We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dormy Inn consistency for budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dormy Inn Kurashiki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I really like the Dormy Inn chain. You always know what you're getting and in my opinion it is good quality value for money.

As previous posters have said, it's very conveniently located (just keep in mind the entry is not on the main street, but just around the corner.) There is a convenience store on the corner which is handy if, like us, you prefer not to eat breakfast in the hotel. And there are so many restaurants within walking distance you'll be spoilt for choice for dinner. The Canal area starts just across the street, so perfect for tourists.

The room was clean and compact. There was space to store our suitcases (standing on their side) under the bench. Good sized beds and non-smoking room always makes for a comfortable night's sleep.

As with all Dormy Inn's there are onsen type baths on the top floor with laundry facilities as well. Personally I preferred to wash there instead of in the bathroom in the room. The bathroom was a shower cubicle that looked slightly aged, although the rest of the hotel seemed to be quite new. Whereas upstairs the wash areas were very well fitted out with everything you needed. Plus the bonus of a relaxing hot soak.

The hotel staff were very helpful. Our suitcases were ready and waiting for us at checkin(we had them sent by takuhaibin)

I can't really say we had a great view from our room, but it was irrelevant as the best place to be in Kurashiki is walking the historic streets with the all the wonderful galleries.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hoppyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 54 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

Stayed for a week in this friendly and best value/quality hotel in beautiful Kurashiki.
Twin room was surprisingly big, beds really comfy. The only negative thing - there was no wardrobe or closet, so all our clothes were on chairs and tables.
Onsen was nice, there was one pool inside and other outside. To be in hot water in cool night, raindrops on face - such a joy...
Washing machine + dryer next to onsen.
At 21.30 they served ramen to them who wanted (big and tasty bowl).
Reception staff was very very nice and friendly.
Hotel situated next to Bikan area, 10 minutes from Station. We had breakfast in Mermaid-cafe in station, good coffee and big choice of fresh bakery.
For daytrips we cycled in Kibiji, visited Tomonoura and small island there, went to Shikoku Kotohira and made udon in a small factory. Also Kurashiki has plenty to do, specially if you like art.

Room Tip: Seems that twin rooms are bigger then double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GirlWithPearlEarring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Dormy Inn is an excellent budget choice in Kurashiki, with extras I wouldn't have expected in a budget hotel. Its location is fantastic, just across the road from the entrance to the Bikan historical district, and an easy 10 minute walk from the station on flat ground. (When you come out of the station, take the exit for the Bikan historical district and it's basically the street that stretches out in front of you. There's a lift down to bus stop number 2 which is on street level. Stay on the same level as the station exit and walk to the bus stop area in front of you. It's sort of U-shape - you'll know what I mean when you see it - so you can't walk straight to it, you have to go around the side and then back to the middle.)
The hotel is quite new and in the evening extremely busy with business people checking in. The staff are very helpful. The room is fairly basic but clean and reasonably spacious given that it's a budget hotel. The bed was extremely comfortable though the pillow wasn't great. (But it wasn't terrible.) There is a kettle and LAN internet access, a pain if you only have a smart phone. There are two computers in the lobby which are free. No safe - I took my stuff to reception.
The 'bathroom' is essentially a shower cubicle and toilet (see photo) with the basin in the main room. The fabulous thing though is that there is an onsen (natural hot spring) in the hotel which you can use for free. Onsens aren't normally my thing but after hours of walking around town I needed a hot bath. It was great! Really lovely and fantastic showering facilities (you wash before getting into the bath), plus lockers, hairdryers, toiletries etc supplied. (NB I only saw the women's part.) It's open pretty much all night and the women's one has a security code. Tip: the signs are in Japanese but when you go in there are two baskets with tokens. They have to pay a tax according to how many people use the baths so when you go move one of the tokens from the full basket into the other one so they count you.
They provide cotton 'pyjamas' - sort of traditional kimono style top and pants - and slippers and you can walk all around the hotel in them. Between 9.30-11pm they offer free ramen in the dining area downstairs - it was full of people in their cotton pjs and slippers eating ramen. They were tasty.
Breakfast is not included but for 1100 yen there was a big spread. They do omelettes to order.
Highly recommended. I'm giving the room a 'very good' because it was a budget room and therefore quite basic but for the price I paid it was excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Neve97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed here two nights, great location in Kurashiki, only a 10 minute walk from the station. The staff were nice although most didn't speak any English (but we're in Japan so that's obviously understandable). The facilities are great - onsen on the 9th floor is an excellent bonus. The breakfast is fantastic, and they even serve soba noodles complimentary after 9:30pm. The rooms were clean and comfortable, nice soft beds and useful ensuite. Would definitely stay here if we were to return to Kurashiki again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We are seasoned Japan travelers but we came with friends from Hawaii who were here for the first time and Dormy Inn made everyone happy. The hotel is far enough from the train station so there is no train noise, plus it is right across from the entrance to the Historical District and great food. Clean, smoke-free rooms with a big shower, comfortable beds, quiet refrigerator in room, WiFi in lobby and a great onsen in the hotel. Not a problem with English or anything. A super value!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the onset floor, but away from the elevators and you should be happy. If your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mkwisner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Very nice modern hotel just across the historic places and museum. Rooms with nice size (for Japan!!), better than the other Dormy Inn we stayed (in Kanazawa).
Very clean, breakfast with good combination of western and japanese food.
Very convenient car park in the back of the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jppataki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The hotel is definitely very much nicer thant it looks from outside: the hotel seems very new and fresh, rooms are extremely clean, quite large and well equipped. There is a fabulous onsen on the 9th and last floor ( men and women apart) , a laundry room with dryer, free hot coffee in the morning and 2 computers for the guests. The location is perfect : a 10 min walk from the train station and right in front of the entrance of the historic center. Besides the staff if very professional and helpful and there is a convenience store right at the corner.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Londra_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kurashiki hotels
Kurashiki Station
Kurashiki Ivy Square
Kurashiki Ivy Square
#2 of 40 in Kurashiki
255 reviews
Kurashiki Station
Kurashiki Royal Art Hotel
Kurashiki Royal Art Hotel
#5 of 40 in Kurashiki
256 reviews
Kurashiki Station
Kurashiki Kokusai Hotel
Kurashiki Kokusai Hotel
#3 of 40 in Kurashiki
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kurashiki Station
APA Hotel Kurashiki Ekimae
APA Hotel Kurashiki Ekimae
#32 of 40 in Kurashiki
172 reviews
Kurashiki Station
Court Hotel Kurashiki
Court Hotel Kurashiki
#8 of 40 in Kurashiki
80 reviews
Kurashiki Seaside Hotel
#18 of 40 in Kurashiki
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dormy Inn Kurashiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy Inn Kurashiki

Address: 3-21-11 Achi, Kurashiki 710-0046, Okayama Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chugoku > Okayama Prefecture > Kurashiki > Kurashiki Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels / Ryokan in Kurashiki
Price Range: £54 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dormy Inn Kurashiki 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Rakuten, Hotels.com, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dormy Inn Kurashiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing