoto, this one had no big size locker. The lockers were small square shaped good enough to hold small things (it did hold my laptop). In Kyoto, you could fit your huge suitcase under the beds. Oh well, as said before, Takayama is not a huge place and thus the hostel is scaled accordingly. This was my only slight concern for lodging.

Location is unlike Kyoto more closer to the JR. 5-6 minute walk from the station. Everything else like Kombini are in walking distance. No need for busses or bikes to be honest. Explore on foot the shopping area and restaurants, you'll see more.

The lobby staff was friendly (Thank you all) and knows English. So don't be afraid to communicate. The lounge room is small but enjoyable. Computers available for free (Plus point! as Kyoto you had to pay to use internet!). The kitchen and eating room are well and clean. I didn't make use of them but you can cook your own meals without a problem.

Finally Takayama is a lovely town to explore. I took a bike from K's house to check around. They were a bit small for a relative tall person like me (haha) but have 6 gears so decent enough to climb hills.

Room Tip: Dormitory is in my opinion a bit cramped for people counting 4. Keep in mind when coming with large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helepolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

We booked a double room but the friendly staff upgraded us in a deluxe double room. Every room has an ensuite, confortable, not tiny. The room was Japanese style with western bed. There was, soap, hair dryer, tv and air con. WiFi on every floor. There is a lift in the building. It all looks very nice and recent, and overall it's very clean.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed here for one night on 15th April. The last day of the cherry blossom festival. It was very busy. Probably a bit too busy. I stayed in the cheapest room and it was quite cramped. Close to Takayama Station. Staff spoke English well. Enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nakooma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Takayama hotels
Takayama Station
Spa Hotel Alpina Hidatakayama
Country Hotel Takayama
#17 of 173 in Takayama
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Takayama Station
Takayama Ouan
Takayama Ouan
#9 of 173 in Takayama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Hotel Takayama
#16 of 173 in Takayama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Takayama Station
Hida Hotel Plaza
Hida Hotel Plaza
#12 of 173 in Takayama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K's House Takayama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K's House Takayama

Property: K's House Takayama
Address: 4-45-1 Tenman-machi, Takayama 506-0025, Gifu Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Speciality lodging in Takayama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — K's House Takayama 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your K's House Takayama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing