We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Landmark building with high standard accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Nikko Niigata
Ranked #1 of 89 Hotels / Ryokan in Niigata
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We were fortunate enough to be treated to a night's accommodation here by our Japanese relatives. There are some very handy changing rooms that we used as we had to get changed soon after our arrival (but before check-in time) to attend a family gathering.
Our rooms were of a high standard and good size, also very clean, comfortable and well equipped with stunning views of Niigata and the coast.
Breakfast was delicious with a good choice of dishes. Staff were polite and helpful.
There is also a viewing area at the top of the building which can be accessed for free via it's own lift.
One criticism - the actual hotel lobby is not on the entrance floor which is a little unwelcoming.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goldfishnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 26 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed in Niigata for a night at Nikko hotel. It was winter and every was covered by snow. The weather was very cold.

The hotel itself offers a great view of the river and the overview of the city. The room was perfect. Clean, neat ad functional. Beds were comfy and the heating conditioning was working very well.

One minor weakness was that the hotel is located somewhat far away from the main city where you have some convenient store like 7-11. We walked around 15 mins through the snow to get there. This is just for us. For those who do not want to walk around and see things at night, I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor room with river view. It's really great and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tzazen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Nice business hotel. Clean, with professional and dedicated staff. Large selection japanses breakfast buffet. The downside is the location - 30 minutes walk to downtown. Not too many restaurants or venues in a walking distance. The hotel itself is on a peninsula so you have to walk out of it first before to get to an actual road. However, it offers enormous space for venues, conferences and meetings.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Azzi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights during a conference which is held in the same building. The hotel actually is a part of a convention center. This high-rise building has a great sea of Japan and city of Niigata view. If you will be attending an event in the convention center, you should definitely choose this hotel.

The location is 30-45 min walking distance to the Niigata city center. The city is very safe and you can walk back at anytime. The hotel also offers free shuttle service every half hour from and to the train station in the city center. If you have nothing to do with the convention center, you can think of staying at a hotel which is closer to the center. However, Niigata is a small city and you only have 3-4 options to stay.

The rooms can be called medium-sized for a Japanese hotel. There is free wifi in the guest rooms. The room and the bathroom are clean and in very good condition. There is multi-functional Japanese toilets in the rooms. However, you can not spend the whole day in your room because it is very small compared to a standard hotel in Europe or US. There is a continental breakfast which does not offer many choices. However, you should make a good breakfast before hitting the roads of Niigata, since you will not have many options to eat good food. The staff is not very good at speaking English but they are trying to help you.

An additional note, the bed and the pillow was too soft for me and combining with the jetlag, I had difficulties to sleep.

As a result, if you are going to an event in the Niigata Convention Center, you can stay in this hotel. It is always good to be close to the point where you will go first in the morning. You will not be disappointed. The prices are nearly same in all city. If you are looking for spending more time in the city, look for alternatives.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cantikiroglu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

I stayed nearly a week in this hotel for a conference. The single room was small but pleasant, clean and well equipped. In addition to the usual things of mini-bar, hair dryer, alarm clock, yukata robe, and internet (ethernet cable provided), this room had a high tech bathroom including a self-defogging square on the mirror. In some rooms there is also a trouser press. The local area is very walkable, particularly along the waterfront, where the view is beautiful. There are not many restaurants in walking distance but one can take a convenient shuttle bus to the center of town. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was amazing, with a huge variety of options daily.

Room Tip: The sea side has slightly better views but all rooms are above floor 21 so any will have a good view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

This modern hotel is the tallest skyscraper in Niigata and surroundings, with hotel rooms all in the upper floors, affording amazing views of the city and out to the Sea of Japan. It is part of the Toki Messe convention center, and extremely convenient for people attending functions there. It is inconveniently distant (about half-an-hour walk) from the two restaurant districts. The hotel's modest shuttle runs an infrequent regular schedule to the railway station (nowhere else) but returns from a spot several blocks away from the station. Two fancy restaurants are in the hotel (European and Chinese) and there is a very nice Japanese restaurant (apparently not associated with the hotel) on the 2nd floor, plus a few other small eateries. The capacities of the restaurants cannot accommodate more than a portion of people at a major convention.

The rooms are modern. The internet service was free (at least for our group) but worked poorly in the rooms. There is no safe in the rooms. There is no pool on the property. Our room (and many in the hotel) are called "twin"; although wider than single beds, the beds are not comfortably wide enough for two large people. The service was professional, although we had some minor misunderstandings at the front desk (whether due to language, culture, or lack of training we can't be sure). They did offer us an unusually late departure hour at no extra charge. Don't miss the top floor, which is given over to views in all directions.

My wife and I were billed separately, at a total price nearly double the price of a single room. We don't know if this is hotel policy or an aspect of our particular convention's policy. This policy used to be typical in some countries but is diminishing; this was our first trip to Japan, and we noted that other hotels billed per room (with separate prices for breakfasts).

We're not sure that Niigata has a lot to offer the tourist (beyond jumping off place for the hydrofoil to Sado Island), but if you want to partake of the city, try a hotel more centrally located. Hotel Nikko is definitely the choice, however, if your activities are centered at the Toki Messe.

Room Tip: All rooms are in upper floors and have spectacular views from any direction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nedtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

This hotel is spotless and has an excellent view: The ocean side is slightly better (but it's often too hazy to see the ocean), but the inland direction is fine too. Staff are efficient and helpful to a fault. Double rooms are quite large, though singles are not. The breakfast buffet was quite complete (included with my room, but I think that was for an extra charge). Not many nearby services (except the conference center). It's a 20-minute walk to the town center (train and bus station), which is where all the restaurants are, and there's a free shuttle bus every half hour. I'm not sure how you'd find the shuttle when arriving at the station, though (we took a taxi). It's worth going up to the top floor for the even-better view in the funky gift shop (only some of the elevators go all the way up). Price is a bit over the US govt per-diem rate.

Room Tip: Ocean side has a better view. All rooms are high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arecibosci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niigata hotels
Niigata Station
ANA Crowne Plaza Niigata
Hotel Okura Niigata
#4 of 89 in Niigata
338 reviews
Niigata Station
Dormy Inn Niigata
Dormy Inn Niigata
#5 of 89 in Niigata
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Niigata Station
Art Hotel Niigata Station
Art Hotel Niigata Station
#10 of 89 in Niigata
205 reviews
Hotel Mets Niigata
#2 of 89 in Niigata
141 reviews
Niigata Station
Hotel Sunroute Niigata
Hotel Sunroute Niigata
#9 of 89 in Niigata
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko Niigata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko Niigata

Address: 5-1 Bandaijima, Chuo-ku, Niigata 950-0078, Niigata Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Niigata Prefecture > Niigata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 89 Hotels / Ryokan in Niigata
Price Range: £39 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko Niigata 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Nikko Niigata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing