We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service.”
Review of Daiba

Daiba
Ranked #552 of 3,081 Restaurants in Kanazawa
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food and service.”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We ate here as it was not far from our hotel the Ana Crown Plaza. It might be difficult to find though as it doesn't have an English sign. Directions from the train station east entrance - turn left, walk passed all the bus stop until you get to the zebra crossing the main road outside the station, cross over the road and the restaurant is just there on your left.

There is an English menu, although it doesn't have everything on it, there is plenty to choose from. It is a Izakaya style restaurant, where you order a couple of dishes, eat them then order more if you are still hungry. Everything we ordered was delicious and the staff although they didn't have any English were welcoming and friendly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank F S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    35
    7
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kanazawa, Japan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Tasting Menu”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Full disclosure: I live in Kanazawa, a city loaded with excellent restaurants, but even so, I've returned to Daiba many times. As previous reviewers have noted, they do have an English menu, and while it only represents about 40% of their total offerings, it's a fair sampling of local specialties. Rather than ordering individual dishes, this is "izakaya" style, similar to a tapas bar. Order many things and share. Ask the waitstaff for suggestions. "Osusume wa?" Be brave! Their sashimi is always fresh, and goes well with the grilled lotus root and grilled fu (flavored gluten), or a wide variety of bits of meat on sticks (yakitori). There is a fair bit of seasonality to the menu, too, another reason to ask what's in that day. In fall and winter, try the nankotsu, deep-fried and spicy chicken cartilage. (I promise--it's delicious.) Save room for dessert! The matcha (green tea) brulee, goma (black sesame) gelato, and several others are all perfect. Finally, they have an extensive sake menu (I recommend Akira, a locally-produced organic sake), as well as several draft beers and a full cocktail menu. Enjoy!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
161 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Delightful atmosphere, good food and good prices”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Definitely use Alex's matchbox photo to find the restaurant as there is another restaurant kitty corner across street and you may get confused. Once inside if no one is at front desk, push the service button. We sat in back at tatami room tables, but there are also western style tables for those who have trouble getting up and down off the floor. They have a good english menu but if you see something go by that you're interested in just point and ask. The food was great, my husband is a meatball afficionado and ordered 3, he loved them and then the tempura I had the local duck and grilled rice balls. The portions are tapas size and the order you receive them in made no sense to us so just order gradually until you are full. Our bill with four beers was $55 USD (5480 yen)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank voyager52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent quality place”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We were looking for a good place for early dinner not far from our hotel (near the RR station. Daiba was the one.
Just a few pointers:
- It doesn't have a sign in English, so you have to look for the Japanese sign matching that on the match box in my photo.
- The dishes are of tapas size, so be sure you order enough (you can always ask for more later, though).

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AlexB38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great vibe, good food”
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We liked this restaurant so much we went twice - chic modern Japanese decor, full of trendy young Japanese plus a few Japanese business groups, and all the food we tried was very good. The English menu is clearly more limited than the Japanese one - but there's still plenty of choice. You can choose to sit at the counter, at tables or tatami. Lots of screens make for relatively private dining - although depending where you sit you can still enjoy watching all the action.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AnthSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Daiba also viewed

Kanazawa, Ishikawa Prefecture
Kanazawa, Ishikawa Prefecture
 
Kanazawa, Ishikawa Prefecture
Kanazawa, Ishikawa Prefecture
 

Been to Daiba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing