We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kanazawa Tokyu Hotel
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels / Ryokan in Kanazawa
Certificate of Excellence
South Devon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The hotel is very conveniently located within walking distance of Kenrokuen gardens and Kanazawa castle, as well as other attractions and restaurants. The rooms are large and comfortable by Japanese standards. This was our second stay at this hotel and we wouldn't hesitate to book again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Putty_Riffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    253
    53
    14
    7
See reviews for
118
144
51
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA, USA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

While the hotel is not within walking distance of the Kanazawa JR station, it's close to Kenrokuen Garden, Kanazawa Castle, downtown shopping and restaurants, and other tourist attractions. The best way to get to the hotel from JR is to take a 5-10 minute taxi ride.

Most of the staff spoke great English and were helpful in providing information and even making arrangements in Japanese at local attractions. The lobby and bar area looked nice, but the rooms themselves were a bit outdated and worn. However, the price was reasonable and the location perfect for the places we wanted to check out during our stay in Kanazawa--just don't expect anything special in the rooms.

Tip for exploring Kenrokuen and Kanazawa Castle: look for the Kanazawa Goodwill Guides near the Ishikawa-mon gate at the entrance of the castle; they'll be happy to show you around in English and other languages free of charge!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielAndRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012 via mobile

This hotel was located in what seemed like an alley. The hotel was nice. Rooms were fine. Very close to shopping and transportation. Trains, taxis, etc... My company booked this stay but since I do not visit this location much if any, I would return here just based on it now being familiar.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wymangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

after this trip i have decided - a hotel which is a part of large, central mall, is great thing.
for start it feels clean (ok malls in japan are very well maintained with lots of luxury touches), nice entry, secure, large parking space available, and the most important... its central.
i love the location of this hotel. to be honest i took the hotel cause i wanted to be in the center but no other hotel was available. I was bit nervous at start cause the pics on the site weren't exactly tempting. but trust me, you gone love this one. last, the price. i paid around $130 per night. in japan terms its not much, and the value is immence.
on the negative side, theres not much personal attention, its too big and if it wasnt for the reception you wouldnt notice you are in a hotel. but we didnt care. another dissapointing part was the shower that like many japan hotels, made of plastic. yes its clean and usable, but i miss the european touch of stone and marbe (ok ok...:-))

Room Tip: our was great and it was on 11th floor. so say you are on honeymoon and aim high :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahirschb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed here after a fantastic hotel in Kyoto for the same price and were a little disappointed. As others have said a great location but really looking rather tired and dated. Wooden furniture worn and chipped, cracked tiles in the bathroom. Rooms were a good size, as were the beds and very clean. Air conditioning struggled a bit in the August heat. Walking distance to most attractions and restaurants- though we never managed to get a taxi to the station for less that Y1100 because of the traffic. Buses from outside the hotel were plentiful. Helpful staff as usual in Japan.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank headgirl_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Pros: Really nice location - 20 minute walk to Castle Garden and Kenrokuen park, right next to bustling (at least on weekends) Katamachi Street, 5 minute walk to historic samurai houses, shopping mall and grocery store immediately across the street, bus stop in front of bank next door for quick access to train station and other districts. It's about a $15 cab ride from the train station, or 200 yen if you don't have much luggage and take the bus. Free wifi in lobby. Lobby is isn't hug but large enough, relaxing, pretty, clean. Restaurant on third floor has view of summer fireworks on Saturdays - make reservations so you're there before 8pm. Friendly English-speaking staff. We had a nice, if obstructed (by the shopping mall), view of the castle grounds from our window.

Cons: As nice as the lobby is, the rooms are shabby. In fact, it's not just the rooms - the elevators up to them have old ripped carpeting, the floor of the hallways need a much better vacuuming than they get, there's dead (not dried - dead!) flowers in the little alcoves in the area where you wait for the elevators going down to the lobby. In our room, there were small but noticeable chips in pretty much all the furnishings - chairs, table, desk, even the shower and sink. The walls were scuffed and there were some (not many, but some) yellow stains on the ceiling. The windows were dirty and there was a thick layer of dust under the TV when we moved it over a couple inches. The room was very small - there was no way to fit our luggage in the closet so we set it on the desk and end table, making them impossible to use for other things like working on the computer or eating a snack. The bathroom wasn't exactly dirty, but a lot of the tile grout and caulking was discolored, I suppose with mold that bleach could not get out. Don't get me wrong - it didn't stink or anything. But it looked like the bathroom of a 40-year-old apartment in desperate need of renovation.

In sum - This hotel has a four-star lobby, four-star service and four-star prices, but only two-star rooms. Stay at here for the location; spend as little time in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillStickers_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlebury, Vermont
Level Contributor
256 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed here recently for one night on a brief pleasure trip to Kanazawa. This hotel is on a shopping street with high end stores and is less than 1 km from the south entrance to Kenrokuen Gardens. If you are traveling on a JR railpass, you can access the hotel for free via a JR bus that leaves from the train station every 30 minutes or so. Or take the city loop bus or taxi (cost of taxi is about 950 yen). The room was a typical small Japanese hotel room but linens were crisp and furnishings and bathroom were modern and clean. WiFi is available for free in the hotel lobby but not in the rooms (the only downside I can think of). Directly behind the hotel is a old merchants neighborhood and two canals, both scenic. Just east of the hotel are numerous restaurants on main and side streets offering all sorts of dining options. We paid 15,000 yen for a double room.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bikers_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanazawa hotels
Kanazawa Station
Hotel Nikko Kanazawa
Hotel Nikko Kanazawa
#2 of 100 in Kanazawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kanazawa Saino Niwa Hotel
#1 of 100 in Kanazawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Kanazawa Station
Dormy Inn Kanazawa
Dormy Inn Kanazawa
#8 of 100 in Kanazawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanazawa Tokyu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanazawa Tokyu Hotel

Property: Kanazawa Tokyu Hotel
Address: 2-1-1 Korimbo, Kanazawa 920-0961, Ishikawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Ishikawa Prefecture > Kanazawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels / Ryokan in Kanazawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kanazawa Tokyu Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., JAPANiCAN, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kanazawa Tokyu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing