We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best”
Review of Ryokan Seifuso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ryokan Seifuso
Ranked #10 of 185 Hotels / Ryokan in Matsumoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2009

We really enjoyed staying two nights here. Owners are so friendly and capable of giving all kind of good advices. Room was simply great (though not own shower but the one next to kitchen is good enough). Food was excellent. They can organize your drives to/from station and we found good parking for our car.
Even free bicycles, so 2km distance to downtown is very delightful! But most of all, it's the staff which makes this one of our best accomodation experiences ever - remembering low price!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ettelbruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2009

Family run business, Wonderful people, warm and friendly. I stayed with my 7 year old for one night we both loved it, and we would have stayed longer if we could.
The food was great and they dropped us at the station the next morning. Stay hereif you can, you will not regret it!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sandra_BT_Hannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

We were extremely pleased with everything at Seifuso. It was clean, quiet, comfy beds (we did Japanese style without bath) as well as a ton of extras as the hostess was always trying to make our stay comfortable.

Some highlights:
-half-priced tickets to the Matsumoto castle
-free bikes to bike around town, and to bring us to the JR station each day
-lovely traditional Japanese bathes, with the availability of private time one night
-free dressing up in kimonos
-participate in traditional Japanese tea ceremony (500 yen pp)
-internet in the common room
-small fee for laundry (no dryer, only hang dry)
-drop off/pick up at JR train station when you check in/out

All this for a very reasonable price (8400 yen for 2 people).

The only drawback is that it is a bit outside the city centre, but with the bikes and pick-up/drop-off, it was a breeze to get around.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2009

We had a great stay at this comfortable Ryokan. Our trip only afforded us one night here, but we wish we could have stayed here longer. The location is a little out of the way, But Matsumoto is easy to get around and free bicycles are available at the Ryokan. The owner is also great about driving you to downtown or the train station. Otherwise, it is a short taxi ride from the Ryokan to almost anywhere. The neighborhood surrounding the Ryokan is quiet and nice to walk or bike around. As my son said, when can we go back? Matsumoto is an easy town to walk around. Downtown is small and comfortable and short distance from the castle.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CTDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2009

Ryokan Seifu-so is a wonderful ryokan at a very reasonable price. The rooms are very clean with traditional futons on tatami floors. There are mens and womens baths which are spotless. The owner is very helpful and will answer any questions you have about recommended places in Matsumoto, or Japanese culture in general. She speaks very good English and does a wonderful tea-ceremony lesson. There are free bikes to rent - it is about 10 minutes into town, and there is also free car parking. Of course tea supplies are provided in the rooms. Spotless, friendly, and cheap - highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AL-the-squid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 旅人R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TheTravelaholics1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matsumoto hotels
Richmond Hotel Matsumoto
#2 of 185 in Matsumoto
585 reviews
Matsumoto Hotel Kagetsu
#8 of 185 in Matsumoto
219 reviews
Matsumoto Station
Dormy Inn Matsumoto
Dormy Inn Matsumoto
#6 of 185 in Matsumoto
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Matsumoto Marunouchi Hotel
#5 of 185 in Matsumoto
262 reviews
Hotel Matsumoto Yorozuya
#41 of 185 in Matsumoto
71 reviews
Matsumoto Station
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#11 of 185 in Matsumoto
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryokan Seifuso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryokan Seifuso

Address: 634-5 Minamiasama, 390-0306, Nagano Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Matsumoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 185 Hotels / Ryokan in Matsumoto
Price Range: £54 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ryokan Seifu-so is a family owned Ryokan located next to a river in a quiet area outside of city centre. Free pick up service from/to Matsumoto station, free high speed wireless internet, free rental bicycles and free car parkings are available for guests. Ideal for families with small children, long-stay guests and travellers who wants to feel at home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Rakuten and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ryokan Seifuso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing