We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful sight!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Akan Lake

Akan Lake
Ranked #1 of 70 things to do in Kushiro
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful sight!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Although there is no blue blue sky (weather was bad and it was a gloomy sky when I reach and the temperature drop drastically to 3 deg), we still enjoy the view of the lake regardless of the location (inside the restaurant or stroll by the lake).

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannahs_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    210
    91
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
276 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Really nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Lake Akan was frozen during the winter. We went smelt fishing were we sat in stools inside tents, fishing in holes drilled in the ice. It was a wonderful experience. We took our catch to the shop nearby where they tempura-ed the fishes for us to eat on the spot!
They also had a small ice slide where we slid down and had lots of fun.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LL721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island
Level Contributor
211 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Not much to say…saw the lake twice. Once in a snow storm and once on a beautiful clear blue sky day. Very nice.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank earladybon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
90 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lake Akan and Mount Oakan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Take a stroll along the shores of the lake before dawn and enjoy the sunrise over Lake Akan and Mount Oakan at one of the boat piers. It's a magical moment as the sun rises and the golden rays shine in and captivates the trees, boats and buildings onshore.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
221 reviews
138 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Stunning vistas especially during sunrise/sunset”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Lake Akan is one of the lakes found within the Akan National Park, the other two being Lake Kussharo and Lake Mashu. It is also home to “marimo” (Aegagropila linnaei), which loosely translates to “ball seaweed”, but in actual fact these marimo are algae. The globular structure is a rare growth form, and can be found only in several places around the world, Lake Akan being one of them. My tour group brought us to the lakeside, but I didn’t catch any glimpses of the marimo. Apparently, they live under the lake and are rarely found along the lakesides =( I’m not sure if there are any cruises one can take to see the marimo at the bottom of the lake, but I suspect that since these marimo are a protected species, they wouldn’t want too many people disrupting this fragile ecosystem anyway. My family and I stayed at Lake Akan for the night, and catching the sunrise and sunset by the lake was one of my most memorable experiences on the trip! The sunrise/sunset, the picturesque lake, the stunning mountains, the cool and fresh air; wow, this landscape really just takes your breath away! Come by this lake if you’re around the area! The marvellous vistas this lake offers are not to be missed!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 91MJJC19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Akan Lake also viewed

 

Been to Akan Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing