We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Naked above Kanazawa”
Review of Dormy Inn Kanazawa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dormy Inn Kanazawa
Ranked #8 of 100 Hotels / Ryokan in Kanazawa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Naked above Kanazawa”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The title seems a little missleading, but I'll come to that.

First about the location. The hotel is located near the Kanazawa Main Station. From there Katamachi (Downtown) is about 600yen by cab (10 minutes)

The most amazing part is the the roof. The hotel has an wonderful sento (japanese bath) on the roof. The view from the roof (while you take your bath naked) is amazing. Especially at night when the station is illuminated the view is breathtaking.

The fees for the rooms are very reasonable and the breakfast is delicious.
Can't wait stand on the roof again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    375
    98
    11
    1
See reviews for
136
201
146
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Well placed and with nice service, just near the shopping malls, breakfast was very good and the car park very convinient.
Perhaps it was better in a more quiet setting, but you get what you paid for.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jppataki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

A great hotel with very friendly services. Parking is very good, just drove the car into the self parking space, and that's all you need to do. I would recommend you to take the bigger room, which is only 30% more expensive, but the total cost is still much cheaper compared to other hotel. Lots of restaurants around the hotel, and the dining cost is relatively cheaper than those in Osaka.
They also provided free noodle in the evening, good value.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taste-on-the-lips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed in the Dormy Inn in Kanazawa for a week when my husband had a work related conference in Kanazawa. The room was small but comfortable. It is not a luxury hotel but the service at the desk and thoughout the week in very good. The breakfast was a mix of Japanese and Western breakfasts, which gave us choices to try Japanese breakfasts, but still have our Western comfort food. Though we do not speak Japanese, we felt welcomed. It is a very short walk from the trains and local buses. Also there is access to restaurants and and shopping in the area.
One of the treats of the hotel is the baths on the 14th floor. There is a separate men's and women's bath. I went to the women's bath with the code to get into the bath. I couldn't read the directions in Japanese. A kind woman helped me and guided me in what to do in the bath though never of us spoke the same language. By following her showing me what to do, I felt good enough to go again on my own the next day. My only regret was that I didn't start of the first day of our visit!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ArgosWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Madre, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The room was quite comfortable and decent sized, by Japanese standards. The breakfast buffet was excellent, definitely worth the price. One of the best features is the location, which is about a block from the train station. (don't make the mistake of trusting your gps and getting a taxi to the hotel like we did...how embarrassing!) The staff speaks limited English, but is very eager to accommodate.
At the train station one can catch a loop bus which is 500yen for a day pass which allows you to get on and off without limit. The bus stops at or near every tourist attraction and shopping area we were interested in and announcements were made in English as well as Japanese.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kenneth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Great location, a couple of minutes from the Train Station which was important for me as I arrived just after midnight. Reception, as advertised, was open when I arrived. The room was very clean, yes it was a bit small but I didnt need anything bigger. Great to have a desk and a free wired internet connection. The onsen (spa) on the top floor was great. The restaurant only does buffet breakfast - which was a good start to the day. There is a bus, from the station which goes near all the main tourist places - its very convenient.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Mahu11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
293 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

A little away from key spots is the main drawback. Spacious and quietish with a good onsen. We got a good price booking from the UK. No meals as such, but "free" late ramen for guests - a nice touch. Handy for station.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zchug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanazawa hotels
Kanazawa Station
Hotel Nikko Kanazawa
Hotel Nikko Kanazawa
#2 of 100 in Kanazawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kanazawa Saino Niwa Hotel
#1 of 100 in Kanazawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Kanazawa Station
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kanazawa
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kanazawa
#15 of 100 in Kanazawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Kanazawa Station
Hotel Resol Trinity Kanazawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dormy Inn Kanazawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy Inn Kanazawa

Property: Dormy Inn Kanazawa
Address: 2-25 Horikawa Shinmachi, Kanazawa 920-0849, Ishikawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Ishikawa Prefecture > Kanazawa > Kanazawa Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kanazawa
#5 Business Hotel in Kanazawa
#6 Family Hotel in Kanazawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dormy Inn Kanazawa 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first designer hotel in dormy inn. The hot spring in the top floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Rakuten, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Dormy Inn Kanazawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy Inn Kanazawa Hotel Kanazawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing