We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
La Vista Kushirogawa
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels / Ryokan in Kushiro
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is the third visit to the town in recent years, as an exit point from Hokkaido, and this hotel was by far the best of the three we have used (ANA Crowne, and Prince). La Vista is a Dormy Hotel and caters to a business and local clientele, and offers value for money. In common with other Dormy’s this hotel was spotlessly clean and thoroughly efficient. We opted for a Tatami room. The rooms are a good size, make excellent use of space, practically and cleanly furnished and look as though they have been recently refurbished. Providing an iPhone/Micro USB charger in the room is a nice touch. Free wifi throughout the hotel. There is an Onsen on the rooftop and a small restaurant on the ground floor, which serves a good value and good quality Japanese breakfast buffet. We were very impressed with this hotel. The location beside the Nemuro bridge can’t be bettered for the little that Kushiro has to offer; the MOO centre is over the road (and includes a JP ATM offering Cirrus and Maestro withdrawals), and the Washo seatood market (with excellent food stalls) is 10 minutes walk towards the JR station. As a destination Kushiro has not got much going for it, and we searched in vain for a town centre, but at least there is a hotel that offers some comfort.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dlaynmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    176
    37
    5
    4
See reviews for
95
79
60
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Near train station and near restaurants. The staff were helpful and speak English. Coffee provided at the lobby. If intend to go to Lake Akan or to see the Japanese crane, staff could help book taxi for you as the public bus is only available at most twice a day. If you have 4 persons, may be worthwhile to take the taxi.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dkhor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issaquah, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Clean modern hotel near the river.

Nice room though a touch small near all attractions including the Children's Museum and the fisherman's wharf robatayaki is a great experience.

Seems to cater to a bit of business traveller but the breakfast is very good and the car parking convenient.

The bed was comfortable but travelling with a small child and no cot available was a little difficult.

The staff were helpful and very polite.

Overall a good stay with the Onsen on the roof and the restaurant near the top with great views over the river give it a go.

Room Tip: Room as high up on the river side as you can get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy_H001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Night 2 of our Hokkaido trip after Obihiro. With the rate I paid (USD90), I got incredible value. Hotel is new and very clean. Modern decor unlike some older Japanese hotels. Rooms are small as usual in Japan but the jewel of the hotel is the public bath on top floor. Incredible facility with incredible view (see pictures attached). The hotel is next to a river and close to the harbor, providing great views.
Parking is available (JPY500-600 per car).
Behind the hotel you can find lots of restaurants that are open till late.
Do take a walk along the river. Quite pleasant.
Complimentary coffee offered in lobby throughout the day.

Room Tip: Not many room types. We chose a double room and the bed was of a reasonable queen size unlike many...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrandonAshin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2011

My partner and I stayed at La Vista for two nights, and very much enjoyed it. The location is convenient, just next to Nusamai Bridge and at one corner of the Entertainment District, which meant that there was a whole range of restaurants within 5 mins walk, as well as a Tully’s café that opened till late. The view we had was facing the waterfront and the Fisherman’s Wharf building, which was a lovely sight from our high floor room window when lit up at night.

We had booked a semi-Western room online, but upon check-in realised that this was tatami-mat style and with little space for our luggage – the front desk was very helpful in changing us upon request to a Western style room with beds, which was much better for my partner and I. This was despite very limited English spoken. We had a car with us, and the hotel provides a secure parking area for 500 yen for a full day and night.

The best thing about this hotel was the small but lovely onsen hot baths on the top floor. Similar to other onsens, this was segregated into male/female onsens, complete with changing rooms and shower areas, where they provided Shiseido shower products, hairdryer, hair brush, etc. The female section I was in had a sauna, an indoor onsen with a lovely view, and a gorgeous small outdoor onsen. I loved the outdoor onsen, it was small but perfectly shielded with bamboo reeds on the two sides where it was open to the wind – as we were on the top floor, the wind was a little gusty, which made it quite dramatic as it swept up the steam. As I had soaked in the indoor onsen, it was no problem with the cold air when walking out and going straight into the hot outdoor onsen.

Together with the onsens on the top floor, there was also a guest lounge with great views overlooking the bridge and river, where they served ramen for two hours each night – I think you had to get some coupon from the front desk for the noodles. There was also complimentary Yakult (a yoghurt drink with live cultures to aid digestion) given.

The only comment I would make is that it’s definitely worthwhile to use the onsen for all your showering needs here – the room bathrooms are shower-only and small, with basic shower products that were not as good as the "Shiseido" ones provided on the top floor. We used the onsens on the both nights we stayed, and both times I had no problems as it was not busy at all. I think from other reviews this seems to be a business hotel primarily (which might explain why the front desk had limited English, although we could communicate), so the male onsens might be busier. If you don't intend to onsen, then perhaps this hotel isn't for you since the shower facilities in the rooms are quite basic.

Do note though that while the hotel has a great view facing the river, and walking along the river at night was lovely with the lights, there wasn't much to shop for in the wharf (only foodstuffs) at all. The hotel is at the corner of the Entertainment district, so unsurprisingly we walked past a number of karaoke lounges (they were also advertised in the in-room hotel book!). Kushiro is great as a travelling base for the lakes and to see the endangered Japanese cranes, as well as the fresh food at Washo market, but we did not find much else to do there.

Breakfast was a reasonable Japanese spread, with ikura and rice, Japanese poached eggs, azuki red bean soup, grilled and fried fish, meats, carrot juice, etc. There was some Western food but I think this was rather limited. For the second day we saved out appetites for breakfast at Washo market near the train station, which was a fantastic experience.

In general, the hotel seemed more catered for locals / business, which perhaps explained the lack of English. However, we found the hotel to be excellent for us as informed tourists - we had a car so it didn't matter it wasn't so near to the train station, and we knew where we wanted to go and eat, so didn't have to ask the concierge. All in all I would definitely stay here again the next time I am in Kushiro! The location can’t be faulted and I loved the views and the onsen.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XavierZen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

This city seems eerily quiet during the day with empty streets and empty shops but we liked the hotel for its central location, just a few minutes walk from a good restaurant area and a few other places. Try the fish market where you buy a bowl of rice from an old lady at a stall then wonder the other sushi stalls. This is as fresh as it gets. Just point at what you want to eat (but note it is not cheap). We had to wait to get into a nearby izakaya at night but it was a great meal and our fellow Japanese guests were so friendly, sharing some of their expensive dishes with us and refusing anything in return.
The room was average by Japanese standards with a window that opened to let in fresh air (a lot of Japanese hotels are overheated, in our view, and even the non smoking floors still have a lingering smell).
The baths were very nice with a good view over the city. The outside tubs were just the right temperature.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SingaporeGaribaldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kushiro hotels
Kushiro Station
Kushiro Prince Hotel
Kushiro Prince Hotel
#11 of 47 in Kushiro
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kushiro Royal Inn
#4 of 47 in Kushiro
180 reviews
Comfort Hotel Kushiro
#10 of 47 in Kushiro
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Vista Kushirogawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Vista Kushirogawa

Property: La Vista Kushirogawa
Address: 2-1 Kitaodori, Kushiro 085-0015, Hokkaido
Region: Japan > Hokkaido > Kushiro > Akanko Onsen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kushiro
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kushiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Vista Kushirogawa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Vista Kushirogawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Vista Kushirogawa Kushiro, Japan - Hokkaido

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing