We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is average for a ryokan, but everything else perfect”
Review of Hotel Shoho

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Shoho
Ranked #14 of 185 Hotels / Ryokan in Matsumoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Shoho in Matsumoto. I had a corner room on the top floor, so was able to see a view over the whole city including the Minami Alps, these mountains are truly stunning. The Shoho is easy to access from central Matsumoto; just a 3/4 kilometre drive to the hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful, as you would expect in any Japanese hotels. The room is very good standard, nice big tatami style rooms with a private bath. The onsens in this hotel are also very nice. The food could well be the only let down, the quality was not as good as I've had at similar style ryokans, but it was still decent.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank majicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 18 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2013

This was a ryokan style hotel (no bedding out in the room during the day and they bring out the futon bed at night) with lovely public bath/onsen (hot pool).
We are a family of 5 and they were able to cater us in one room (this is sometimes difficult in Japan) and the view from the room was really panoramic and awesome.
The location is a little out of the way from the city centre, but there is a regular bus service (every 30 min) from the bus terminal opposite the JR Matsumoto train station. The bus station is located right next door to a department store and there is a supermarket at the basement level, so it was easy to carry supplies back from town to the hotel.
We used a coin laundry which was about 5 - 10 min walk away so this helped us in managing our travel.
We had one dinner at their restaurant which was a very authentic Japanese affair with something like 10 courses of small things. I really enjoyed this, but I think my friends (from NZ) found this a little too authentic (the food is unlike the Japanese food that they would serve in NZ which is really tailored to suit European taste).
The public bath area is really clean and spacious and I loved their product that they had for washing hair/body/face. After a good soak in their hot pools there is a nice pampering station with a big mirror, hair dryer, lovely hair/facial products for you to try.
The service at this hotel was wonderful and there was wifi at the lobby area.

This is not a cheap place to stay, but we really enjoyed our time there and will stay there again if we ever go back there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toko K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

If it wasn't for our friends in Matsumoto who stayed with us, I would have never known about this hotel and probably would have been unable to book a reservation as I do not know much Japanese (and the hotel had minimal English). The room we had was a traditional (non-western style) room, which was comfortable and spacious (and had a great view of the city/mountains). We also had dinner at the hotel that was prearranged by our friends; the food was wonderful, and service was timely.
The onsen was a new experience for me, so I was somewhat hesitant and only used it once. The baths seemed very clean, and there were both indoor and outdoor springs (I preferred the outdoor). I suggest that if you have not used an onsen before and do not speak Japanese to go with a friend who knows what they're doing.
There were also several small shops, which I was unable to visit but would have if I had more time to explore.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chip27915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
203
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: 新しくリニューアルされたところに泊まりたかった お風呂。遠いです。  部屋にお風呂はいらないし貸し切りのお風呂もいらないひろいだけでしたし。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamann12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 中村 き
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: なるべく上の階。眺望が良い。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ダスキーリーフモンキー
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matsumoto hotels
Matsumoto Hotel Kagetsu
#7 of 185 in Matsumoto
233 reviews
Matsumoto Station
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#12 of 185 in Matsumoto
309 reviews
Matsumoto Station
Dormy Inn Matsumoto
Dormy Inn Matsumoto
#6 of 185 in Matsumoto
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Richmond Hotel Matsumoto
#2 of 185 in Matsumoto
608 reviews
Matsumoto Marunouchi Hotel
#5 of 185 in Matsumoto
266 reviews
Hotel Matsumoto Yorozuya
#44 of 185 in Matsumoto
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shoho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shoho

Address: 527 Satoyamabe, Matsumoto 390-0221, Nagano Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Matsumoto > Utsukushigahara Onsen
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 185 Hotels / Ryokan in Matsumoto
Price Range: £86 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Shoho 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Rakuten, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Shoho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing