We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facilities but a bit far apart!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
DHC Akazawa Geihinkan
Ranked #18 of 192 Hotels / Ryokan in Ito
Reviewed 26 May 2012

My daughter and I stayed in the modern wing so I'm not sure it's the 'ryokan' referred to by earlier reviewers. There was a choice of onsen in the annex which I assume is the traditional wing and in order to use that, we had to go down a long flight of stairs and go up again to reach that part of the hotel. It saved us having to go out of the hotel building and crossing the road, but the stairs may be hard on the knees of seniors! The other facility offered, the Olympic-size swimming pool, was grand, and heated on top of it, but located a few minutes away so we had to use the shuttle bus. The staff is very obliging though, and willing to pick up after the swim, and the receptionist at the Poolhouse called for us.
There is another part of the whole complex where you can buy DHC products, and at a 10 per cent discount, which was good; once again, you have to wait for the shuttle or call them in order to get back to the hotel.
If you don't want the kaiseki which is at the restaurant downstairs, you need to go the older annex where there is a satisfactory restaurant for meals, reasonably-priced from 1050 yen for a tempura set, for example. As it's in the same area as the onsen, you need to take off your slippers and put them in a numbered box which works using an intriguing wooden block, most interesting!
All in all, we had a jolly good time especially as the breakfast buffet was lavish, with both Japanese and Western options. Minor gripes include the lack of body moisturiser in the bathroom both at the onsen and the bedroom, and the uncertainty of the pick up from the railway station. We arrived at 3.45 in the afternoon when there was supposed to be a shuttle bus to take us to the hotel, but there was no sign of the bus until much later.
That said, the bedroom was large and overlooked the sea.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluesphynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 7 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2011

This may is definitely one of the best ryokan [traditional Japanese inn] I have ever stayed at in Japan. Since it was my 9th trip that country, I think I have a pretty wide experience of accommodations there.

The inn overall decoration is elegant and discreet. Each room has its private "rotenburo" [open air bath] in a private garden. Of course the bathroom facilities a totally modern. The room itself is large and very comfortable. There is also a large common bath available.

The food [served in a private dining room] and service were perfect.

I certainly hope to stay there again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank takki2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nobuaki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank しかごあん
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016
1  Thank mahalo_nui77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank α
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Onakatayotayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ito hotels
Izukogen Onsen
Abba Resorts Zagyosoh
Abba Resorts Zagyosoh
#11 of 192 in Ito
64 reviews
Izukogen Onsen
Hotel Village Izukogen
Ito Onsen
Resort Hotel Kawana
Resort Hotel Kawana
#8 of 192 in Ito
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Izukogen Onsen
Hanafubuki
Hanafubuki
#3 of 192 in Ito
97 reviews
Ito Onsen
Yokikan
Yokikan
#2 of 192 in Ito
287 reviews
Ito Onsen
Seizanyamato
Seizanyamato
#6 of 192 in Ito
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DHC Akazawa Geihinkan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DHC Akazawa Geihinkan

Address: 1754-114-3 Yawatano, Ito 413-0232, Shizuoka Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Shizuoka Prefecture > Ito > Izukogen Onsen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Ito
Price Range: £261 - £901 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ikyu Corporation, Agoda and Rakuten so you can book your DHC Akazawa Geihinkan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DHC Akazawa Geihinkan Japan/Ito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing