We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kanazawa Miyako Hotel
Ranked #22 of 100 Hotels / Ryokan in Kanazawa
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

The location is awesome. Just right in front of Kanazawa station. Even at a bad weather, there's a underpass that goes to station in front of hotel. Rooms r big n clean as we booked a 3 bedded room. Staff though don't speak much English but very helpful. Convenience stall at a corner.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Missey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    143
    96
    25
    8
See reviews for
72
69
59
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
106 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

We arrived directly from the railways station (great thing!) and, as it was too early, we could not get our rooms. We checked-in and dropped our luggage in the lobby. The courtesy seems to be the main duty of the staff working in the front desk of any japanese hotel. It’s what I like the most and I could appreciate here, too. I don’t care of frills and in my opinion this hotel offers a good quality-price ratio. Perfectly clean, sufficiently spacious the rooms, not great variety of western channels on the TV and no Wi-Fi available. In other words, it keeps all promises. But at the end, let me say, on 4 different hotels I stayed in during my last travel in Japan, here at Miyako I felt a lukewarm, almost anonymous atmosphere, like the snack we took at the “Coffee Salon”, in the anonymous arcade of the ground floor

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OscarItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

The Miyako Hotel is very conveniently located a couple of hundred metres away from the main JR station. It’s certainly a good place to base yourself on a trip to Kanazawa: its closeness to the station means not only easy access for mainline trains but also for the local bus which “loops” the city centre and connects all the city’s major sites (the key ones being the Kenroku-en gardens and the Samurai and Geisha districts)

It’s a pleasant-enough hotel, if perhaps a little nondescript. The decor is a bit dated but it’s very clean and was comfortable enough for us both to have slept well whilst there. The staff were friendly and could cope with a reasonable level of English. We couldn’t find wi-fi anywhere although there is a LAN cable and connection in the room – unfortunately not much use in these days of mobiles and i-Pads.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edwardknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

Ideal location for sightseeing, dining and shopping.

It is located at the Kanazawa station which makes it very convenient when it comes to taking buses to get to any major sightseeing areas. When it rains, I use the underground system to return to my hotel from the station instead of crossing the street outside. Best of all, it is very close to the Tourist Information Center where they have English volunteers to help me plan my trip.

Otherwise, the hotel room and amenities are everything as promised on their website. I booked a twin bedroom and it was spacious enough for me to place 3 mid-size luggages without getting in the way. They make my room, replenish bathroom amenities, and change the sheets everyday. Broadband LAN connection is superb. I could skype and even listen to my back home live radio station without a hiccup. If you don't have a wire cable, they will lend you one for free but not laptop. Laptop rental is 500yen per night. Best to bring your own. They only have one TV channel that occasionally has English dub on the digital channel.

I had requested for a quiet room and they put me on the sixth floor in the corner at the back of the hotel facing the alley instead of the street. Since I am far from the elevator, I don't hear any noises outside. It's awesome! I love it.

Room Tip: Shop online for special rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank damevenus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Mountains
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2011

The location of the hotel just across from the station is the main reason we chose this hotel and it was a great base for exploring the sites around Kanazawa without having to haul our bags into a cab or bus. While there are other hotels more towards the centre of Kanazawa, the very efficient and regular loop buses that depart from the station and only take 15 minutes to go to the castle and Kenrokeun Garden made this location very manageable for our short stay. The rooms are exactly as they appear on the hotel website and are clean and well serviced. While they are not brand new, they were comfortable and more than adequate. The hotel staff were very helpful and when I discovered that I had left a jacket and glasses in the room, they quickly organised to send them on to Kyoto and they arrived a day later with a kind note. The hotel is also across the road from a large multi-storey shopping centre with excellent and reasonably priced restaurants on one of the upper floors.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2x2KINGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

The Miyako is located across the street from Kanazawa JR station. You can reach it through the underground tunnel system under the station. Bear left and follow the signs to the Miyako. You can go through the glass doors and the end of the corridor and the escalator goes to the lobby. The rooms were average. Internet access through ethernet (cable supplied). Rental laptops, if you don't have your own. Service friendly and good. If you're looking for a hotel experience, this is not your place. Try the ANA Crowne Plaza or Kanazawa Nikko, both right next to the station. Kanazawa very walkable. If you want to visit the Sea of Japan, take the private Hokutetsu train (station under Kanazawa station) to Uchinada. Turn left on the road in front of the Uchinada station and walk a mile to the beach. There's a new supermarket in a strip mall near the beach (bring a shopping bag: not offered at supermarket).

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaghee_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanazawa hotels
Hotel Kanazawa
#24 of 100 in Kanazawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Kanazawa Station
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kanazawa
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kanazawa
#12 of 100 in Kanazawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Kanazawa Station
Garden Hotel Kanazawa
Garden Hotel Kanazawa
#38 of 100 in Kanazawa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kanazawa Station
Hotel Nikko Kanazawa
Hotel Nikko Kanazawa
#3 of 100 in Kanazawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Kanazawa Station
Via Inn Kanazawa
Via Inn Kanazawa
#13 of 100 in Kanazawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanazawa Miyako Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanazawa Miyako Hotel

Property: Kanazawa Miyako Hotel
Address: 6-10, Konohana-cho, Kanazawa 920-0852, Ishikawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Ishikawa Prefecture > Kanazawa > Kanazawa Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 100 Hotels / Ryokan in Kanazawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kanazawa Miyako Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kanazawa Miyako Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing