We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Center of Andes...”
Review of The Andes Hotel

The Andes Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Andes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Andes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Andes B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, CA.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The Center of Andes...”
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed here as part of a summer trip to the Catskills....as we don't ski, we think the best time to visit this beautiful region, as it's beautiful and lush with growth from all that water! Coming from the arid West,

Just about everything said in these other reviews is fairly accurate. The room was fine, quiet, and comfortable. It was also pretty clean. However, outside the room, more attention could have been paid to sweeping up the cigarette butts and other debris...not a lot of attention to those details here. But that was a small point in an overall pleasant stay.

Andes is a great place to stay in the Catskills. None of the crowds and pretensions of Woodstock, with at least occasional non-New Yorkers around, and also near other towns well worth visiting (Delhi, Margaretville, etc.). And this hotel is smack dab in the heart of this very quaint and scenic town. Walking distance to a lovely park, the town pool, and other attractions. The Hotel appears to be family run, which also gives it a personal touch.

The restaurant and bar at the Hotel also appear to be the center of summer social life in Andes, which made it interesting for a visitor. Out in the back, various activities are scheduled (such as horseshoes, darts, etc.) which draws the locals for a drink and some fun. Not to worry: it breaks up fairly early. The bar was a pleasant way to spend some evening hours, as there's little else to do at night (which was fine by us). Do be aware that cell phone reception is problematic in Andes (which locals in other towns appeared to know about), and Internet access is possible only in the bar/restaurant (also fine by us).

Andes is well worth a stay, and this is a good place to do it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EdMcQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    8
    6
    6
    3
See reviews for
14
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

This hotel was a real find. It's great if you're planning to ski at Belleayre Ski Center. We were two families and we stayed in adjoining rooms which were perfect. The bathroom was very clean and the beds were comfortable. The rooms had heating and cooling units which we could control to our satisfaction and cable TV. The hotel has a restaurant with delicious food and a pleasant atmosphere. Attached to the restaurant is a tavern with a pool table, which our kids enjoyed, and a typical tavern menu. Our children ate with us in the restaurant but ordered off the tavern menu. Across the street is a quaint restaurant that serves a delicious breakfast. We couldn't possibly have asked for more . And did I mention that the prices are extremely affordable.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank marie_elena007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

The motel rooms are relativley basic but clean, comfortable and quite stylishly decorated. Ours was exceptional value. Andes is wonderfully quiet and isolated and in many ways seems from another era. Very, very good food in the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wnariz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2009

Traveled in late December for skiing at Belleayre. Found the hotel on line site unseen other than one (poor) review. If you travel in this neck of the woods (Catskill Region), you have to be prepared for a unique experience. These areas are throwbacks to a time that was. There is nothing new, modern and convenient about any of these local towns. That is what gives them their charm. You have to expect that or you will always be disappointed. Have an open mind and you may be surprised. The Andes is on Rt. 28/main Street in a quaint village that is charming and dated. The hotel is a single story 10-room building adjacent to an old 2-story Inn and bar/restaurant. Rooms are clean and large ($115 - weekend night for three people). Water is hot, shower pressure is good, bathrooms work and the rooms were updated recently. Beds were soft and a little small but workable for a one-two night stay. Room was clean and comfy. We enjoyed the charm of "little town USA" and know what to expect so we felt, for the money, it was worth the trip. No complaints for what we paid during a holiday week. The trip t Belleayre is about 18 miles but a nice ride and easy.

The restaurant is wonderful, serving a small menu but fresh ingredients and very tasty fare. This is a must when you are in town. From general stores, to old style coffee shops, Andes is a cool funky town with old time flare. Come and see how things still exist 40 years later without changing. You may not want to live there, but it sure is nice to step back in time.

Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank We3ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lovesthemountains28
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2009

I don't have a problem with staying in older establishments, but I do have a problem with lack of cleanliness. Our room had spiders in every corner and the shampoo left for guest had already been used and was half empty. The shower curtain had mildew on it. The location was very lovely, the employees were friendly at the bar and restaurant. However I would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lovesthemountains28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Andes hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Andes
23.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Oneonta
Hampton Inn Oneonta
#1 of 9 in Oneonta
871 reviews
18.5 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
83 reviews
6.1 mi away
Margaretville Mountain Inn
Margaretville Mountain Inn
#1 of 2 in Margaretville
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Margaretville Suites on Main
Margaretville Suites on Main
#1 of 1 in Margaretville
13 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club
17.2 mi away
Starlite Motel
Starlite Motel
#1 of 2 in Big Indian
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Andes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Andes Hotel

Property: The Andes Hotel
Address: 110 Main St, P.O. Box 366, Andes, NY 13731-2056
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Andes
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Andes
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Andes Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing