We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rambling to the Ark”
Review of Ark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ark Hotel
Ranked #24 of 62 Hotels / Ryokan in Okayama
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 27 October 2009

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 65 reviews

An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 9 October 2009

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 May 2005

We stayed at the Ark Hotel in Okayama for three nights. The main lobby of this business-class hotel is large, modern and has a cocktail lounge plus a restaurant with a fixed-price buffet breakfast and lunch. Based on the lobby set-up and advertising, it was clear that the hotel's main attraction was its wedding facilities. (Unfortunately, there were no weddings while we were there.)

Our double room on the 10th floor was small, but adequate. Unlike several other hotels we stayed in, however, the TV was not bilingual (what we call SAP in the USA) so only Japanese programming was available.

The hotel location is excellent, about five minutes' walk south from the Okayama train station and only a couple of short blocks from the Lawson's and 7-11 convenience stores where we bought breakfast supplies. A hint for bad weather days: instead of leaving the Okayama station, follow the signs to the south exit. There is a tunnel there that ends at a parking lot which is only one block from the hotel entrance. (You can also get there through the large underground shopping mall beneath the station plaza.)

The following "deficiencies" are only with respect to similar hotels we stayed in throughout Japan: there was no Internet access at all (either in the room or in the lobby), breakfast was not included in the rate we paid for the room, there were no copies of maps, etc. in English (or any language other than Japanese) and no one on the staff spoke English. If not for the Beiks translating dictionary on my Palm PDA we would have been lost.

Although we would stay at the Ark again, we would probably look for another hotel first.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rogerrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Max H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: 早めの予約でお安く泊まれます
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Takashi Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank snowow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Okayama hotels
Okayama Station
Okayama Washington Hotel Plaza
Okayama Station
Hotel Granvia Okayama
Hotel Granvia Okayama
#5 of 62 in Okayama
459 reviews
Comfort Hotel Okayama
#8 of 62 in Okayama
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Okayama Station
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Okayama Ekimae
Okayama Station
Ana Crowne Plaza Okayama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ark Hotel

Address: 2-6-1 Shimoishii, Okayama 700-0907, Okayama Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chugoku > Okayama Prefecture > Okayama > Okayama Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 62 Hotels / Ryokan in Okayama
Price Range: £50 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Agoda, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ark Hotel Okayama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing