We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best guetsthouse I have stayed so far”
Review of Guest House Pongyi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Guest House Pongyi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

this guesthouse is located close to the JR station Kanazawa which is very convenient. it is rather small so it is very easy to make new friends. It is an old house which used to be a kimono shop. \therefore the ceilings are a bit low. but the traditional japanese house is great.
the japanese bedding is very comfortable and the guesthouse is very clean. the staff offers also everyday a new activity which is nice.
fridge, kitchen, shared showers and toilets are available. also a common room, a free computer and free wireless.
the staff is the best thing at this guesthouse. Maru-san, masaki-san and yuu-san are the nicest people I have met so far. \they will help you out with everything they can do. thank you so much for making this a great trip.

Room Tip: I have stayed in a dormitory room, but only 4 beds. It was very comfortable. I think they also have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanela2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 500 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

My friend and I went to Kanazawa for Kenrokuen and Shikawara-Go, so we decided to stayed at Pongyi because of many positive reviews we'd read before...the place made us feel cozy and comfort, beyond that is the hospitality of the staff 'Maru & Yuu'. When they knew we'd plan to go to shirakawa-go, they offered to book the bus for us which was so convenient for us :)

If I'll go to Kanazawa, again i surely choose Pongyi

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank buabangbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The location is an old kimono merchant's place and the mixed dorm was in an old kimono storage room, which is pretty awesome. There's a little patio overlooking a canal where you can sit and read. The proprietoress, Maru, may be one of the nicest people I've ever met in Kanazawa. But, best of all, I was there one night and it managed to feel...homey. Definitely coming back. That said, the size does make it more cramped and literally like-a-home than any other hostel.

Room Tip: The Japanese room is on the second floor. Er...really all I saw looked good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Vinay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I have booked Pongyi on few weeks before my departure to Japan as I checked it close to the Kanazawa bus and JR station.. When I arrived in Kanazawa, its not hard to find Pongyi.., I never expect that kind of hospitality because I thought it just like other hostel that I hv been to western countries. Maru~san and Yu~san very nice, eventhough I just stayed for 2 nites, i felt like I knew them for so long (^-')/.. they helped me this and that, and I never felt alone..I learnt to write in Japanese kanji word and made an origami together with other friends in Pongyi. I like the interior part in Pongyi, even the place not too huge but its really nice decor.. Arigatou to both of them and thanks for understand eventhough my japanese very bad haha.. Hope to see u guys again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank XanMiyoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I've been in many places around Japan now, and Kanazawa has been my best experience at least about accomodation thanks to Maru and Yuu's extraordinary kindness ! Despite the very few days I've stayed there, I've find help when I needed, very useful advice, wonderful joy, great peace and amazing smile there ! I wish I could stay longer...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TAnth000ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed in Kanazawa for four days, it was our first time staying in a Japanese style room. It was not only amazingly comfortable but in a great location and had the best activities and staff. Maru and Yu made us feel at home and we got to try calligraphy, origami, and a tea ceremony. It`s also a really great place to meet other travelers. Would highly recommend to anyone in the area!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sushi-surfergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

our first trip to japan took myself and my three children from horyuji to kyoto, kanazawa, shiragawago, takayama, narai, fujisan and tokyo. in all the places we stayed (mostly inexpensive hostels) we were provided with simple yet always clean rooms and friendly service. in tough competition pongyi stood out as the friendliest place we stayed. yuu and maru took us in almost as long lost members of the family. instead of numbing our minds with tv we took part in preparing decorations for an upcoming festival. guests before us had started on them and others would continue after us and one day they would float down the creek that's in front of the house.

the house is small in a characterful way and really well situated close to the train station and restaurants. there's a nice neighbourhood onsen a few minutes walk away. we even had a (expensive) parking spot seven (yes, 7!) metres from the front door. mid way through our trip it was wonderful to get to wash our clothes. the one person deck over the creek was great to sit down and watch the life roll by on the street.

thank you maru and yuu - we rested well and would love to return one day!

Room Tip: come with a group of four and grab the whole bunk room for yourselves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pasi68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanazawa hotels
Kanazawa Station
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kanazawa
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kanazawa
#13 of 105 in Kanazawa
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blue Hour Kanazawa
#4 of 35 in Kanazawa
19 reviews
Good Neighbors Hostel
#9 of 35 in Kanazawa
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest House Pongyi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House Pongyi

Address: 2-22 Rokumaimachi, Kanazawa 920-0868, Ishikawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Ishikawa Prefecture > Kanazawa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Speciality lodging in Kanazawa
Price Range: £21 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Typical Japanese Style Guest House. Only 5 min. from Kanazawa Station on foot, and located by the beautiful Kuratsuki canal one of the main tourist trail. Pongyi is a hostel aimed for short-stay budget travelers and backpackers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Rakuten so you can book your Guest House Pongyi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing