We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good service and comfortable lobby”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Forest of Akan Tsuruga Resort Hanayuuka
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels / Ryokan in Kushiro
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very good service and comfortable lobby”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Although my wife and I arrived hotel before check-in time (12:30pm), the room was ready for us. The front desk staff provide very good service to proceed our check-in and lead us to our room in person. After leave our baggage, she briefed us all service in hotel and the emergency situation with good English. The Japanese style room is clean and not so big but it is enough. Everything are clean and clear, no luxury decoration and equipment with comfortable atmosphere. The bath room is very small and minimal because nobody will bath in their room. Hot Spring is the major activity here. There have a standard hot spring public bathing and is located at 1/F of hotel building. Guests also can take the free shuttle bus to the group’s sister hotel Akan Yuku no Sato TSURUGA for the luxury hot spring baths. For the dining, it is buffet dinner, food quality is good especial steak and own made beef hot pot (Subu-sabu). Finally, my wife and I enjoy here so much and very appreciate the front desk's good service.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julian_Kan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    79
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
77
23
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Stay there for 2 nights, food was nice and the room was good.
The hot spring area is a bit small but they have shuttle bus to transport you to the other 2 hotels at the area under the group.
Most staffs english is very poor but you know they are trying their best to serve and help you.
Location is good as it is located at the side of the lake, it only takes us few minutes to enjoy the winter activites.
We had a very nice view room ovelooking the frozen lake. Of cos the price of one night is not cheap but it is already the cheapest among the same group hotel at the same area.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights to kick off our holiday – landed in Kushiro and picked up the rental care 1.5 hours to Lake Akan. Note, you can only check in after 3pm – before this time, you can sign in and leave your bags, and even have the valet park your car, but can't use the room.

When I first booked the room, the strong impression I had was that this was the poorer cousin in theTsuruga group, which boasts another resort on the other side of the little town, called Tsuruga Wings. But, having seen both, I have t say that I enjoyed the ambience at Hanayuukawith much more. It's more cosy with a French feel, and with lovely vistas onto the lake from the lounge and the breakfast areas, it was very connected to nature. There were not as many people here, which made this more intimate. The onsen we knew from the pictures was going to be basic – no windows, this was just two basic hot pools and a sauna. The pools were not as hot as I would have liked, no more than 38 degrees, although the sauna was good.

As it turns out, when you stay at Hanayuuka, you get to use the onsen facilities at Wings for free, and there is an on-demand shuttle that brings you door to door, a 3 minute ride away. The onsen there was great, a good tip is to go use this during the day to enjoy the outdoor onsens overlooking the lake – we went in the evening, where the views were much more limited. Ladies' onsen on the 1st floor, take the escalator down, Men's on the 8th floor. Just go with your towels from the hotel in the brown bag provided. We went dressed in our normal clothes, the onsen at the Wings had large lockers to store your belongings, and shoe lockers as well. In our 2 day stay, we managed to use it once, other times we simply used the Hanayuka shower and onsen areas for convenience. At Wings, the hotel ambience was more corporate and cold – huge lobby ceilings, elaborate wood scuptures on marble plinths, winding lobby hall with many small breakout areas. The high point here was the aquarium tank of marimos by the shop – beautiful and better than the ones at the Eco Musuem!

Back to Hanyuuka, the service by the restaurant staff and the car valet was superb, very friendly and appeared genuinely cheerful. The room we booked, lakeside view Japanese with Western beds, was lovely – design seems to be modern with traditional accents, no tatamis, instead there was a raised dais with a large bay window with cushions, overlooking the lake. Everything was clean, and there was a vanity area and modern basin. The bathroom as in most onsen hotels, was very small. (You're expected to shower at the onsen). We were on the top floor, on the quiet side, which was greatly appreciated – we had asked for a quiet room and thankfully most of the other guests on the same floor seemed to be on the other end. We booked the stay with buffet breakfast and dinner – 2 days was more than eat to our heart's content – good variety of Japanese and Chinese fare, although not enough seasonal and local Japanese fare I felt – we were looking to sample local food that could not be found easily overseas, but most of the items available were familiar to us. The ice cream was excellent – there was a flavour called “shio” which means salt (there are 2 white ice creams – milk and shio) this was savoury and a very interesting flavour. Tip – good coffee is hard to find, you're better off picking up hot cans from the local Seven-Eleven conveninece stores.

On the day that we checked out, they had anticipated this and brought our car out front, which was a nice touch. Check out was a breeze. Despite us not speaking much Japanese (my partner speaks a smattering) we had no issues at all. Overall a great stay for 2 nights.

Tips: Book early! We booked 2 months in advance and got a great rate – they have rates based on 55 day and 28 day advance booking. Ask for a high level, quiet room, and specify if you'd like smoking/non-smoking.

Room Tip: Book early! We booked 2 months in advance and got a great rate – they have rates based on 55 day and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank XavierZen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed in this hotel and booked through our travel agent and has made it extremely clear that we wanted a western style room. But when we checked in, we were allocated the japanese style. It took a very long time to get it switched but service was pretty good and the staff was fairly friendly. We had our package with dinner buffet and it was of good value. The restaurant was located overlooking the lake and we got to see the sunset also!!! But don't have too high expectations of the room.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fluffc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed at the hotel Hanayuka in February for one night in a traditional Japanese room. Yes, the hotel has seen better days and the onzen was not great here but, the room was huge we had a great view overlooking the frozen lake below. We went for a walk on the lake, which was an experience but, boy was it cold, especially at dusk.
The real highlight of our stay at this hotel was the buffet dinner and breakfast which were both absolutely 1st class. An incredible choice of absolutely delicious foods.
We had read from other reviews that the trick was to take the free shuttle bus to the sister hotel, which we did, we went to Akan Yuku-No-Sato to visit the onzen. Boy, you really need to make the effort to visit the onzen here as it is simply the best ever onzen that we have ever seen. My son and I thought that the men’s onzen was really good with its roof top outdoor pool and countless indoor pools until we met up with my wife and she described the women’s bath. The men’s and women’s onzen change over each day around midday each day, so we decided in the morning to make a quick dash down the road back to visit what my wife had experienced the night before. It was absolutely fantastic with even more pools at different levels and a cave pool plus a beautiful outdoor pool.
Our only regret was that we stayed only one night at Akan lake and I would really recommend that you stay at least two nights to really enjoy this beautiful snow covered area.
One last point, if you are looking to spot the red headed crane, do forget to visit the International Crane Centre on the way back to Kushiro, well worth the visit, there would have been at least 50 cranes there and only about 50 dead keen photographers trying to snap the ultimate picture with their gigantic telephoto lenses.

Room Tip: Make sure you use the onzen at the sister hotel Yuku-no-Sato via the free shuttle bus
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichelWy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
448 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2010

Hana yuka belongs to the Tsuruga group. Its style is a mix of Japanese and Western style. I have chosen to stay 1 night with dinner and breakfast buffet included. Service was excellent. The hotel has a contract with the Akan bus and it requires an advanced reservation. The bus picked us up at Kushiro bus terminal at 2 pm. It took about 40 minutes one way to Lake Akan onsen area and the bus let off people at different hotels. Since Hana yuka and Tsuruga are sister hotels, we could use hot spring facilities at both facilities. A shuttle bus runs between the 2 hotels to escort guests. Room was a mixed tatami style sitting area and western style beds. Coffee machine, green tea, hot water pot were all provided. I was assigned a room facing the frozen lake. Dinner buffet started at 6 pm. It had all-you-can-eat nabe/hot pot,, grilled sirloin cubes, grilled scallops, sashimi, eggplants, rice, gelato, cakes. I was pretty happy with the food quality.. Even though it was a buffet, food quality and quantity was not compromised. Breakfast buffet had rice congee, miso soup, omelet, tofu etc. I was most satisfied with the cosharing of the hot spring facilities. Tsuruga hotel has excellent hotspring facilities. It has an open-air hot spring and a variety of different hotspring pools. Hana yuka also has hot spring facility but a little more modest.
I would recommend this hotel to a friend

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank singinggigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAN FRANCISCO
Level Contributor
71 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Hanayuka is nothing to write home about. It is situation right next to a beautiful lake Akan under the volcano. Staff is OK and the head boss speaks excellent English. The room is outdated but clean. It does has a very charming "robby" (japanese does not have the "Lo" sound. It has seen better days for sure.

The restaurant serves a decent buffet for breakfast and dinner. Food selection is good but not every item is tasty. The restaurant does have a nice view of the lake, which is nice during breakfast.

The hot spa is OK, also seen better days. You can use the sister hotel's numerous hot spa (which i assume is better) but you have to get over there on their free shuttle, which is kind of a hassle.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCTAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kushiro
Akanko Onsen
New Akan Hotel
New Akan Hotel
#16 of 47 in Kushiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Akanko Onsen
Hotel Akankoso
Hotel Akankoso
#18 of 47 in Kushiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Akanko Onsen
La Vista Kushirogawa
La Vista Kushirogawa
#3 of 47 in Kushiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Akanko Onsen
Hotel Gozensui
Hotel Gozensui
#23 of 47 in Kushiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Kussharo Prince Hotel
#1 of 27 in Teshikaga-cho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest of Akan Tsuruga Resort Hanayuuka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest of Akan Tsuruga Resort Hanayuuka

Property: Forest of Akan Tsuruga Resort Hanayuuka
Address: 1-6-1 Akanko-Onsen Akancho, Kushiro 085-0467, Hokkaido
Region: Japan > Hokkaido > Kushiro > Akanko Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Onsen Hotel in Kushiro
#4 Spa Hotel in Kushiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Forest of Akan Tsuruga Resort Hanayuuka 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Forest of Akan Tsuruga Resort Hanayuuka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanayuka Hotel Kushiro
Forest Of Akan Tsuruga Resort Hanayuuka Kushiro, Japan - Hokkaido

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing