We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dormy Inn Kanazawa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oka Hotel(Kanazawa)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Kanazawa(Kanazawa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (839)
Filter reviews
839 results
Traveller rating
289
425
113
11
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
289
425
113
11
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsramentop floorfree noodlethe busjr stationfree washinglate night noodlesshopping mallnon smokingpublic bathtwo twin bedsbusiness hoteljapanese choicesgreat onsennice breakfastdepartment storeminute walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 839 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed at the Dormy for 4 nights recently and quite enjoyed it. Loved the easy access from the rail station (a short walk) and the equally easy access to all the sites (from the bus station just down the street).
We thought the breakfast was very good. Tons of choice and really clean and efficent. One morning the executive chef himself seemed to be out greeting people and generally helping out. It gave a good feel to the place.
REmember that when its raining (and it seems to rain a lot in Kanazawa) you can go out the front door, cross the street to the Forus department store, and follow it all the way downt to the rail station. You will only get a few drops on you.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marathonwinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Stayed two nights here 16 - 17 Nov after travelling from Hikone by train..
Dormy Inn is about a 5 minute walk from the main entrance of Kanezawa station. Our reservation was made through Rakuten. Cost was 10,000 Yen per night and Viking style breakfast was 1100 yen.
We had a large room 23 - 25 square metres. Room very good and beds (how I like them) were firm and comfortable.
Must mention the German Bakery at Kanezawa Station. Had lunch there after leaving our bags at the hotel. Great selection and too easy for the eyes to be bigger than one's stomach.
Cheers.

Room Tip: It's worth paying a little extra for larger rooms.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StanleyAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

SYed there only for a night for stop over in Kanazawa. The location is perfect as it is only mins walk from the railway station. We arrived during the snowy season, so it was perfect as we can go through the railway station and forums mall the hotel is only across the street.

Room is compact but adequate,with all the amenities expected. There is a spa on the 14th floor of the hotel. I had a soak early in the morning and it was amazing. They have separate male and female baths, and each have their indoor and outdoor baths.it was great soaking in hot spring water while watching snow falling on your head. Each month they feature special fruit bath. This morning they feature red apples. The air is permeated with apples scent.

Breakfast spread is great with western and Japanese spread. The food quality is great and the chef even has special egg creations. I had a crab meat omelet which was great.

The 14th floor has a rest area and is filled with Japanese comic books and vending machines selling various drinks.

The front desk staff were helpful. I especially was impressed with 渡邊泰子, her English was not very fluent, but she is willing to help.

I would recommend the Dormy Inn Kanazawa to anyone visiting Kanazawa

Room Tip: Japanese couples usually sleep in twin rooms on separate beds, ask for a double room if you prefer one bed.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CSom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

STANDARD DOUBLE ROOM Room Size 10 to 15 sqm(dn)
(WITH SHOWER AND TOILET/NON SMOKING)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2Person=7400JPY
We made the reservation through Rakuten and we pre-paid through them, so we did not pay at the hotel.
This hotel chain seems to be everything we want in a business hotel. Therefore, its hotels seems to fill quickly in places like Tokyo and Kyoto, so if you want to use them there, you’ll need to book very early. In Kanazawa, however, we had no problem changing our reservations for a day earlier last-minute when we realized we didn’t want to spend two nights in the Shirakawago area.
The main tourist destinations are a 15~20 minute walk.
Their breakfast is a good deal with both Japanese and Western entrees They also do have wonderful European bakeries in town including at the train station across the street.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camelSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Really nice hotel despite some crappy guests. Great staff!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnTelmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews