We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family run ryokan (Japanese traditional inn)”
Review of Inn Terazuya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn Terazuya
Ranked #28 of 64 Hotels / Ryokan in Matsue
Reviewed 19 August 2009

Located only five minutes walk away from the train station, simply furnished yet comfortable rooms and above all, friendly and welcoming staff and owners.
Both Japanese breakfast and diner were delicious.
If you are looking for true Japanese atmosphere but not fussy about having to share bathroom facilities and ok to sleep on a futon, this place is a real bargain, I will definitely return !

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrifterParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2007

We agree with the other reviews - this place is very cheap and the hosts are wonderfully accommodating and anxious to help tourists enjoy their stay. The toilets and washrooms are shared, basic facilities, so do not book if this is a concern. The ryokan is well-used and in need of maintenance. Also, the walls are thin, so you can be disturbed by other guests if they are noisy - as we found with a family from France who shouted at each other down the hall. The train tracks are adjacent to one side of the building, and there is a street and a temple on the other side. At 6 a.m. the temple drum sounds woke me - since we left the windows open a bit - I don't know how my wife slept through it ! This place has the feel of a hostel so would be great for younger guests or families with young children or teenagers.

Our host entertained us with some Noh singing and a gift of calligraphy. Mr Terazu took me over to the temple to get an explanation from the priest when I asked why they had a statue of a cow. Both of our hosts came out of the Ryokan and waved when we set off for the station. There was a very homey, welcoming feel to this place. I would stay again, but my wife would want to have a cleaner, quieter spot with our own bathroom, even if it cost more.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank SlowPilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2005

Very friendly family that runs this Japanese inn. The owner speaks some English which made booking by phone much easier. He will also come to pick you up from the train station! The rooms are very simple, Japanese style rooms, but very clean and with heater/air con and tv. The bath and bathrooms are communal. The stay without meals is 4000 yen (~40 USD) per person per night. Add another 7000 yen (~70 USD) per person for dinner and breakfast. Per other guides the meals were rated excellent, which is understandable as this friendly couple also runs a restaurant adjacent to the ryokan.
In the morning, they made us coffee and took about an hour of their time showing us Japanese tea ceremony, calligraphy, and Noh style singing!! What an amazing experience! Indeed their inn is filled with pictures from other visitors thanking them for a wonderful experience.
I would definately stay here again if I ever return to Matsue. I gave this a 4/5 because of the simple furnishings, but this of course is part of the whole Japan experience. Take a chance and forget the large hotels and experience the real hospitality of this wonderful Japanese family!

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Garrett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
Thank Asumj0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank Liang1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hiroyuki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Dormir à la japonaise, c'est dormir sur un futon dans une chambre avec tatamis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Claudine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matsue hotels
Matsueshinjiko Onsen
Matsue New Urban Hotel Annex
Matsue Station
Matsue Urban Hotel Lakeinn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Matsueshinjiko Onsen
Hotel Ichibata
Hotel Ichibata
#13 of 64 in Matsue
211 reviews
Toyoko Inn Matsue Ekimae
#15 of 64 in Matsue
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn Terazuya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn Terazuya

Address: 60-3 Tenjin-machi, Matsue 690-0064, Shimane Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chugoku > Shimane Prefecture > Matsue
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 64 Hotels / Ryokan in Matsue
Price Range: £30 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Rakuten so you can book your Inn Terazuya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing