We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bit tricky to find but very interesting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Myoryuji - Ninja Temple

Myoryuji - Ninja Temple
Book In Advance
More Info
US$688.67*
and up
Private Kanazawa Custom Day Tour by Chartered Vehicle
Ranked #2 of 197 things to do in Kanazawa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Aberdeen, UK
Level Contributor
244 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Bit tricky to find but very interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

You need to reserve but easy to do. Our ryokan phoned up in the morning and we were able to book any time that suited us. Its away from the main town area but we cycled the 2km from our ryokan with ease. It was a bit tricky to find in the temple district as there were many tempes and not much English signage but friendly locals pointed us in the right direction. Tour was in Japanese but they have a book in English that explains all of the things as you go along. Very interesting.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jo_Aberdeen_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    409
    315
    79
    24
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
875 reviews
668 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 831 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Something different to do ... be taken on a guided tour of a Shoguns house that is filled with secret doors, passageways and hidden floors - all built to confound and beat the enemy. We turned up without a reservation but easily got on a tour which seemed to leave roughly every half hour. That tour is all in Japanese but we were provided with a more than adequate English pamphlet, and a fuller explanation in a book with accompanying pictures. Even though our guide only spoke Japanese she did take the time to point out the most important areas as we went round so it was easy to follow and easy to get involved. Not really ninja (this maybe a play on words to get you in) but hey we had good fun. Note: They are hysterical as to where you park. Important to them that you put your car round the corner in an adjacent temple - maybe mates mates car parking?

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank elsiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
468 reviews
206 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“The best gem to be found in Kanazawa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

It is a little harder to find, but this is the best hidden site in all of Kanazawa. It is only in Japanese and you usually need a reservation, but sometimes if you are nice, they will let you in and give you an English pamphlet to read. Worth the 800 yen.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MrPKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cannot be a Ninja Temple - We were able to find it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Must do in Kanazawa - but you must book in advance and be prepared for a Japanese language only experience - but the English language brochure (that you hand back at the end of your visit) does explain the amazing defensive measures built into the design of the building. No photography there and the gift shop is limited - does not include photographs to buy so you must commit it all to memory! Happily it is pretty unforgettable.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MeicSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Didnt get past the front door”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

If you have kids triple check what age they have to be to get in. We have an official brochure from the Kanazawa Tourist assn stating the ages allowed, it was booked by our hotel who told them our kids ages but when we arrived they said no to our youngest. Needless to say what a waste of time and effort. They need to get the facts straight.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank ET59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Myoryuji - Ninja Temple also viewed

Kanazawa, Ishikawa Prefecture
Kanazawa, Ishikawa Prefecture
 
Kanazawa, Ishikawa Prefecture
Kanazawa, Ishikawa Prefecture
 

Been to Myoryuji - Ninja Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing