We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to station and cheap”
Review of My Hotel Ryugu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
My Hotel Ryugu
Ranked #30 of 84 Hotels / Ryokan in Shizuoka
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Close to station and cheap”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed in a triple bed room into which they had put another bed for us. It was very cheap at 16000 yen for the four of us including breakfast. The room was modern, very clean and still had some space to move around even with 4 beds in it. The hotel was happy to arrange non-feather bedding for us.

The location is great, very central and close to the shops, the bus station and the JR train station.

Breakfast was a little odd (we had the choice of Western, Japanese or congee, and chose Western, which consisted of cold scrambled eggs, salad, toast, donut and miso soup) but it was OK. However they ran out of the Western style option on the second day, and also they were too busy to serve us at 7.30am as there were large groups from schools and companies, so we had to wait for 30 min; by the time we went back, there was no coffee left... a small tragedy for us. Get your breakfast coupons for the next day early in the day.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    12
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
7
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Redland City, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

This is a recently renovated hotel in a great location close to the CENOVA department store and Shin Shizuoka Station. The rooms are very clean and spacious for Japanese rooms and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Make sure you specify a non-smoking room if you are not a smoker. The cleaning staff try very hard t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HungryFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Biking our way from Mt. Fuji to Kyoto, on arriving late in Shizuoka we wanted a clean, centrally located hotel for a reasonable price. Using the booking.com app we found the My Hotel Ryugu and biked there. Upon arrival we were looked at somewhat strangely coming in on bike, but where immediately offered to park our own bikes inside in the lobby. There were also hotel bikes in the lobby which could be used by guests.

Hotel was a clean standard Japanese business style hotel, so no real high- or lowlights to report. Just clean, albeit smallish room with comfy beds. Wifi was not available in the room but we were able to borrow a free wifi router from the reception to hook up to the wired connection.

The staff directed us to a great Japanese restaurant a few mins away which I can really recommend. Breakfast was at the hotel and was good.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Menno V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2012

The concierge were friendly and welcoming.
We were able to take some bicycles and ride around.
Very close to the station and department stores.
Despite having a non-smoking room, their was an ashtray right outside our room next to the elevator which then wafted inside.
If only non-smoking applied to the whole floor...

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the elevator. It can be quite noisy if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adieux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shizuoka hotels
Shizuoka Station
Smile Hotel Shizuoka
Smile Hotel Shizuoka
#9 of 84 in Shizuoka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Shizuoka Station
Shizuoka Daiichi Hotel
Shizuoka Daiichi Hotel
#33 of 84 in Shizuoka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Hotel Abant Shizuoka
#45 of 84 in Shizuoka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shizuoka Station
Hotel Dorf Shizuoka
Hotel Dorf Shizuoka
#11 of 84 in Shizuoka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Shizuoka Station
Shizuoka Town Hotel
Shizuoka Town Hotel
#18 of 84 in Shizuoka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Hotel Ryugu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Hotel Ryugu

Property: My Hotel Ryugu
Address: 10-5 Tenmacho, Aoi-ku, Shizuoka 420-0858 , Shizuoka Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Shizuoka Prefecture > Shizuoka > Shizuoka Station
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 84 Hotels / Ryokan in Shizuoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — My Hotel Ryugu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Rakuten, Ctrip TA and Hotel.de so you can book your My Hotel Ryugu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing