We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful old home with a "sleepful" bed and helpful owners”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Halcyon Farm Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
warsaw, ny
Level Contributor
144 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A beautiful old home with a "sleepful" bed and helpful owners”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My husband and I made reservations at Howe Caverns and we found this place not too far away. The name was cute for me - since I am a nurse…Halcion is a drug used to help people sleep/relax. I thought the name was a cute reference to that and I was right! I slept very well, in a beautiful 4 poster bed in the Voorhees Room. Even the name of the room brought a snicker, as I have a friend with that last name. The owners were nice, pleasant and friendly. They offered us suggestions on a place for dinner that turned out to be fabulous! Also, gave us several great ideas of what to see, as far as attractions. One being a beautiful church nearby.
I am so glad we checked in here - however, a bit disappointed on the breakfast that was warming on a hot pad when we got to breakfast at 9 am. No juice, no water, just an egg scramble (it was tasty), some sausage links and dried out potatoes. I think the breakfast could have used a bit more love…but it was a nice stay. Would have loved to have seen the other rooms, in case we ever stayed there again. P.S. Check out John's garden if you go…he is a master planter! The asparagus will amaze you - it did me!

Room Tip: This is a B&B, so every room was lovingly put together, complete with air conditioning and some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tattoojules12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
29
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My husband and I had to visit the area for personal reasons on an overnight We didn't want to stay in an undesirable or unfamiliar hotel, but also didn't want to pay a lot of money. I found the Halcyon B&B. It was wonderful! It was on a quiet yet accessible farm on the outskirts of town, it was reasonably priced, and we had a terrific breakfast, as well as good conversation with both June and John. If we go back to the area, we wouldn't even consider anywhere else. Halcyon has a FB page and you can call them directly. My only other thought for them, is that they might want to create a web page.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RD2_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014

B&B is located on a farm about five miles outside Amsterdam. Our room was spacious and nicely furnished with a four poster bed. The breakfast was good with fresh fruits, home made french toasts and muesli.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerdia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Recently, my husband and I stayed at the Halcyon Farm B&B in Amsterdam, NY. We were in town to visit family and had trouble finding a hotel, when availability at this B&B popped up. We decided to give it a try, and boy am I glad we did. While we did not spend a ton of time at the B&B as we were with family, we very much enjoyed every minute we did spend there. The innkeepers are incredibly welcoming and great to talk with! The breakfast was delicious and different each of the 3 days we were there. Prepared fresh each morning and some of the food even grown on property, in the vegetable beautiful garden. The surrounding countryside is a delightful place for a walk or run. The inn itself was a neat, old home, and VERY clean. The overall experience was just wonderful, and we will be back again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmt5070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed at the Halcyon Farm last summer while cycling the Erie Canal from Buffalo to Albany. This inn advertised in the Cycling the Erie Canal Guidebook, and that is how we knew of the place. First of all, the inn is about 5 miles from the trail, up a huge hill. This is not a big deal if you are in a car, but if you are pedaling your bike, with 40 pounds of gear after already cycling over 80 miles for the day, it is a huge deal. Also, if you are traveling from the west as we were, there is no where to eat dinner on the way, and absolutely nothing near the inn. Don't count on the innkeeper to offer you any of her tea treats that she offers non cycling guests...it's not going to happen. You can drink water out of the bathroom sink. The room was very nice and comfortable, and after a restful night we were looking forward to breakfast. That was when we were asked " You won't want more than two eggs will you?" Remember, we cycled about 87 miles the day before with no dinner, and were facing another 50 or so this day. It was obvious this lady had no concept of what bicycle touring is all about, which is fine. However, she should not advertise in a bicycle touring guidebook.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Runninggurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June L, Owner at Halcyon Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your review. We do not advertise in the "Cycling the Erie Canal" guidebook. The guide has included us since we are relatively close to the trail at 5 miles from either Auriesville or Amsterdam. Our lodging is clearly labeled with a number "1" on the area map on page 88 and then listed by number on page 108. Some cyclists have no problem biking the extra miles while others choose not to stay here as they consider us too far from the trail. We are sorry you felt your breakfast was insufficient. We consider our breakfast to always be substantial: a hot main dish of either eggs or pancakes/waffles, and sides of homegrown potatoes, meat such as bacon or sausage as well as fresh fruit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camillus
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Recently, I stayed at Halcyon B&B in Amsterdam , NY. It was just what I needed. A calm, welcoming and a relaxing stay in a homey B&B! Breakfast was delicious !Thank you for a wonderful time and~~I'll be back!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This home is delightful. The homeowners are as well. The property is keep beautiful. Our room was spotless and very nice.The bathroom was also very nice and accommodating . Our breakfast was well prepared and different every morning. It was made with fresh ingredients from there garden some mornings. They also served peaches from there property every morning . I can not tell you in enough words how much we enjoyed our stay . It is very reasonably priced and the nicest place to stay in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Voorhees room. Also, they provide the body wash make sure you bring your shampoo.Yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amsterdam
9.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Johnstown
148.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Schenectady
Hampton Inn Schenectady
#1 of 14 in Schenectady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
17.7 mi away
Mallozzi's Belvedere Inn
Mallozzi's Belvedere Inn
#3 of 14 in Schenectady
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Knights Inn Amsterdam
Knights Inn Amsterdam
#2 of 2 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
4.3 mi away
Super 8 Amsterdam
Super 8 Amsterdam
#1 of 2 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
10.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Johnstown - Gloversville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halcyon Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Farm Bed & Breakfast

Property: Halcyon Farm Bed & Breakfast
Address: 157 Lang Rd, Amsterdam, NY 12010-8040
Region: United States > New York > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Halcyon Farm Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halcyon Farm Bed & Breakfast is an award-winning, AAA Three Diamond rated B&B in Amsterdam, New York. The 7,000 square foot home has 5 spacious and uniquely appointed bedrooms and a private guest entrance. The living room, library and gathering room are dedicated for guest use and special events. A delicious breakfast and afternoon sweets are served each day. All guest rooms are equipped with Wi-Fi, flatscreen TVs and DVDs, private baths, air conditioning, gas fireplaces and cotton linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Halcyon Farm Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing