We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (533)
Filter reviews
533 results
Traveller rating
252
240
37
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
252
240
37
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews corner room convenience store jr station the main street japanese standards hard mattress korakuen garden post office lovely hotel quiet at night staff were really friendly restaurants and bars good size loved this hotel price range buffet breakfast information pack
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 533 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2017

This hotel was perfect for our visit to Okayama. Location is great...beside the canal, surrounded by restaurants (the hotel website has recommendations and reception provides their own map with locations), easy walk from station (with our carry-on size luggage) and to the gardens. Rooms are modern, comfortable, clean, all facilities provided (and if you don't like the pillows, ask for a softer one, easy!). Breakfast was good, broad selection, but busy so maybe go early. Pottery displays on each floor are lovely. For the service I would give 10 stars if possible - after early inquires re a Kodo Taiko concert in Okayama, reception purchased tickets on own behalf and held them without payment until we arrived - many, many thanks to all staff, especially to Nasa. It is a lovely city and we would certainly stay at the Koraku Hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ollie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kooraku_okayama, マネージャー at Okayama Koraku Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2017

Dear our guests; Mr ollie51
Thank you very much for your wonderful review and awarding us a 5 star rating !
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and above all the concert of KODO that night.
It is our pleasure to response any requests of our guests as much as possible.
Once again thank you very much, we do hope to welcome you back again in the near future.
Warm regards, Nasa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

We used Okayama as "base camp" for day trips to Hiroshima and Naoshima (which worked out really well, if anyone's trying to plan something similar!). This hotel worked out very nicely. We got a corner room, which was huge compared to most of the places we stayed at in Japan. Nothing is spectacularly hip or unique, but the lobby and room were perfectly nice, modern, and clean. It's only about a 7 min walk from the train station, about 10-15 walk from the Korakuen garden and Okayama castle, and close to many restaurants and bars. The hotel gave us a very nice list of restaurants and bars they recommend - we tried two of the restaurants and one of the bars, and all were great. The lobby staff was friendly and helpful, and even helped us make some reservations for Tokyo where we were staying at an AirBnB. Our only minor complaint is that the pillows are really hard (I'm not even picky about pillows, these were just that hard).

Room Tip: Corner room was really big and comfortable, looked out on the canal, and even had a nice big couch.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwynedd D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nasashiojiri, マネージャー at Okayama Koraku Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2017

Dear our guest:
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your reveiew following your recent stay. I am so pleased we could support your comfortable stay.
However, I am very sorry you found our pillow hard, we would be happy anytime to replace it to the softer one upon request. We are also planning to set softer pillows in each guest room to improve quality of our bedding.
Thank you for giving us your honest opinion,
We are looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Kind regards, Nasa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016

No other way to describe it , other than to say their pillows had a heavy pebble, bean bag-like filling which made them impossible to use. We've never experienced anything like this before.

We didn't bother asking for a replacement which room information noted was available if you wished a "softer pillow."

They had a good list of nearby restaurants. (See my reviews of Kamon S Okonomiyaki, Teppan Ku-Ya and Yayoiken Okayamaeki.)

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank tennismaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kooraku_okayama, マネージャー at Okayama Koraku Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2017

Dear our guest:
Thank you for having posted your review on Tripadvisor regarding your last visit to Koraku Hotel.
We should apologise for not having been able to provide you the softer pillow in spite of the Japanese style hard pillow.
We would be happy to replace the pillows anytime guests request for that.
I hope there should be the next time to welcome you back again, and that you rest without any worries about beddings.
Once again thank you very much, and we look forward to serving you again in the not too distant future.
Kind regards, Nasa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2016

We stayed there for one night on our way from Fukuoka to Osaka by way of Shinkansen so our grand kid could have a break from the train trip. The hotel was only a 5 minutes walk from the JR station with many restaurants nearby. The hotel was well kept and staff were family, helpful and very polite. The famous Japanese garden was only a leisure 10 minutes walk from the hotel. We would like to in the future to spend more time to explore Okayama and come back to stay at the same hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank aycl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kooraku_okayama, マネージャー at Okayama Koraku Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2017

Dear our guest:
We are very happy to hear you stopped over at Okayama before Osaka and you had a good time with us having explored a bit of our town.
Please come back and spend more time in Okayama next time of your visit.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family again in the near future.
Best regards, Nasa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016

We stayed here just one night, and were glad we did - until we went to breakfast.

Nicely located between the station and the castle/Koraku Garden area, in an area with plenty of restaurants. Staff were very pleasant at check in. Room full of thoughtful touches, like the hand-drawn map of local attracrions recommended by the staff. Very user-friendly for English speakers. Very comfortable nights sleep in a good bed in a comfortable room.

Then the horror of breakfast. There was evidence of a wide variety of appetising food, but it was mostly all gone when we got there, although there was still over an hour to go before the end of breakfast time. We lingered, hoping we had just come at a bad time and the dishes were about to be replenished. They were - after a fasion. With great fanfare, the staff produced - milk. Then about 8 minutes later, butter. I can understand that cooked dishes take a while to replenish. We waited for 25 minutes and none of them was. Things that don't need preparation, like juice, were replaced but at very long intervals. What a pity.

We would still recommend the hotel, though.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Stephenbkk20156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kooraku_okayama, マネージャー at Okayama Koraku Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2017

Dear our guest:
Thank you for having posted your review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay.
We are very sorry for the breakfast time that ended to be far to fulfill your satisfaction, we apologise deeply.
However, we appreciate for your generous comments on us after the shameful service and behavior of the restaurant.
Your comments have been passed on to the restaurant team and we are to prove our restaurant service as quick as possible to make all our guests enjoy breakfast and to support to start a good day.
We really hope there should be a next time to welcome you back again.
Kind regards, Nasa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews