We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Montagne Matsumoto
Nearby Hotels
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Hotel Tamanoyu(Matsumoto)
US$292
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Ryokan 
Izumiya Zenbei(Matsumoto)(Great Value!)
US$237
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Richmond Hotel Matsumoto(Matsumoto)(Great Value!)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Hotel -CABIN- Matsumoto(Matsumoto)(Great Value!)
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Dormy Inn Matsumoto(Matsumoto)(Great Value!)
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel New Station(Matsumoto)(Great Value!)
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$53
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Buena Vista(Matsumoto)(Great Value!)
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ace Inn Matsumoto(Matsumoto)(Great Value!)
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Matsumoto Marunouchi Hotel(Matsumoto)(Great Value!)
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
16
56
20
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
56
20
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswalking distanceeasy walkperfect locationclose to the train stationjapanese standardscastle
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2014

A business hotel. Clean. Good location but... I find the rooms a little small. It is just a very short walk (3mins) from the station. Walk across to the other side of the station and you will find most of Matsumoto's attraction there.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank michellejanelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

This was pretty good value (relative to Japan prices) for the quality and a very decent two night stay. It's right next to the train station and easy walking distance to the castle and main town. The decent bathroom and heating made a nice change from the more basic, traditional Japanese places we stayed in whilst still being affordable.

Ask for a high floor with mountain view to get the best.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Cliff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

wow!! this place feels so flash and posh, weddings and business functions are obviously held here. The foyer is huge and polished to within an inch of it's life! The staff are wonderfully friendly and speak enough english to be helpful. We asked for a room with a view of the mountains, but we had a booked a double. The staff told us only twin rooms faced the mountains and happily changed us over, for the small extra cost. And gave us the top floor to boot!! It turned out being a great decision as the room was a great size, with a little table and chairs, plus a stunning view to the snow capped japanese alps!

Room was spotlessly clean, full of all the usual extras. Bed was one of the most comfortable and the pillows were pretty good. Room is very quiet and cleaned perfectly each day. This is one of our favourite hotels. As it was not just clean and roomy, the location to the JR Matsumoto station was just a minute up the road. Take the Alps exit from the station, go down the escalators and walk straight ahead a minute up the road past the bicycle rental/storage shed on the right. The front of the Hotel has a big carpark and walkway entry.

The breakfast again is a bit of typical japanese version of what westerners eat. Each day seems a little different. But none of it was very good, rolls had to be heated yourself in a little grill and tasted dry and re frozen. The hot breakfast is then brought out to you, so no choice of what you get. Both days it was a luke warm serve of ham, egg style scrambled or quiche, with a raw piece of broccoli and another side. Juice is not good. If your game try the japanese breakfast instead!

Really, the breakfast is the only negative we had on this modern, new'ish Hotel in a perfect travellers location! You can quickly jump on the train to Kamikuchi or just walk in to town via the Station and visit Matsumoto Castle!

Room Tip: Ask for a twin room to get the views of the Alps and a high floor if possible. Don't do the breakfast!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kazbahtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Free bicycle rental from the hotel itself, very near the train station and bus terminal. A perfect location to rest and move out to Hirayu Onsen/Takayama. Easy walk to get to those nice basement groceries stores for food and snacks. Bed was ok but the covers were very comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IntrepidGoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We weren't sure of where to stay but essentially booked this hotel as was next to station, so we didn't have to carry bags about too much. So this was useful.

Room was a decent size, good size bathroom also. Two large twin beds, rather than small singles. Some TV stations in English, once you figured out which button removed the dubbing!

We didn't eat at the hotel, grabbed breakfast at bakery by hotel (where they spoke great English) and had the yummy snacks and local specialities instead.

Tourist info centre is right by hotel, in station, but really maps are everywhere so you can't get lost. To an extent the hotel is on the other side of the city to the main attractions, but it's really not far to walk and you don't really need to use the town sneaker buses that they have running.

Views across mountains from the room as we were on the top floor, was nice.

Not much English spoken on reception, but, easy enough to manage and figure it all out of course.

Room Tip: rooms on top floor have best views, one side will probably face the train station and lines though.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uktraveller1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews