We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel in Japan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Route Inn Kanazawa Ekimae
Ranked #24 of 108 Hotels / Ryokan in Kanazawa
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Booked the hotel two weeks in advance, when we got there they had no booking request, it was booked over the phone.
They treated us with distain, they made us wait and let people behind us go to their rooms, when we asked about parking they told us we will have to wait to park the car.
The staff were very rude at all time during our wait at the front desk, they made us feel like it was our fault that there was no booking.
We finally got to our room, I sat on the bed and looked at the bed spread, I thought it was the lighting reflecting of the bedspread but on closer inspection notice a big blood stain, so I told the kids and wife to get off the bed and then we could see sweat marks all over the bed spread.
We called the staff to come and look, after 20 minutes a man came from the front desk, he looked at the marks and said they were old stains that can't be removed, wow I couldn't believe this guy, he said that this was the only bedspread for this size mattress, so after arguing with him for 15 minutes he finally agreed to change it for a brand new one they had in stock,,,amazing.
He came back after 15 minutes and changed it, but changed it in a very messy style, he didn't make the bed, he just threw it over the bed and said is that OK.
So we just agreed.
We tried to complain to their head office but there is no contact information.
Would have been nice just to get an apology, instead of having to argue to get a clean bed spread.
Shame on this hotels service.

Room Tip: South rooms are better, no train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank steve d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 15 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

Hotel was easy walk from the JR Station. Booking details said no check in before 1500hrs, we arrived 1515 and room was not ready till 1530hrs. Room was clean and small but quite adequate. First morning we got down to breakfast just before 0800hrs too find the buffet looking like it had been hit by locusts, very limited choice left flasks of tea and coffee empty - not a good start to the day. Next morning 0730hrs we were at breakfast different story and was a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phlipfolop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Booked this hotel on the strength of the previous reviews. Had to check several times to ensure the reviews I was reading related to the same hotel I stayed at. I was shocked and horrified by the public spaces beyond reception area ( disgusting carpet which was badly torn in places and covered in stains) The room we stayed in was equally unappealing and did not meet the minimum standard of cleanliness.The usually high tech Japanese toilet was encrusted with filth around the controls and did not make you want to touch them at any cost. The air con in all fairness worked really well if not noisy and the bed linen was clean. When we arrived there were 2 origami swans on the bed which made me laugh considering the effort required in there construction may have been better spent cleaning the room.

Room Tip: Do not stay in one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heather c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

And the twin room was comfortable too. A short 4 block walk to the train station once you get oriented. From the station, take the loop shopping bus for 100¥ and it passes by the Kerokuen garden and the 21st century museum.
The hotel staff were warm, welcoming, helpful, and cherry. Breakfast was more than we could eat and lots of choices, both western & Japanese.
Our room faced west and did not feel cramped at all.

Room Tip: The hot pool on the top floor has great views; water is hot 42*...wonderful place to unwind after a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelencTorontO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sachiko M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: 朝食は早めに行ったほうが良い!
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank acchi36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank qqe42n6d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanazawa hotels
Kanazawa Station
Kanazawa Manten Hotel Ekimae
Kanazawa Manten Hotel Ekimae
#13 of 108 in Kanazawa
508 reviews
Kanazawa Station
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kanazawa
Kanazawa Station
Via Inn Kanazawa
Via Inn Kanazawa
#15 of 108 in Kanazawa
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kanazawa Station
Dormy Inn Kanazawa
Dormy Inn Kanazawa
#9 of 108 in Kanazawa
823 reviews
Kanazawa Station
Garden Hotel Kanazawa
Garden Hotel Kanazawa
#42 of 108 in Kanazawa
156 reviews
APA Hotel Kanazawa Chuo
#36 of 108 in Kanazawa
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Route Inn Kanazawa Ekimae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Route Inn Kanazawa Ekimae

Address: 22-5 Showamachi, Kanazawa 920-0856, Ishikawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Ishikawa Prefecture > Kanazawa > Kanazawa Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 108 Hotels / Ryokan in Kanazawa
Price Range: £50 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Route Inn Kanazawa Ekimae 3*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Agoda, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Rakuten, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Route Inn Kanazawa Ekimae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing