We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Matsumoto BackPackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Matsumoto BackPackers
Certificate of Excellence
Trois-Rivieres, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I am a solo traveler so it was nice to share a room with two others nice people and talk about our trip. Brian is very nice with us, we looked a movie all togeter at 18h00 that was funny. He knows very well matsumoto and helped me to find a good pool to make my swimming training. That is not a common demand from travelers. Thank you for that!
The location is close to the station and the instructions to got there are perfect.
Everything to make food, computer, wifi. This is a perfect backpackers place. I would recommand it to my friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anicksovajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    9
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
17
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Great place to stay. Clean, neat and tidy. Friendly owners, who gave us some great tips of places to go and things to do. Not far from the railway station and the centre of town. Will stay here when I go back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevewes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

I've stayed at 100s of hostels and this cozy place may just be my favorite. Exceptional staff. I couldn't say a bad thing about Matsumoto Backpackers. Great city to explore and the castle is amazing. If you're looking for a more traditional type of Japanese accommodation but don't want to spend lots on a Ryokan, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rwagnerau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tugun, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Matsumoto City and staying at the Matsumoto Back Packers were unexpected gems on our Japan travels. So much so that we went back and stayed again. Shuko and Brian have created an excellent and welcoming little hostel. They are a wealth of information and spend a lot of time with their guests. Their passion for the local area is infectious. The facilities are very clean and Japanese style rooms comfortable. Try the French Bakery at the train station!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki_and_Mark2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatsumotoBP, Owner at Matsumoto BackPackers, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam
Thank you so much for staying with us - we are glad that you enjoyed your stay so much!
You noticed our enthusiasm for the Matsumoto area. That's because we want to let the world know that there is so much more to do than just see our National Treasure Castle.
Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

I have stayed at over a hundred backpackers and I can easily say that this has been the best one. Brian and Shuko obviously love Japan and Matsumoto greatly and they take great, genuine strides to help their guests to fall in love with the area as much as they have.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank selftitledkm89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

If you want a great place to base yourself in the Japanese Alps which isn't going to cost you through the nose, this place is it. The hosts, Shuko and Brian, are very knowledgeable on hiking/climbing/skiing etc and have the best tips and can set you up with some great itineraries and recommendations. The rooms are clean and its only a 10 minute walk to the castle or to the older streets mostly along the river which is nice. Its very close to the station so if you're banding about trying to decide where to stay in Matsumoto... THIS IS IT!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emiliana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

There are few guesthouses you come across on your travels that actually feel like 'home'. Though for me this one came pretty close to that. Shuko and Brian have created a very homely base in a small house next to the river close to the centre of the city, perfect for exploring Matsumoto and the surrounding region.

The rooms are all Japanese style (futons on tatami mats) which made a refreshing change from the typical crammed in bunk beds.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank laytrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matsumoto hotels
Richmond Hotel Matsumoto
#1 of 185 in Matsumoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Matsumoto Station
Dormy Inn Matsumoto
Dormy Inn Matsumoto
#4 of 185 in Matsumoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Matsumoto Tokyu REI Hotel
#15 of 185 in Matsumoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel New Station
#21 of 185 in Matsumoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Ace Inn Matsumoto
#11 of 185 in Matsumoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Super Hotel Matsumotoekimae
#20 of 185 in Matsumoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matsumoto BackPackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matsumoto BackPackers

Property: Matsumoto BackPackers
Address: Shiraita 1-1-6, Matsumoto 390-0863, Nagano Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Matsumoto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Speciality lodging in Matsumoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just five minutes from Matsumoto station and ten minutes from the city's famous castle, Matsumoto BackPackers offers friendly accommodation in an old Japanese house with a small garden. We offer simple hostel-style dormitory accommodation in a Japanese setting (futon mattress beds and woven straw tatami flooring). All our guests are young or young at heart so come and join them for a night or two! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Rakuten and Odigeo so you can book your Matsumoto BackPackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing