We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern Hotel with some issues” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buena Vista Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Buena Vista Hotel
Ranked #13 of 185 Hotels / Ryokan in Matsumoto
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Modern Hotel with some issues”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed here with family in April 2014 and we had an overal good experience, but I see that other people might have some issues :
+ Language : Even though they market themselves as an 'international hotel', you need to speak some Japanese to find out a lot of things, as their rules are often non straight forward. E.g. they advertise a 'discounted b/f for guests', but somewher in the small print it had aparently said that you need to purchase tickets in advance to get the discount... We actually saw some foreign (Indian ?) staff, but just as a waiter at the restaurant, not at reception.
+ Location : If you arrive by car, this is fine, because there is a car park below the hotel. But this hotel is a couple of blocks south of the station, whereas the main attractions (castle, etc) are rather northeast of the station. So you might consider either staying near the station OR in one of the older hotels in the center.
+ Others If you have time do try the free shuttle bus to their sister hotel with onsen (you need to get a ticket in advance

Room Tip: It's probably not worth to pay up for the 'club' floor as their 'club lounge' is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TokyoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    130
    50
    16
    3
See reviews for
50
48
48
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Very much the same impressions as the last two reviews. Lobby area is as expected for a quality hotel although English was spoken very poorly by the reception staff.
We had an executive room on the 12th floor which had seen better days. The bathroom was standard for this sort of hotel and quite acceptable.
There are three restaurants. We tried to reserve the Japanese one on arrival but it seems popular and was full. However, we did venture to the 14 th floor bar which we were told repeatedly was on the 15th floor (?english translation) and found this to have good views of the city at night.
Breakfast is also taken on this floor. The dining room is light and airy but tired plastic tablecloths made it just seem downbeat.
Breakfast had a standard range of Japanese offerings. I had an exceptionally nice omelette made for me. The cold Western offerings were OK, but not brilliant.
Staff were, as everywhere we have been in Japan, concerned to please despite their lack of English.

Room Tip: My comments are based on an executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjc2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
255 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Its an average hotel, and its good for one night stay! although they said its one of the best hotel in town, I thought it was just ok. What I found shocking upon arrival, the porters were all women! Maybe its a gender balance society, but carrying 20 kilos of luggage is not a woman's job! The reception spoke very little english, the chinese restaurant was just horrible! Breakfast was ok. Internet work quite well in the room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adelaida Gigi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York UK
Level Contributor
176 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

We were told that this was the best hotel in town and that we were in the best rooms on the executive floor. We had one window ( frame badly in need of a coat of paint)which had a dirty looking blind and no curtains .. The only furniture in the room was worn and tired looking - a chipped and worn desk plus a couple of utility style chairs.The room was painted in dark grey and green! Fortunately we only spent one night there! My husband requested fried eggs for breakfast but was told that this was not possible - only scrambled could be served!

Room Tip: Ask if any rooms have been re furnished!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishYorkUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

I stayed on the executive room in the 13th floor of this hotel recently.
I wanted to get my money back, especially I had to pay the executive room rate of approx $200 for the sleepless night!
The 13th floor is the top floor for the guest rooms. And there is a restaurant on the 14th floor, right above the 13th. It appears that there is no sound proof in the ceilings of the guest rooms on the 13th floor. I heard music and noises through the ceiling.
I first thought it would be over soon, but as I was trying to sleep at 10pm I heard noises. I did not know where the noises coming from, until I talked with staff at the front. Apparently there is a kitchen right above my room (room 1313) and the noises were from kitchen staff working.
I should have stayed at regular room of this hotel in lower floor, (I did not notice anything special other than they offer drink service in the lounge and special check in counter) .
Or I should have stayed at Richmond Hotel for less than half of what I had to pay, so I could sleep better.
If you still want to stay at one of their executive rooms, be sure to ask for the 12th floor. (12th and 13th are for executive rooms)

Room Tip: Do not stay on the 13th floor. Avoid room1313!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LightningLite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We went here for a short 1 day stopover during our road trip across japan. We stopover at matsumoto before continuing the journey to takayama, kanazawa, kyoto and osaka.
We arrived very late, almost midnight. We booked for non smoking rooms, but they gave us a smoking rooms. We mention that the kids can't stand the smoke odor, the staff was very helpful and immediately arrange for room change. Apparently we get upgraded to executive suites, we booked for 2 rooms, and both get upgraded as they arranged for the rooms to be next to each other. It's very spacious with jacuzzi bathtub and high end amenities. One of the best rooms we experienced during the trip. We want to gave him tip for all the trouble of moving our luggages but he was politely refuse it, and say it's his job to serve better. Two thumbs up!!
Highly recommended hotel, nice location and best service! Definitely will come here again on our next trip to japan.

Room Tip: If you bring kids ages above 12. Be sure to stay around kawaguchiko and go to Fuji Q highland. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B508TAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

A much bigger bed room that expected and a lovely bathroom with an all dancing and singing loo!
The Buffett breakfast was excellent catering for both western and Japanese. Lovely warm lounge area. Set in a central area with lots of shops and restaurants near by.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matsumoto hotels
Richmond Hotel Matsumoto
#1 of 185 in Matsumoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Matsumoto Marunouchi Hotel
#3 of 185 in Matsumoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Matsumoto Station
Dormy Inn Matsumoto
Dormy Inn Matsumoto
#4 of 185 in Matsumoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Matsumoto Tokyu REI Hotel
#15 of 185 in Matsumoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Matsumoto Hotel Kagetsu
#9 of 185 in Matsumoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Ace Inn Matsumoto
#12 of 185 in Matsumoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buena Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Hotel

Property: Buena Vista Hotel
Address: 1-2-1 Honjo, Matsumoto 390-0814, Nagano Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Matsumoto > Matsumoto Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Matsumoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Buena Vista Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and JAPANiCAN so you can book your Buena Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Matsumoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing