We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creepy but has potential”
Review of Hotel New Akao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel New Akao
Ranked #14 of 108 Hotels / Ryokan in Atami
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Creepy but has potential”
Reviewed 13 July 2010

I was excited to stay at this hotel after reading the good reviews about experiencing a true traditional japanese accommodation. However upon arrival, I noticed immediately that the hotel is NOT so new. The floral decor and old carpeting were the first indication. After checking into our room, I noticed a stale smell in our room and opened the window, but just made it muggier. The room is nice, loved the tatami floors, however the bathroom only fits one person at a time and appliances are old. I thought the chairs in the room were old too and needed to be replaced. Perhaps it was the faded cushions that gave it away.

We took a walk around the property (the garden area) and noticed that it's run down as if no one took care of it anymore. I imagine that the New Akao must've been the place to be 40yrs ago, but not in 2010. I felt like I was walking through a creepy hotel waiting for a geisha ghost to pop out and scare me.

Unfortunately I didn't try the onsen, but I heard great reviews from the people on my tour. Internet is not available in the room (the place is OLD) but it is avail on on the lobby floor. I would not stay here again...I'll find another hotel that offers traditional japanese accommodations where the hotel isn't so dated.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ch3rrychew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    128
    80
    36
    15
See reviews for
178
42
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

This hotel is definitely older and the decor is a strange mix of traditional Japanese and western, but this is a great place to stay!!!! If you are looking for a luxury hotel, this is not the place for you. What this place does have going for it is the incredible view! The hotel itself extends into the ocean and every room has a gorgeous view. The staff here is also incredibly friendly and polite. This hotel also has a lot to do. There is a bar, traditional Japanese Restaurant, Hot Springs, gaming arcade, shops, and a beautiful garden. I would definately stay here again

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjohnson116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

It's an nice experience to stay in this hotel. Its room is of traditional japanese-style with tatami floor. The room that we stayed has a very beautiful ocean view. You can even watch sunrise if you can get up early in the morning. I like this hotel with its hot spring bathes, its quiet surroundings, its garden. The whole place is so scenic !

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiew K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2008

Well I have mixed feelings about this hotel. It was my first experience at a Onsen Hotel so I was excited by this prospect however there are some very strange things you need to know about this hotel.

Firstly you are greated by very friendly staff who quickly take your bags and check you in, which is great. However, as you will notice the decor looks like it has been plucked right out of a itallian or parisian hotel. The Room was nice, however it was a little run down.

We were with a tour group so we were told we would have dinner and entertainment the night we were staying. So I got all excited by the prospect of Traditional food and entertainment. WRONG! We were shown the dining room which was HUGE and it looked liked the Moulin Rouge. Then the "Entertainment" came out. They were are New Zealand Dance Group, who sang Las Vegas Show tunes and even some in Japanese. The Food was nice, but not traditional. It is all very very surreal.

Even thought the place is nice. May I suggest staying somewhere else than Atami there are many nicer Onsen Resorts in Japan that are very traditional.

  • Liked — The View
  • Disliked — The run down, cheesy feel of the hotel
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlieshaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Atami hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2008

I went several times in Atami, then I knew this hotel (New Akao --- Royal wing) would be the best.

Hotel New Akao has 'Royal wing' which is more luxuary than New Akao and located upper side of New Akao (Both hotels are connected inside). You can also use facilities of New Akao.

All rooms have ocean view and very spacious.
If it is nice weather, beautiful MOON can be seen above of ocean. It is just like fantasy world.


You will be asked to choose Italian or Japanese for dinner.
I took Italian which is not real Italian, but it was pretty tasty.

Hotel staff are well trained that feels like you are in 5 star hotels.

  • Liked — Ocean view
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank annadiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, Ca
1 review
Reviewed 31 December 2007

This isnt some glossy, shi-shi place with extra fills, ill admit that. But once you indulge in the ocean views a bit, you'll realize you wont need extra fills. Due to the hotels construction, EVERY room faces the ocean, which means no matter where you're booked, you can wake up to the sunset everyday. Its nice if you enjoy the scent and sound of the ocean lulling you to sleep at night. And please do check out the buffet breakfast room if you get a chance. If youre like me and get a kick out of old, antique yet slightly tacky design (plush red velvet, large chandeliers) you'll love the vast space (the food is good, too!) Its definitely the kind of place you come to to relax, since not much else is going on in or around the hotel. I also personally prefer traditional Japanese styled hotel rooms to western ones simply for the novelty. They' floors are good for your back and emit that fresh scent unique only to ta-ta-mi mats. Lastly, its a hot spring hotel, so its practically expected of you to walk around in your (provided) robe all day- to meals, to shower, to whatever! Oh yeah, the staff is super nice and helpful too. All around, great experience.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hapieldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2007

Bearing in mind that the hotel had just been hit by a typhoon(!), we were almost the only westerners staying at the hotel. It was very much geared towards Japanese people, even down to the fact that the hotel shuttle bus from the station was only indicated by the Kanji script and not in English. Thankfully we had our daughter with us who has done Japanese A'level and is going on to Cambridge to read Japanese studies. The food was almost purely Japanese and finding something to eat at breakfast was a problem. We stayed in a Japanese style room which was comfortable even though we were sleeping on the floor, but the bathroom facilities were basic to say the least. The hotel itself was rather tatty, with faded and worn carpets. To be honest it was poor value for money. You can 'do' the town of Atami in an afternoon and from then on need to travel to see anything. As with all the Japanese hotels we stayed in, the staff were totally charming and polite, but at the Akao their English was poor.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank japantrip07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atami hotels
Royal Wing
#15 of 108 in Atami
53 reviews
Atami Onsen
Atami Korakuen Hotel
Atami Korakuen Hotel
#6 of 108 in Atami
240 reviews
Atami Onsen
Atami Seaside Spa & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atami Onsen
Hotel Micuras
Hotel Micuras
#2 of 108 in Atami
344 reviews
Atami Onsen
Wafukan
Wafukan
#49 of 108 in Atami
50 reviews
Atami Onsen
Furuya Ryokan
Furuya Ryokan
#1 of 108 in Atami
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New Akao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Akao

Property: Hotel New Akao
Address: 1993-250 Atami, Atami 413-8555, Shizuoka Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Shizuoka Prefecture > Atami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Atami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel New Akao 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel New Akao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Akao Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing