We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brand new place with helpful owner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Guesthouse Ochakare
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Brand new place with helpful owner”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Brand new place that even smelled new. Located less than 10 min walk from main station. Very tidy. Comfy dorm beds. Staff Miki helpful.

Was first a bit annoyed that they didn't want to keep my luggage later than noon (same day) after check-out, but staff adviced me to use coin lockers at station which proved to be cheap and less than 30 m from my night bus to Tokyo. No chairs in lounge. No laundry service but advised me of a coin laundry about 15 min walk from hostel. You sit on cushions on the floor. Personally I prefer chairs but in Japan you sit Japanese!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bengt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    18
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
14
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Ochakare is immaculately clean, super conveniently located, and full of character. Miki, the owner, is super cute! She is super helpful with recommendations and obviously loves what she does. As a a solo traveler it was a great place to stay - really easy to meet other travelers in the little common room. From the JR station Ochakare is very close (5 mins walking) but not super easy to find. Just ask at the tourist information desk for Ochakare and they will give you detailed directions that Miki has written up.

Stay here!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timocalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2013

The guesthouse is very comfortable, very clean and very well located closed to the train station. Easy walking distance from all the major tourist spots in Kanazawa. The owner Miki is really helpful, speak a perfect english. She helped us to book ticket for the Sumo tournament (only Japanese)!!! This is the best quality/price guesthouse of our stay in japan

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Guesthouse Ochakare is definitely a hidden gem. Beautiful, absolutely spotless and with amazing hosts with an impeccable knowledge of their local area. Our hosts we kind enough to give us the run down of their beautiful town and provide great advice about what highlights to plan during our stay. We affectionately nicknamed our Japanese style futon beds "clouds" as they were the most comfortable beds we had the whole holiday. Brand new and very high tech, whilst still retaining a traditional feel.
Would definitely recommend this place to any friends or family heading to Japan (and Kanazawa in general was amazing!).
Thanks Miki and Toshi for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaenor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Was reffered to this place by a local as it is a new guesthouse. Stayed here one night, its very central, and easy to acess by foot from the main station. The host, like everyother host you see in Japan was very kind and helpful, and she speaks English. Would stay more if I could.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahbodb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanazawa hotels
Kanazawa Station
HOTEL MYSTAYS Kanazawa Castle
Kanazawa Station
Kanazawa Manten Hotel
Kanazawa Manten Hotel
#13 of 102 in Kanazawa
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guest House Pongyi
#1 of 28 in Kanazawa
495 reviews
Guesthouse Nagonde
#4 of 28 in Kanazawa
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Ochakare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Ochakare

Property: Guesthouse Ochakare
Address: 1-8-12 Kitayasue, Kanazawa 920-0022, Ishikawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Ishikawa Prefecture > Kanazawa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 Speciality lodging in Kanazawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Guesthouse Ochakare 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in central Kanazawa, only a five minute walk from JR Kanazawa station. Our aim is to provide clean, cozy, and friendly accommodation that is inexpensive in Kanazawa for global travelers.Six Big Features of Guesthouse Ochakare■Opened on July 25, 2012. BRAND NEW!!!■5-Minute walk from JR Kanazawa station.■Less than a Minute walk from Hokutetsu Nanatsuya station.■Convenient access to major tourist sights.■Dorm rooms and Japanese rooms. Highly recommended!!!■Japanese Tatami living room and excellent facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Rakuten and Ctrip TA so you can book your Guesthouse Ochakare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing