We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BREAKFAST INCLUDED PLUS LIGHT SUPPER”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Toyoko Inn Kanazawaeki Higashiguchi
Ranked #31 of 102 Hotels / Ryokan in Kanazawa
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We recently stayed for 5 nights at this hotel in Kanazawa.
It is located about 4 minutes walk from the main railway station.
Check in and out was prompt and efficient and, like all Toyoko Inns, cleanliness of the highest standard.
Our twin share room was compact, as most are in Japan, but very well designed with an efficient use of space. The bathroom module was standard size.
The beds were of generous size, with firm mattresses, which were a delight for those who do not like soft mattresses.
As with all Toyoko Inns breakfast was included and, as per normal, was Japanese style, ie Miso, Rice, Vegetables, cakes and sundry other pickles etc. Tea, coffee etc is also available.
Here, at this hotel, a light supper was also included which was a bowl of curry and rice which was absolutely delicious and was a first for us at this type of establishment. Top marks!
A number of Japanese restaurants are in the near vicinity, but would probably not appeal to the less seasoned traveller however, literally dozens of cafes and restaurants are available in the station and surrounding department stores/buildings. There is also a cafe/restaurant called GUSTO immediately next door which is a McDonalds type establishment with more dishes to choose from.
Like all these hotels, free WIFI plus computer and printer access or the option to hire a laptop are available.
The coin laundry is clean and works well. Ironing or pressing facilities are also available.
Kanazawa is a lovely place to visit and this hotel is a nice place to rest the weary body at a very affordable price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank austranomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 20 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2012 via mobile

About 8 minutes from the JR station. Not many restaurants around hotel. Quiet surrounding. Cosy atmosphere. Very good price. Provide free breakfast and dinner. Free tea and coffee throughout the day. Very clean. Provide free wifi. Laundry is available.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piaHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

This Toyoko Inn is closer to the Kanazawa Station than the one at Kenrokuen Korinbo. With the one at Kenrokuen Korinbo, you need to transfer to a bus and I know we’d have a hard time with boarding/alighting from a bus with the amount of luggage we have. Being within walking distance from the train station I arrive at was VERY important to me as I had four kids and five trolleys (only my youngest child GG was spared from pulling a trolley bag), and each of us also had a backpack.

Anyway, these two Toyoko Inns in Kanazawa had no difference in rate but walking distance from the train station was the clincher for me. We are a family of great walkers (we can walk leisurely and sight-see at the same time for hours, from the time we leave the hotel till the time we return to the hotel after dinner), and after dumping our luggage at Toyoko Inn Kanazawa-eki Higashi-guchi, we were able to walk everywhere – to the Kanazawa castle, Kenrokuen, etc. That saves a lot on bus/tram fares as these fares aren’t cheap in Japan. But such long walks may not be for everyone. I like the fact that it walks off the big breakfast we load up at the Toyoko Inn breakfasts we have every morning.

Higashi means East, so take the East exit when you arrive at Kanazawa Station.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hissyfit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

This is our 2nd Toyoko Inn stay, after Kyoto. If you stay in too many Toyoko Inns, you cannot remember much because they are all the same.

The location of this inn is walking distance to the JR train station. Upon exiting EAST, look for ANA Crowne Plaza on the RIGHT. Walk around the the hotel and follow the instructions from the hotel website, and you will find this hotel easily.
Right next to the hotel is a family cafe. It serves reasonably priced meals.

The hotel is walking distance (10mins) to Omi-cho Market. If you have a JR bus, forget about buying the Kanazawa Loop Bus ticket. You can hop on the JR bus from Bus Bay #4 from the JR station. On the 2nd stop, it is Omi-cho Market. You can even visit the Higashi Chaya District (preserved historic houses) on the JR bus.

As for the Kenronkeun Garden, just use the Kenrokeun Shuttle which costs JPY100 on a Sunday. It gets you to Kanazawa Castle Park and the 21st Century Museum of Contemporary Art.

Some reviews thinks the Korinbo's location is better. But if you are like us, ie. spending just a day in Kanazawa with luggage,,,,this hotel is more convenient!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MouMou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2010

The Toyoko Inn chain is clean, simple, unpretentious and very much as expected from a low budget business hotel.

Room was clean, bed was hard as hell but comfy enough if you slept on top of the covers. Humidifier in the room made the dry air acceptable again.

This hotel is aimed firmly at the Japanese market and fits the niche well. It accepts but does not cater specially for non Japanese guests.

The staff are service oriented, but this is expected and thus unexceptional

The complimentary breakfast is 100% Japanese, and plentiful. The complimentary light evenug meal was disgusting by any standards. Never have curry in Japan! A treat to be avoided!

If visiting Kanazawa for the cultural sights this is the wrong Toyoko Inn! You need to stay at the other one! We had no choice. We stayed in Golden Week.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gtbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2008

Spent two nights here in October. It was only a 5 minute easy walk from the station (just turn right out of the station and you will run into it). There are several Toyoko Inn's in Kanazawa so do be sure you know which one you are going to.

It is not particularly close to the attractions but all the buses leave from the station so we did not find that a problem. On returning to the station, several of the bus lines went straight pass the hotel so we were just able to jump off.

This is a Japanese business hotel and, as such, you have to expect small rooms. However, the room was spotless, very modern and the furnishings of a good quality. The bathroom was equally small but also pristine. They have gone to quite some attention to ensure that it looks reasonably light and airy despite the small size of the room. They are plenty of toiletries on available, even a face mask!

There is also a free Japanese breakfast downstairs in the morning, English reading newspapers, free internet and coin washing machines/dryers.

Although it does not have "atmosphere", I would have to put this place down as one of the best value for money places we stayed at for our nearly four weeks in Japan. The place was full of Japanese businessmen, and seeing what they would typically expect to stay at is also a valid experience in itself.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank shandy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank M_KOSUGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanazawa hotels
Kanazawa Station
Hotel Route Inn Kanazawa Ekimae
Kanazawa Station
Via Inn Kanazawa
Via Inn Kanazawa
#14 of 102 in Kanazawa
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kanazawa Station
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kanazawa
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kanazawa
#13 of 102 in Kanazawa
386 reviews
Kanazawa Station
Garden Hotel Kanazawa
Garden Hotel Kanazawa
#37 of 102 in Kanazawa
151 reviews
Kanazawa Station
HOTEL MYSTAYS Kanazawa Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toyoko Inn Kanazawaeki Higashiguchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toyoko Inn Kanazawaeki Higashiguchi

Address: 13-23 Showamachi, Kanazawa 920-0856, Ishikawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Ishikawa Prefecture > Kanazawa > Kanazawa Station
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Kanazawa
Price Range: £42 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Toyoko Inn Kanazawaeki Higashiguchi 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Rakuten and Evoline ltd so you can book your Toyoko Inn Kanazawaeki Higashiguchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toyoko Inn Kanazawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing