We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to fault this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mitsui Garden Hotel Okayama
Ranked #3 of 62 Hotels / Ryokan in Okayama
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hard to fault this hotel”
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We only stayed one night but would have liked five! We were in Okayama en route for Naoshima and fell in love with the place. The hotel is very well placed and is unbeatable value, with spacious rooms (for Japan ...), a great public bath on the 10th floor, excellent staff and a nice ambiance.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    300
    63
    10
    2
See reviews for
100
86
93
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Japan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Pros:
Nice modern Japanese design with clean compact rooms. The hotel was recently renovated and reopened a couple months ago. The air cleaner is an additional bonus.
Very polite, efficient and professional staff. We were greeted each time we passed room attendants, the restaurant waitress and the front desk staff.
Beautifully designed public bath on the 10th floor with a very relaxing atmosphere.
Great variety of fresh food with local produce at the breakfast buffet. They even served curry, yakisoba and udon.
Location highly recommended as it is walking distance to Okayama Station. Convenient to visit Naoshima Island, Kurashiki and the Korakuen park.
Their amenities set is very complete. It includes a night wear (yukata), slippers and a full bathroom set . We were able to travel very lightly.
Free LAN internet although they do not offer wireless.

Cons:
There was a funny old smell in the room despite the room being recently fully renovated. Unfortunately the air cleaner could not remove the smell.

Room Tip: No need to bring your night wear!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TkVoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

I stayed at Mitsui Garden Hotel Okayama for 2 nights in March 2009. The room (17.1m2 type C single room) was booked by the city of Okayama.

The hotel is about 2 minutes walk distance from the Okayama JR station and the bus stop.Type C room is a little bit more specious with an extra small round table and chair. I requested a quiet room and was given the one at the of the long hall way. Yes it was very quiet. The room was clean and comfortable for single occupancy. The breakfast buffet was good.

I had a great stay. Recommend!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pooh_bear_tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kobe, Japan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2010

The best thing about this hotel is the location. It's right by Okayama station. The rates are reasonable too, and there's a Japanese bath (though I didn't try it out). However, the rooms are tiny and spartan. There was nothing I had a problem with, but there was nothing that impressed me. There is 1000 yen breakfast buffet but I wouldn't recommend it. This is a hotel for someone who has to be right by the station and doesn't want to pay much.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank max736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2009

We were in this hotel for one night. I don't recommend it. The beds were old and I could feel the springs in the bed, very bad night. The room is small and there is no comfort whatsoever. Internet in rooms was very slow. The situation near the station however is convenient but next time in Okayama we'll probably go to Hotel Granvia.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurentJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2006

Very good business hotel. Location is excellent, 5 min walk from the station. Not expensive, around 10 000 yens for a twin.
Walking distance from the shopping area.
Very nice Onsen (hot bath) on the last floor, with a view on a japanese garden.
Good restaurants around.
Defenitly a good option.
Mistsui have a few hotel trough Japan, good website in english, reservation online.
Best business hotel I stayed in, especially for that price.

Helpful?
5 Thank Kikoparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Okayama hotels
Okayama Station
Ana Crowne Plaza Okayama
Okayama Koraku Hotel
#1 of 62 in Okayama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Okayama Station
Hotel Granvia Okayama
Hotel Granvia Okayama
#5 of 62 in Okayama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Okayama Station
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Okayama Ekimae
Via inn Okayama
#4 of 62 in Okayama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Comfort Hotel Okayama
#8 of 62 in Okayama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsui Garden Hotel Okayama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsui Garden Hotel Okayama

Property: Mitsui Garden Hotel Okayama
Address: 1-7 Ekimotomachi, Okayama 700-0024, Okayama Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chugoku > Okayama Prefecture > Okayama
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Okayama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mitsui Garden Hotel Okayama 3.5*
Number of rooms: 352
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mitsui Garden Hotel Okayama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsui Garden Okayama
Okayama Mitsui Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing