We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home for 3 days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Matsumoto BackPackers
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Home for 3 days”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

There are few guesthouses you come across on your travels that actually feel like 'home'. Though for me this one came pretty close to that. Shuko and Brian have created a very homely base in a small house next to the river close to the centre of the city, perfect for exploring Matsumoto and the surrounding region.

The rooms are all Japanese style (futons on tatami mats) which made a refreshing change from the typical crammed in bunk beds.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank laytrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    9
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
17
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

What are you doing? Get your butt to Matsumoto and check in to MBP. The rave reviews are true. The one false thing on this site are the prices - don't think you need to pay 60 USD, you can pay 30 for a dorm setting.

Because I'm a fool, I only booked one night. But I've stayed in many many hostels and backpacker joints, and I could tell in five minutes that this place was top notch. Clean friendly comfortable super knowledgable and a whole string of other positive adjectives. Don't be dumb like me, stay for several nights and enjoy the city and nature!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reviewzguyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Great Japanese style hostel, I'll be happy to come back.
As solo traveller I stayed in a tatami mat dorm for 3 people. It was surprisingly comfortable and I had really good sleep.
Good location, close to the train station, city centre and the awesome Matsumoto castle. There's a small common room, which actually IS common, with Shuko and Brian (owners) inviting their guests to spend time together and have a good time. And I actually did - it was the only hostel during my trip to Japan where all guests actually spent time together and talked.
Staff is very friendly and helpful, offering travel tips and recommendation for their guests.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meecowhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancenis, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

The backpacker is really easy to find, close from the station, you can hear the river from your room! Everything is very clean and tidy, the house has a typical japanese style and the tatami rooms are beautifull. On the top of this the managers Brian and Shuko (I am really sorry if I made a mistake with your names) are AWESOME very nice to chat with you guys! They helped us preparing our trip to Kamikochi and gave us nice advices about Matsumoto so do not hesitate

Room Tip: Higher floors might be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matbourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
71 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here for 2 night either side of a trip to Kamikochi. The location of the place is great, within walking distance of the JR Station and also of the castle and main street of Matsumoto.

The rooms are traditional Tatami rooms with futons which you make up yourself. The living area has a table where you sit around on the floor to eat of talk with the hosts and other guests. The kitchen facilities are good, we self catered for both our stays.

The hosts really make this place. Very friendly and helpful, full of tips on walking in Alps and local area. Although this is not a big backpackers there is so much information available for guests - I was really impressed.

The only reason I have given 4 stars for service and for value is that with it being small they were unable to store our packs whilst we went trekking in the Alps. Value is 4 stars as it was quite expensive but I think that is normal for Matsumoto.

I would recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cantwait2holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Matsumoto reminds me the the old Japan. The castle is one of the oldest in Japan . So it worths to stay in a traditional house like this. the tatami room is really relaxing , you can hear and see the river from there.The facilities are also amazing, with modern washing machine and shower. It is extremely clean and close to the station and castle.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sapporo-shi, Hokkaido, Japan
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I loved my night at Matsumoto BackPackers. The owners are extremely helpful, friendly, and knowledgeable. They know the train system and how to get to towns all over the region. They know about upcoming festivals and events. They speak fluent English and Japanese. This was my best hostel experience yet. The atmosphere is very home-like, and everyone was very kind and accommodating. I wish I had booked more nights there but my tight schedule kept me moving on this trip around Japan. If I'm ever back in the Matsumoto area, though, I know where I'm staying.

Room Tip: If you can get an upstairs room, you may have a nicer view, but it shouldn't make much of a diff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matsumoto hotels
Richmond Hotel Matsumoto
#1 of 185 in Matsumoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Matsumoto Station
Dormy Inn Matsumoto
Dormy Inn Matsumoto
#4 of 185 in Matsumoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Hotel New Station
#21 of 185 in Matsumoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Matsumoto Tokyu REI Hotel
#14 of 185 in Matsumoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Ace Inn Matsumoto
#12 of 185 in Matsumoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Matsumoto Station
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Hotel
#11 of 185 in Matsumoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matsumoto BackPackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matsumoto BackPackers

Property: Matsumoto BackPackers
Address: Shiraita 1-1-6, Matsumoto 390-0863, Nagano Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Matsumoto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 Speciality lodging in Matsumoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just five minutes from Matsumoto station and ten minutes from the city's famous castle, Matsumoto BackPackers offers friendly accommodation in an old Japanese house with a small garden. We offer simple hostel-style dormitory accommodation in a Japanese setting (futon mattress beds and woven straw tatami flooring). All our guests are young or young at heart so come and join them for a night or two! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Matsumoto BackPackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing