We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Suite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn ANA Kanazawa Sky
Ranked #16 of 102 Hotels / Ryokan in Kanazawa
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Beautiful Suite”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights and booked the Japanese Suite. This ended up being one of the nicest rooms I have stayed at in many visits to Japan, and one of the largest as well.

When we checked in the lady at the front desk accompanied us to our room, but realized upon opening the door that housekeeping had not finished cleaning the room. She ended up going back downstairs while we waited and came up saying we had now the use of a "special room"--it also was a Japanese suite, but was also a handicapped designated room. Not sure if it was larger than the normal suites, but it certainly was luxurious.

Entire room was modern and beautiful with sliding doors between the various areas. Largest TV I have ever seen in a hotel room, a separate bathtub/Japanese shower type room (similar to the style in an onsen), a storage room, separate toilet room, etc and all kinds of room to store luggage

Since Holiday Inn purchased the hotel and renovated it, it is now a completely different hotel than the earlier (and poorer) reviews indicate, so for anyone considering staying in Kanazawa I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MapleG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anahiks, お客様担当マネージャー at Holiday Inn ANA Kanazawa Sky, responded to this review, 27 July 2016
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    123
    52
    6
    4
See reviews for
68
78
38
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We, as a family of 4, stayed 2 nights here in June. Wow! We stayed in a Japanese suite which was gorgeous, with plenty of space , and a separate toilet and wet bathroom. The hotel is about 700 m walk from the station and easy to find. The breakfast had a reasonable amount of choice. It was very quiet with very few guests. The staff were welcoming. For the price, it was outstanding value. Everything looked and smelt new. Free Internet that was reliable and fast.

Highly recommended - get a JApanese suite for something different!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kel2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anahiks, お客様担当マネージャー at Holiday Inn ANA Kanazawa Sky, responded to this review, 27 July 2016
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel was previously the Kanazawa Sky Hotel and has been reopened recently as the Holiday Inn Kanazawa sky hotel.
By the way most signs still indicate Sky Hotel only and not Holiday Inn so be aware that it is the same hotel. Same as for locals, most still know it as the Sky Hotel rather than Holiday Inn so if you need to ask your way, it is easier to call it the Sky Hotel rather than Holiday Inn.

The reopening and rebranding came after a major refurbishment. Prior to the renewal, this hotel was certainly one of the oldest in Kanazawa with furniture and carpets dating back to the 80s.
Now pretty much the whole hotel has been renewed and it is now a new pretty hotel.

The hotel is adjacent to the Mzia departement store in front of the Omicho market. You can access it directly through the departement store or by using a small entrance next to the department store. You need to take the elevator up to the 16th level to get to the lobby.
The lobby is brand new and has been very nicely designed with younger colors giving it a bright atmosphere. Check in and check out is done not on a counter but seated with the front staff seated on a regular desk table.

We booked one of the japanese suites so can t really review standard rooms but I believe standard rooms also went through major renewal.
The Japanese suite we had was very large with a designated space for the entrance, separate toilet, walk in shower and bath tub and a sleeping area which had a sofa area.
Pretty much everything was new except for the bathroom where the bathtub and tiles were not renewed but still looked ok.
We were very satisfied with the suite especially since it was pretty much the price of a regular business hotel room in Kyoto.
The only little downfall was the amenities which were on the cheaper side somehow contrasting with the quality of the room.
On our floor level, there was also a relaxation lounge type of space called "library" which was very comfortable with windows overlooking the skyline of Kanazawa.

Locationwise it was quite convenient. One bus stop away from the train station or a 12-15 mn walk. It is walking distance to the Samurai district or Kenroku En, around 12-15mn as well. Moreover most bus routes stop in front of the hotel.

The fact it is in front of the market means you get some great Kaiten sushi right across the road. We definitely recommend the kaiten sushis in the market which had fantastic nigiris/sashimis for very reasonable prices. There was also a very famous curry place in the market on the B1 level of the market.
Moreover the fact it is adjacent to a department store means you can get some food just by taking the elevator down to the B1 level.

Staffwise we found everyone to be efficient and friendly.

Overall we definitely would recommend this hotel. Ratewise it is very reasonable for a brand new hotel. Rates might shoot up once the Shinkansen to Tokyo starts running next year but so far cost performance is great. Moreover the convenient location makes it a great base for touring around Kanazawa.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FERU06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anahiks, お客様担当マネージャー at Holiday Inn ANA Kanazawa Sky, responded to this review, 27 July 2016
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights as part of an OAT's tour.I called the OAT's office several weeks before our March 16th trip after seeing the most recent reviews and they "took notes" etcera. I traveled solo and had a double bed room-fine for one person but pretty tight for 2 people (see u-8054). The room was spotlessly clean. The heating system is pretty strange: (either on or off with regards to heat and AC that is centrally controlled). The rooms also have a continuous air circulation system that actually works pretty well once you know what's going on. Really good location for seeing the Omicho Market, Kenrokuen Gardens (walking distance).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anahiks, お客様担当マネージャー at Holiday Inn ANA Kanazawa Sky, responded to this review, 27 July 2016
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We went to this hotel for 3 nights with the Overseas Adventure Group tour in November 2013. Many of the people on the tour requested another room because theirs was dirty and in need of an over hall. The next room was a little better. Our room had dirty carpet as did all of the hall ways. The walls were somewhat dirty and the hallways had wall paper damage. I would not stay at this hotel again and many of us complained to OAT.

Room Tip: Make sure you go right back down to the desk and request another room if the room is poor standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anahiks, お客様担当マネージャー at Holiday Inn ANA Kanazawa Sky, responded to this review, 27 July 2016
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richterswil
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We had booked a double room instead of a twin bedroom. It was really a single room with the bed against the wall. The suitcases could not be opened. The management offered us two twin bedrooms (two couples) which were adequate. The whole hotel is a bit shabby. The A/C cannot be controlled and it was so hot that we were able to persuade the management to turn off the heating for a couple of hours. Starbucks and other coffee shops are nearby. Sights worth seeing are the Kenroku-en Garden from Edo period, the museum of modern art and the samurai houses. It is not worth taking the sightseeing bus as it only goes in one direction. One can cover most things on foot or take an ordinary bus. The fish and vegetable market opposite the hotel is really great.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank u-8054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anahiks, お客様担当マネージャー at Holiday Inn ANA Kanazawa Sky, responded to this review, 27 July 2016
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2009

After leaving Kyoto, we arrived at Kanazawa, at around 7pm, from the travel agency, it says we can get to the hotel on foot for about 10minutes, it took us a bit longer because we weren't sure if we went the right way.
Nice service, when we arrived my luggage was already in the room.
There was a laptop with internet to use for free at the lobby by the check-in.
They were under renovation for part of the lobby so it wasn't as complete as a running hotel would be but the staff are nice.
The toilet and the bath were separate, tub is about half-size.
There's a convenience store call Lawson around the block, go out the hotel and turn right, walk until you pass starbucks (yup, there was a starbucks but not much variety compare to the US ones of course).

Had a nice night view towards the city

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheepiggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anahiks, お客様担当マネージャー at Holiday Inn ANA Kanazawa Sky, responded to this review, 27 July 2016
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanazawa hotels
Kanazawa Station
Hotel Nikko Kanazawa
Hotel Nikko Kanazawa
#2 of 102 in Kanazawa
1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kanazawa Tokyu Hotel
#9 of 102 in Kanazawa
504 reviews
Kanazawa Station
Dormy Inn Kanazawa
Dormy Inn Kanazawa
#8 of 102 in Kanazawa
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn ANA Kanazawa Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn ANA Kanazawa Sky

Property: Holiday Inn ANA Kanazawa Sky
Address: 15-1 Musashimachi, Kanazawa 920-0855, Ishikawa Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Chubu > Ishikawa Prefecture > Kanazawa > Kanazawa Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 102 Hotels / Ryokan in Kanazawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn ANA Kanazawa Sky 3.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn ANA Kanazawa Sky is strategically located in the heart of Kanazawa, the city that is rich in Japanese tradition such as “Yuzen”, the type of silk and ”Kinpaku”, the gold craft works.The hotel is a few steps away from a lively wet market, called Ohmicho that has been popular by both local and tourists since 16th century. You will be emotionally trilled by finding local delicacy in season. Hokuriku has such rich seafood products throughout year.Do not forget trying local seafood and cribs at all day dining Kenroku or at the Chinese restaurant Hoh-Oh and ask our experience chefs’ recommendation.Kanazawa Castle Park originally built and managed by Maeda family and Kenroku Garden are the treasures for Kanazawa people. One of the best tree Japanese gardens, Kenrokuen shows unique faces in four seasons.Kanazawa is also known with Kanazawa Bunko, the local library and museum. The library’s founder is Hokujo family who collected rich Buddhism arts, craft, Old Chinese books and ceramics.Unwind after busy day at the hotel lobby lounge with your favorite cocktail and be fascinated with the best 360-degree view of Kanazawa. All guestrooms welcome you with tranquil sight and free high speed Internet to plan your next day. Book your flight to Komatsu airport and take the bus to Kanazawa. Kanazawa JR Station is 7 minutes by walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, IHG and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn ANA Kanazawa Sky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing