We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Comfortable Ryokan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hoshino Resorts KAI Matsumoto
Ranked #30 of 184 Hotels / Ryokan in Matsumoto
Jakarta
Level Contributor
163 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Modern Comfortable Ryokan”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

This ryokan type of resort is so amazing. Just a nice mix of traditional bedding style (with tatami floor and futton) and modern comfortable equipments. I really enjoyed staying here. The hot baths are so calming and relaxing with serene decoration. There are 13 styles of indoor and outdoor hot baths. Since there are not so many rooms, the hot baths are pretty private. I did not meet anyone else in the hot baths except my group, so we kind of having many private baths. The next best thing of this place is the food. The taste, variety, and service are excellent. Although we spend so much money to stay here, it's the best Japanese experience I have so far.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferliana21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    28
    14
    6
    3
See reviews for
48
31
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
124 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

Not really much to see in Matsumoto, except for the castle, but a stay in this hotel has fully compensated that. It has ghe most spectacular onsen (hot bath) we have seen in Japan, and the Japan experince you get is really fantastic, from the tatami room to the kaiseki dinner. We loved it. Only small complaint - would be nice to have wifi in the rooms.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DCKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
72 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

This ryokoan is run by renowned Hoshino resorts and you would get exactly what you expect. That said, quality of the service, rooms, foods & facilities are at a very high standard and you'll be satisfied with all they offer.

We stayed in a spacious room that has a main Japanese tatami room, sub tatami room, a deck with chairs and an onsen bath. The building itself is old and recently refurbished therefore you may spot a few points that are not squeaky clean. Yet it's up to you to see it whether worn out or tasteful.

Quality of onsen is wonderful. Having tried dozens of onsen around Japan, I'd say this is one of the top rated. The water is not heavily coloured or smelly, but you'd get aware of the effect after you get out of it - it will keep your body hot for hours and make you sleep very sound.
In your own room you can enjoy the authentic onsen any time you wish. In a bigger public bath you can taste a variety of different onsen baths.

Service is very attentive & thorough, though we thought it a bit over the top. But yes, you'd feel like a king & a queen while you are there.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank takainlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

There really is very little reason leave Kai Matsumoto during your stay but you'll have to because there are things to see in Matsumoto. That being said:

The customer service is attentive but not intrusive, friendly but not contrived, and wonderfully amazingly helpful when it came to exploring Matsumoto.

The accommodations are very comfortable. The hot spring spa rooms are both amazing. Get up early and take advantage of sitting in the outdoor hot spring under the stars. It's amazing! There are two spa rooms, male and female. The best part is that half-way through the day, they clean and switch them, so you can take advantage of every single amenity. The highlight of my spa time was the mist room. Or was it the cypress room? Actually it was both and I took advantage of both during our stay. If you are uncomfortable sharing a hot bath, then there is actually an private outdoor hot bath in each room. I used it once but realized that it was much more enjoyable to use the shared facilities. One last thing: the cleanliness is the best... bar none.

We also had dinner and breakfast on-site both days. Again, the customer service was perfect. The food was some of the best I have had in my life. You don't need to love Japanese food but, if you do, you will fall in love with the food. The chef is particularly adept with chicken (an ingredient that tends to be take for granted). The food is both innovative and approachable. It was satisfying and not so much that you felt stuffed. They are obsessed with seasonality and it shows. Alcohol is not included but a reasonable way to have some is to order the wine flight pairing.

Kai Matsumoto belongs to the Hoshino Resort company. We stayed in another one of their properties (which I will also review) and were thoroughly impressed. I would travel to Matsumoto again just to spend a couple of days in this facility.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matsumoto hotels
Matsumoto Marunouchi Hotel
#3 of 184 in Matsumoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Matsumoto Station
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Hotel
#12 of 184 in Matsumoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Matsumoto Station
Dormy Inn Matsumoto
Dormy Inn Matsumoto
#5 of 184 in Matsumoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Richmond Hotel Matsumoto
#1 of 184 in Matsumoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Matsumoto Hotel Kagetsu
#7 of 184 in Matsumoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Asama Onsen
Hotel Tamanoyu
Hotel Tamanoyu
#19 of 184 in Matsumoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoshino Resorts KAI Matsumoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoshino Resorts KAI Matsumoto

Property: Hoshino Resorts KAI Matsumoto
Address: 1-31-1 Asamaonsen, Matsumoto 390-0303, Nagano Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Matsumoto > Asama Onsen
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 184 Hotels / Ryokan in Matsumoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoshino Resorts KAI Matsumoto 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed with an artfully whimsical touch, KAI Matsumoto offers a luxurious multi-feature onsen bath and premium beef and vegetable dishes. KAI Matsumoto is surrounded by the breathtaking Japanese Alps in Nagano prefecture. After soaking in eight baths of hot spring water drawn from Asama Onsen Hot Springs, go on a walking tour to nearby Matsumoto Castle, the National Treasure of Japan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Ebookers, Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hoshino Resorts KAI Matsumoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing