We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely Serene”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kenrokuen Garden

Kenrokuen Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
US$688.07*
and up
Private Kanazawa Custom Day Tour by Chartered Vehicle
Ranked #1 of 207 things to do in Kanazawa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beautiful park contains one of the top three celebrated gardens in Japan. The name Kenrokuen literally translates to “garden combining six”, referring to the six attributes all gardens should have: seclusion, antiquity, spaciousness, human ingenuity, water and scenic views.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
855 reviews
519 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 503 helpful votes
“Completely Serene”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

I have been to a number of gardens in Japan and it is no lie this is in the top three. This is very different from other gardens as Kenrokuen is huge! I loved the gnarled pine trees and the tea houses that seemed to float on the ponds. I spent about two hours here and I easily could have spent more. Just wander and lose yourself in these tranquil and most beautiful surroundings.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank backpacker31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,942
    1,273
    350
    26
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
plymouth, uk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful and impressive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Gorgeous garden - I took so many photos! The irises were in bloom and stunning. The best site in Kanazawa.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank umshamrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
234 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Fabulous Gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

After a long walk around the castle gardens I finally found the entrance to Kenrokeun Gardens. I paid the entry and walked up the path into a tranquil world of stereotypical graceful, well manicured and stunning gardens.

The view from the edge of the gardens was lovely as well.

I spent two hours wandering around - it was very hot or I would have probably spent longer there.

There were places to buy water and food, a traditional tea house and plenty of toilet facilities.

I great place to soak in Japanese culture.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rachellejv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It was closed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

The gates were closed at 12 because a typhoon was coming that evening. The prices at the shops were over priced.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank steve d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takasaki, Japan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Respite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

This garden is one of the top 3 gardens in all of Japan, and it's easy to see why. Once a private garden of the Maeda lords of Kanazawa, this place was once forbidden to the general public. It's a perfect example of the paradoxical delicate sensibility that accompanied the often warlike calculations of the Samurai class. Aside from being fascinating from a historical viewpoint, this garden in a perfect place to cool your heels after a long day of sightseeing.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kenrokuen Garden also viewed

Kanazawa, Ishikawa Prefecture
Kanazawa, Ishikawa Prefecture
 
Kanazawa, Ishikawa Prefecture
 

Been to Kenrokuen Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing