We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Fugu Ryokan in Japan”

Onsen Minshuku Otsuka
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Onsen Minshuku Otsuka
Ranked #112 of 217 B&Bs / Inns in Ito
Reviewed 16 July 2014

It's a Mom and Pop business, super friendly, and know a surprising amount of English. The service is top notch and the food is amazing. I've had the 'regular' dinner and the fugu dinner; both are fantastic. The owners, Tetsuya and Reiko will bend over backwards to make your visit superb. Be it lend you their own mobile data connection, picking you up from the train station (Even though it's within walking distance), or upgrading your room to the ocean view room when those rooms they aren't booked. The rooms are very clean and across the street from the beach and ocean. I go there every time I visit Japan as it's a quick trip from Tokyo and always a blast when I arrive.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Jeriah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5)
There are newer reviews for Onsen Minshuku Otsuka
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed here for two nights, when the weather was very bad. The minshuku wasn't full, so the owner gave us rooms 400 and 401 together for the same price. These were on the top floor, overlooking the sea (perhaps 20m away) and a road that was busy occasionally. The rooms were clean and in fairly good condition, although I agree they could possibly use a fresh coat of paint. The tatami was very comfortable, as were the futons and duvet, which were of excellent quality. The yukata's provided were also clean and comfortable and despite the combined noise of wind, rain and ocean, we slept very well. Although we only had one key, the adjoining door was lockable from the inside by a latch.

On our second night, the storm had gotten worse, so the owner kindly suggested we moved to a room on the rear side of the hotel, where it was a bit quieter. Given the hotel's proximity to the sea, I imagine when the weather is calm it would be very nice to listen to the sea when you go to sleep - although if you are a light sleeper you might consider asking for a room on the mountain side.

I found the owners to be very friendly people indeed. They spoke a little English and were always pleased to help. We came without an umbrella so they suggested we borrow a couple of theirs for the two days. As we checked out, they also gave us a lift to the station nearby to save us getting wet.

The onsen downstairs are accessible at all hours - nothing fancy, just a little onsen and a pair of taps and showers to wash with before getting in. The owner told us that we could use them privately - just to leave our slippers outside to let others know we were in there. This was especially nice to return late at night for a quick soak before bed. Onsen tax wasn't included in the price we got online, but it was reasonable so we didn't mind paying at all. We didn't eat at the minshuku, as we were off exploring, but the owner holds a fugu licence, so that might be worth investigating if you want to try some fugu!

Usemi is a nice, quiet, little place and is well positioned to explore the Izu peninsular. The minshuku was affordable compared to a lot of other options nearby and I would stay here again without a doubt. Clean, comfortable and run by nice people.

Room Tip: Rooms on the mountain side are quieter (away from the road and the sea), but rooms on the ocean side...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BillHoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2009

We stayed here one night on our Japan trip and had a great time. I wanted to stay somewhat near Odawara because I need to catch the Shinkansen early next morning and I kind of stumbled upon Minshuku Otsuka on the net. It was either this or Toyoko Inn in Atami for our price range.

The location is great, right across the street from the beach. We watched people surfing little waves and fisherman. The Minshuku is less than 10 minutes walk from Usami station. We were there on a Tuesday and the whole town was pretty quiet, it looks like a weekend local tourist town.

We were the only guest there that day and they took the screen down between 2 rooms and we got a nice big 12 tatami room with the beach view, excellent. The room was great for me, the place could probably use a fresh coat of paint, but I'm not picky about that as long as it was clean. The room has a kotatsu table, a tiny TV, and we laid out the futons ourselves. There is one shared toilet for 4 rooms on each floor.

They have 2 onsen rooms in the basement. Since we were the only people there, they said we get the small room to ourselves. The tub was pretty small, big enough for 2 people at most. This was good enough for us and we soaked for 30 minutes and our skin feels nice and smooth after the soak.

The owner was a very nice lady and she speaks a bit of English. We just got the room and did not order dinner. Dinner was 2500Y per person and we were out and about anyway so we had dinner in Ito.

I might have given them less stars if the place was packed, but we were the only people there so I rate them 4 stars!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe_RetireBy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Shinee29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ito hotels
Ito Onsen
Hotel Harvest Ito
Hotel Harvest Ito
#13 of 192 in Ito
179 reviews
Ito Onsen
Onsen Minshuku Kaifuso
Ito Onsen
Fukabe
Fukabe
#114 of 192 in Ito
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ito Onsen
Yokikan
Yokikan
#2 of 192 in Ito
287 reviews
Hinodeya
#1 of 192 in Ito
174 reviews
Izukogen Onsen
Hotel Village Izukogen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onsen Minshuku Otsuka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onsen Minshuku Otsuka

Address: 1757-9 Usami, Ito 414-0001, Shizuoka Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Shizuoka Prefecture > Ito > Ito Onsen , Usami Onsen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 217 B&Bs / Inns in Ito
Price Range: £63 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Rakuten and Booking.com so you can book your Onsen Minshuku Otsuka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onsen Minshuku Otsuka Japan/Ito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing