We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near Perfect Hotel With the Perfect View”
Review of Nippondaira Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nippondaira Hotel
Ranked #1 of 84 Hotels / Ryokan in Shizuoka
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Barker, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Near Perfect Hotel With the Perfect View”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My young daughter and I first stayed at this hotel (in its old guise) in 2008 and were thoroughly impressed with the view over the gardens, Shimizu, and of Mt Fuji. The hotel was a little dated and I remarked to my Japanese friend, at the time, that it wasn't the best hotel I'd ever stayed at, but it certainly had the best view. Since then; it has been completely demolished, and in 2013 a brilliant new hotel stands in its place. This time it was hard to fault: Gleaming with well appointed facilities and the same inspirational view (when weather permitted). A top-notch hotel in every way.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    57
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
90
39
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
179 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Nippondaira is a large, new hotel on a mountain overlooking Shizuoka with great views of Mount Fuji. The views are framed by an expansive meadow, bordered by dense tree stands that abut a steeply sloping tea plantation. Stone sculptures mark the direction to the Great Mountain.
We gave the building absolutely top marks for architecture and interior design. Modern, clear and clean lines and lay out, superb quality external materials tastefully and expertly selected, a great lobby with tall glass walls oriented toward Mount Fuji, generous and well appointed rooms, distinguished flower arrangements in all public areas; it all comes together as a harmonious and impressive accomplishment. The “hardware” is clearly outstanding and is enhanced by the memorable views. The “software”, personnel and service, are not of the same class and still have a long way to go. The problem is insufficient training and professionalism; personnel is friendly and polite but often clueless and uninformed.
There are no nearby restaurants, so the guest has to rely on the facilities available in the hotel. We tried the Japanese restaurant and were thoroughly unimpressed by the quality of the food and the preparation. The Western restaurant fared better in our opinion but had very limited a la cart choices with an overemphasis on fixed menus. The breakfast buffet was fine and enjoyable.
Pricing for accommodations are reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Semperviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
200 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My wife and I stayed for one night in October and thoughly
enjoyed the stay. The service is excellent and the views
from the lounge is extraordinary of the bay and Mt. Fuji
when it is not shrouded in the clouds.
We will definitely stay again when we are in Shizuoka.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rp-yp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Nippondaira hotel - has a fantastic location up in a large green area, with view to Mount Fudji - Japans largest moutain of 3776 metres, as well as to the large harbour; Shimizu. The wedding party for a Norwegian/Japanese couple were really "Wedding of the Year", 6 course menu served by top qualified staff in superb located facilities! Thanks to everyone for lifetime memory!

Room Tip: Rooms with view Mount Fuji.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OddNergaardSkaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shizuoka hotels
Shizuoka Station
Hotel Associa Shizuoka
Hotel Associa Shizuoka
#2 of 84 in Shizuoka
229 reviews
Shizuoka Station
Hotel Century Shizuoka
Hotel Century Shizuoka
#4 of 84 in Shizuoka
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Vista Shimizu
#9 of 84 in Shizuoka
89 reviews
Shizuoka Station
Hotel Garden Square Shizuoka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nippondaira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nippondaira Hotel

Property: Nippondaira Hotel
Address: 1500-2 Shimizu-ku Mabase, Shizuoka 424-0875, Shizuoka Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Shizuoka Prefecture > Shizuoka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 84 Hotels / Ryokan in Shizuoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nippondaira Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nippondaira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing