We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At Home in Takayama”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of K's House Takayama

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
K's House Takayama
Certificate of Excellence
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
855 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 503 helpful votes
“At Home in Takayama”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

I booked three nights here. I had a private room which was quite cozy with an ensuite bath - spotless. The flat screen TV was a bonus and wifi worked great in my room on the 6th floor. The location is excellent - a two minute walk from the bus/train station and under 10 minutes from the 'old town' and shopping area. There are many little restaurants serving specialties such as Hida beef and ramen - all within minutes of the hostel. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, professional and friendly especially Tomo who answered any questions I had and was always willing to chat. After just three days I felt like this had been my home for years. I was truly sad to leave.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank backpacker31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    99
    20
    4
    2
See reviews for
34
112
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seremban, Malaysia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

We would certainly want to try other K's House! The location is great; a short walk to Takayama "old street" & great Hida beef restaurants around. Suitable for families with teenage children, mostly bunk beds. Can even cook your own meals in their simple yet well-equipped kitchen.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank elynn9929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Loved this hostel! The staff are very friendly and helpful and speaks good English. The lobby and lounge area is very cosy and makes you feel right at home. I got the private ensuite room and it's super clean and well maintained. Located close to the train station and a good spot to explore the old town of Takayama. Highly recommend!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JoyPeace08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
128 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

KS House is amazing. We got the private room with ensuite. Cozy but good. Friendly staff and great town worth two or three days to explore area. Check when they have hostel dinners which was wonderful. We paid eighty two per night.

Room Tip: Ensuite or cheap is the question
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank Shavian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

My girlfriend and I tried the K'S house in Takayama because a friend recommanded it.
It was really good !

We were in a double room, quite small but, it's everywhere like this in Japan, with TV and a good bed. The bathroom and the toilets were inside the room, which is a good point for us.

The hostel is really quiet and pretty, well decorated. You will feel really peaceful in the middle of the moutain !

The staff is really nice and helpful, always smiling and giving good advices !

+ you can make your own crushed ice with syrup in the (beautiful and clean) kitchen.

I would like to come back during winter time, I'm sure it's better !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank handeyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Excellent! Totally changed the way we look at hostel stays. Exceptionally clean & comfortable with very friendly staff who went out of their way to provide advice on our travel plans (even helped us save a bit of money). We honestly did not expect a hostel stay to be so cosy. My very skeptical mother would definitely approve of this - yup, I would even recommend this place to families young and old.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MayY15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We are a family of for 4. Kids 8 and 5. The 4 bed room worked well for us. well located close to the station and attractions. They have good recommendations for dinner (including a discount of a free drink). If in Takayama with kids go and do the craft near the hida village museum.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank FlashSean99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Takayama hotels
Takayama Station
Spa Hotel Alpina Hidatakayama
Takayama Station
Takayama Ouan
Takayama Ouan
#10 of 173 in Takayama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Country Hotel Takayama
#18 of 173 in Takayama
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Hotel Takayama
#15 of 173 in Takayama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Takayama Station
Hida Hotel Plaza
Hida Hotel Plaza
#12 of 173 in Takayama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K's House Takayama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K's House Takayama

Property: K's House Takayama
Address: 4-45-1 Tenman-machi, Takayama 506-0025, Gifu Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Speciality lodging in Takayama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — K's House Takayama 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your K's House Takayama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing